Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35,677 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People I work with at the front end are great.
Cashier (Current Employee), OshawaSeptember 29, 2014
Wal-Mart is an alright place to work. You just have to go in do your work and leave. Some people are a bit difficult to work with but I don't work with the same people everyday which helps
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Photo Lab Technician (Current Employee), Wallaceburg, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: good place to work at.
Cons: would like more hours.
I am a Photo Lab Technician and enjoy helping customers with machines that print the pictures. I also help out other departments as much as i can because its a team environment. The staff are all friendly and i work very well with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), March, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: lack of work life balance
Running operations of store
Mentoring associates
Merchandise planning
Customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but really disorganized place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: discount card and other discounts from companies like hotels
Cons: managment making you feel like less of a person aswell as a worker
I learned how to effectively calm distraught customers whenever they were unhappy in a manner that wouldn't inconvenience the customer or my employer. I learned what it's like to work in a high paced area that actually pushed me to work hard. a typical day of work would be to come in, go to your assigned register, and serve customers via cashing them – more... out, take your breaks, clean up your register, punch out and head home. Dealing with the management who often makes you feel unappreciated and often disliked wasn't great. There was a very distinct feeling of tension on most days. Besides management being difficult towards their employees, my fellow co-workers were fantastic people to work with every day. Hardest part of the job was standing in the same spot for several hours at a time through out the day. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers everyday, I had regular customers come in and say hello every time. It's amazing to greet them and know they come back because of the great experience they have with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a strong work ethic
Pantry worker (Former Employee), Drayton Valley, ABSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: 3 breaks for an 8hr day
Cons: short breaks
I liked coming into work everyday because I liked what I did as a Pantry worker (coolers/freezers and stocking food onto shelves) because I'm built for heavy lifting and I learned a lot from the whmis training.

Management was great, always looked over the associates and kept us motivated for another day of work, and my co-workers were very friendly – more... towards everyone they came across. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an excellent store . I love to do shopping here.
Cashier (Current Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 28, 2014
I like a busy day at work . I like to do work with my co workers very nicely . I like to co-operate my co workers .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very active person and responsible with my duties
Cashier (Current Employee), calgary deerfootSeptember 28, 2014
Very Active person on the Job and learned something new Everyday at work to greet and assist customers at my best. management is very nice as well including my fellow co-workers. I enjoy every part of my job as a cashier at Walmart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales/ Stock Clerk
Sales / Stock Clerk (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: eating in the staff room
Cons: going home
My typical day was to get returns from the customer service by putting them back where they belong. My co-workers help me through the tough times even though they were like my family. The hardest part was going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Prince Albert, SKSeptember 26, 2014
enjoyed working for the company, worked at the tills as Cashier..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart is a good start off job
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: time share
Cons: flexibility with schedule
Walmart seems to be good as a start off job, you learn a lot of useful skills that you can implement in every work field you decide to go forth with. Communication skills, and productivity is just two of the many skills you learn working there. As a cashier, I stand at the register and cash out many customers. The hardest part of the job is getting – more... blamed for things you can't control, while understanding a customers frustration, it was not your fault bananas were priced wrong. It's not easy to move up in the business, it's not impossible, but it's rare in my opinion. The best part of the job is meeting new people and making connections with regular customers. Sometimes dealing with customers can be a blessing and a curse, I know how to understand and work with every customer that walks through the Walmart doors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excitement working with co-workers
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Kindersley, SKSeptember 26, 2014
Handling the Cashiers.
Handling work without any stress.
Balance daily transactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: work
Cons: not work
Help people on a day to dy basis be positive and out going and willing to help
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Crapshoot
In-Stock Associate (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Keep your head down and do work and you'll be fine. Advancement is reserved for only the most dedicated butt kissing. Pay is not worth the work the majority of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work!
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Guelph, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: profit sharing, open door policy, activities that boost morale, management thanking you for a job well done!
Cons: long shifts, sometimes 10 hour days.
A typical day for me is usually very fast paced which I enjoy. Over the past 6 and a half years I have learned so much! Inventory control, price management, problem solving, developed excellent Customer Service skills, learned how to work in high stressed environment. I truly believe that most of my fellow associates and I have stayed because of each – more... other. I would have to say the hardest part of the job is not being able to make every customer happy and the best part is knowing a customer left happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lynden Door
Receiver (Current Employee), Surrey, BCSeptember 23, 2014
Crimped metal doors all day. Had to meet production orders, always met the goals required of the company. Worked with a great team. Enjoyed doing routine work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: two paid breaks, always busy
Cons: low wage
typical day, I would clock in and go to the till that I was assigned to and then stay on cash for my whole shift other than on my breaks
I learned grocery store cashiering, I normally would only work in clothing
management was helpful and flexible
coworkers were friendly and welcoming
hardest part of this job was the long lines and standing all day
most – more... enjoyable, time went by fast, always busy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: 10 percent off
Cons: not enough hours
- it is horrible , not very friendly ..they are rude
it is not an easy day at all only hard when customers are being very disrespectful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great charities
Personnel manager, Hawkesbury 1159 (Former Employee), Hawkesbury, ONSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long drive to work 126 kms each way... but i loved my job...
-As a whole we raised several thousands of dollars for various local charities and families in need.
-finalized daily payroll by 9am, weekly budget were completed 8 hrs before deadline
-be proffessional at all times to every associate, when they had personal issues, guide them to various agencies for personal help.
-analysis reports for managent team – more... and send feedback to district office
-hardest part of my job was keeping a straight face when I knew management was going to fire an associate
- most enjoyable part of my day was when someone said thank you or took time out to drop by my office to say good morning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2014
i was less than impressed by this locations management skills and lack of training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am not happy with Walmart
Mobile Specialist (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: so many positions
Cons: too much works with very limited chance of career development
To keep the low price of Walmart, your work should be paid less. It's very simple game. They don't need any smart people but who can follow the orders as they are. If you are creative, it's not for you.

1 2 3 4 5

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more