Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29,065 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Overall Review
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 18, 2014
Walmart is a great place for students and individuals who want to make quick cash and need flexible hours and scheduling. Full time employees get great benefits and great hours per week.

Part time employees who want to work full time hours and are not students don't have many perks as the above mentioned. Part time employees do not get any benefits – more... and shift hours are pretty lousy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and fun
Cashier, Customer (Current Employee), Oakville, ONApril 18, 2014
Pros: laid back
Cons: no benifits
was a good place to work but owner didnot pay enough and no benifits so i had to leave. but i did do all dutys of a managers he was barely there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a friendly work atmosphere
Cashier (Former Employee), Barrie, ONApril 17, 2014
Pros: employee discounts and friendly employers
Cons: shifts were all over the place
A typical day at Walmart was nice and busy, made work go by quick with lots of customers and tasks. Working at Walmart advanced my personal, people and money skills. Management were awesome, always understanding and professional. I had so many different co-workers that I never really got to know too many. I didn't find anything to be hard about my job – more... at Walmart. The most enjoyable part about my job was just being a part of the team and keeping myself busy while working hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment with friendly coworkers.
Stocking Associate (Current Employee), New WestminsterApril 16, 2014
The first four hours of my shift includes receiving trucks and their valuables while doing audits of the backroom. I have learned a great deal on time management as well as effective communication with coworkers and customers. The hardest part of the job is the amount of time given to complete the task while the number of employees is low. Yet, it is – more... good getting to know others as you are frequently meeting new people on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with many oppurtunities.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 16, 2014
Pros: good lunch and break hours.
Cons: was not easy to find someone to help me.
Co workers were very easy to work with.
Learned how to register hunting licenses, and sell ammunition, and work the cash register.
Manager was awesome and very easy to talk too.
Hardest part was selling ammunition as I am not 8.
Enjoyable part was helping customers find what they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was an ok place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Pembroke, ONApril 16, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: working 9 days off 1 back for 7 off one, did that alot
there was never enough associates on the floor, customers use to complain a lot about it, some times even take it out on us. ive been given a job by one manager then get in trouble from another for not being in my department. cash calls were crazy, you get called to cash but leave a mess on the floor and you get in trouble for that. co-workers were – more... always nice i got along with everyone.the hardest part of my job was i knew too much, the more one knows the less they hire. theyll multi-task a person as much as they can but then you get pulled every where by differrnt managers and get in trouble from others the next day for getting the original job done. they need more people or give the part timers more than 12 hours a week – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Cashier / Merchandising (Former Employee), Fort Saskatchewan AlbertaApril 16, 2014
Pros: very social
Cons: occasional difficult customers
Walmart was a great place to work, I enjoyed always meeting new people and being able to assist them with everyday needs like purchases
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashiers helping each other
Cashier / Department Clerk (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 16, 2014
Dealing with customers can be difficult. Patience is a vertue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCELLENT JOB
OPTICIAN (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 15, 2014
I LOVE WORKING HERE. I AM LOOKING FOR PART TIME JOB FOR EXTRA MONEY. I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS ABOUT MY CURRENT JOB. I LOVE WORKING WITH PEOPLE AND SOLVING ISSUES AT THE END OF THE DAY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Barrie, ONApril 15, 2014
Pros: the paycheck
Cons: everything eles.
did not like working there. I was treated poorly. I was lied to by the mangers. People i worked with was really rude. Always talked behind my back. I felt like i was treated like garbage. Would not recommend working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Costumer service, supervisor of cashier (Former Employee), la sallApril 15, 2014
my experience was really good i learn and discover that i really can work in very high pressure and i can do long hour
i enjoy the charity and hot dog BBQ outside in summer for (enfants soleil)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part-time Job
Stocking Associate, Part-time (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 14, 2014
Ideal for Part-time Job and for employee taking up Retail Business Courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Organized
Cashier (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 14, 2014
Pros: long paid lunchs, great coworkers, 10% employee discount
There was no unethical part to working with Walmart. I enjoyed working there, my fellow employees were a great bunch of people, the management is very capable and do everything according to rules and regulations.

