Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 5,090 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured work environment with great advancement opportunities.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON27 April 2017
I learned a great amount about life in a big organization and many valuable skills. Management was competent enough and were mostly sympathetic to the employees needs.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so great
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON27 April 2017
it started off great loved the atmosphere, then with new management it became more about pleasing them rather then the customer.
I was really turned off of working for this employer again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON27 April 2017
I loved working here, I honestly miss my coworkers and think about them all the time. This Walmart is small and doesn't include grocery so its not over packed but its a nice Walmart to get the little things you need and the employees are absolutely the most friendly people I have ever met
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2017
Was a good job for a hard time in my life. I worked here as a teenager in high school as well. easy work for low pay, basically everything you would expect from a large retailer.
Pros
easy work
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB26 April 2017
had a lot of fun and learn a lot of things while woking there.it has developed lot of skills while i was working there and it has improved so many new skills in me.
Pros
new experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Portrait
Portrait Photographer (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON26 April 2017
Not a very friendly place to work. Not really good hours. Would of liked to do more photography choices then just the sit and pose. Wouldn't work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great service and healthy work environment
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  North Park, ON26 April 2017
this company had a great culture and a strong management team. l have gathered an unmatched skill through its management essential course program and on the job experiences both on salesfloor and backroom. A typical day at work can be long but also challenging as well but most enjoyeable part is the celebration of successes and appreciation of associates hardwork.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, just don't expect a lot
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON26 April 2017
I quit another grocery store chain as a cashier to move here, and it was a surprising improvement. However, this is compared to my terrible experience at the last company, so my standards weren't high. As a high school student, this is a really good job and because it's a big store, there's always hours and shifts to take. Overall it's a friendly, casual environment that I enjoyed and it was easy to make friends. The job gets old and repetitive, and managers are constantly making pointless and annoying changes to the workplace, which ultimately lead me to leave.
Pros
lots of breaks, friendly environment
Cons
managers, repetitiveness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service and teamwork
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON26 April 2017
Working at walmart is a great job for someone just starting out or looking for something to do after retirement. Walmart can improve on some management issues. In my opinion there should be better communication between managers so that customers are getting helped faster
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Miscommunication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for student part time job.
Conseillère en vente du secteur de l'électronique (Former Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC26 April 2017
Good for student part time job. They offer flexible schedules and they are very understanding towards student lifestyle. They dont pay much and every year you get 30cent augmentation. Every year you get a bonus depending on customer satisfaction and sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent start
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON26 April 2017
Generally a good starting job, good flexible hours. Easy to get comfortable and to work with others, not a lot of stress. If you need a quick job I would recommend Wal-mart!
Pros
Long lunches, freedom, comfortable
Cons
Low wage, random hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
second shift employee
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 April 2017
• Provided customer service at the service desk and on the sales floor
• Helped customers understand their problems and suggested economical solutions
• Honestly informed customers about proper maintenance intervals and procedures
• Maintained excellent customer satisfaction rate as evident in positive customer feedback
• Unloaded trucks through hand bombing, organizing and palatizing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not a bad place to work, but don't really want to be there forever.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS26 April 2017
The hardest part of the job is that you can't see what as been rung through, would LOVE to see monitors at the tills. Enjoy working with the team, everyone is so nice.
Pros
Can have an hour lunch if work 7+ hours a day
Cons
Wish there were monitors on the cash to see what was rung through
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good coworkers
Electronics and photo lab associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK25 April 2017
One of the things I liked about working in Walmart, was everybody was really nice and helpful there. All coworkers and Managers were coperative. They taught alot of things, that help me in becoming good employ and a person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and Positive Ambience.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC25 April 2017
Nice place to shop around.
Nice ambience for working & shopping both.
Co-operative management
Enjoying & supportive co-workers.
Reasonable retail.
Nice experience
Stable job
Chance of having a bright and promising future.
Scope for opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start, needs improvement with management.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC25 April 2017
Amazing place to work when it comes to benefits and availability. They are willing to work around your life. Management needs a lot of work. 10% discount was nice. They have an amazing open door policy.
Pros
Good salary and many shifts
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Fun to work there.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Walmart Canada southend25 April 2017
Price changes-clean department-fill stock from receiving to put on the floor. End of shift clean up. Learned a lot in 7 yrs. I have been here. The people I work with
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Evening shift and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON25 April 2017
Fast Paced Work
All time busy location
Various people from various cultures
I was appreciated and honored by WALMART so many times.
Punctuality and Customer service are the best part of WALMART.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place to work
Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ON25 April 2017
Had a good ten years with Walmart I just need a change good place to work from from my experience anybody looking to learn new jobs at Walmart there is always something more to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Casual place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB25 April 2017
Great environment, and coworkers. I enjoyed working for walmart, and I liked that I was able to take the time off i needed for myself, and so I could complete school without any backlash.
Pros
great community business to work at
Cons
most of the time fast pace environment, breaks are always late
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 88,717 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4