A typical day, I would come in 20 minutes early, almost each day, I would prepare myself and lock my belongings in my locker, and always – more... at my work station 5 minutes early, I would normally clean and tidy my cash area before beginning work when the store was less busy, otherwise if it was busy i would tidy after. I would serve hundreds of customers, I loved the chaos, and a fast-paced day. At the shifts' end I counted my cash and clocked out, usually helping customers along the way to the time clock. I never bothered my co-workers when at my cash, unless i needed help to assist a customer with something i was unfamiliar with, I took the help rather than giving a customer a wrong answer. I had the experience to so see different individuals and personalities as customers, management, and coworkers. My coworkers were encouraging and of humble nature. Everyone treats one another with respect. Working at Walmart, there was not really a certain hard part, working there was individual yet each day seemed as team-work, which was the most enjoyable part; working as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I enjoyed the team environment and it was a great place to work.
Cashier (Current Employee), Chilliwack, BCApril 13, 2014
I was trained to be a cashier and found that the training was pretty good, some stuff wasn't really taught but rather learned with time. The management was great, loved my boss. My coworkers were all awesome and it was like working with family. The hardest part of the job for me was not having various tasks to do but rather staying in one spot doing – more... a repetitive action. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and talking to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my Review of Walmart is ... I like the store and still shop there, sometimes 3 times a week, I love the bargains and find their prices lowest.
Cashier/Shoe personell (Former Employee), CashierApril 12, 2014
Pros: the pros' of this job was meeting new people who became regulars to you.
Cons: cons'...i think the only "con" of working here was the lack of hours in the summer months...
There was no hard part to my job with Walmart. I enjoyed working for store #3184, my fellow employees were a great bunch of people, the management is very capable and do everything "to the book"...

A typical day?...I would come in 20 minutes early, most days, I would tidy myself and lock my belongings in my locker, and always at my work station 5 minutes – more... early, I would normally clean an tidy my cash area before beginning work, less the store was busy, then I would clean up when things calmed down. I would serve anywhere from 4 to 6 hundred customers, I loved the chaos, and the fast-pas of the day, when my shift was slow, I cleaned and checked around my area, at shifts' end I counted my cash and clocked out, usually helping customers along the way to the time clock...and for the most I never bothered my co-workers when at my cash, less I needed to...

What did I learn? That there are thousands of individuals out there and each and everyone of us have our own unique personality ... and as a server of the public one needs to deal with each one on a one to one basis...as everyone is different, and we all have our own problems and deal with them in our own way.... One day at a time, One customer at a time, and always a Smile for each and Everyone of them.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the other staff members aree great people
Customer Service Manager/Department Manager (Current Employee), Thunder Bay, ONApril 12, 2014
Cons: dont treat there staff very well
I get along with all employees the management like my work ethics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Cashier & Customer Service (Former Employee), Goderich, ONApril 12, 2014
Pros: the different work experience gained in a variety of work positions
Cons: short shifts, under-staffed
A typical day involved arriving early for work, punching in and returning to the front of the store where I would zone or go on till. I learned a lot working at Walmart, I learned communicative skills, organizational skills, and how to deal with conflict. Management at Walmart was great, they were very understanding people and would help you wherever – more... possible; my co-workers were great as well. There were so many different people at Walmart because of the different work positions within the store. The hardest part of my job was when we would be understaffed and it was very hectic, causing customers to be irritable. The most enjoyable part of my job was when I spent a summer working in the garden centre, as well when I was working in customer service. These two positions allowed me to expand my work knowledge on how to deal with customers in different environments that I enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Relief Pharmacist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 11, 2014
If you are looking for job security with a good working environment, walmart is the place to be! great opportunities to move up the corporate ladder!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Desk
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONApril 11, 2014
Pros: met lots of amazing friendly people.
Cons: management refused to work with school schedule.
A typical day at work required performing mostly refund transactions. The returned merchandise had to be processed accordingly. The work area had to be safely maintained. Also performed Western Union Send and Receive transactions. Management was a little bit difficult to work with, because the management staff was so big, every member of management – more... had a different way for wanting things done. It was a bit of a challenge trying to please everyone. The best part of the job was when a customer walked out more than satisfied with the conclusion of their original issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for a first job
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Gloucester, ONApril 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: may need you on your off days
Co-workers are great
Typical day of work face department serve all customers
Management decent not the best
I learned how to manage myself when facing rude customers or how to assist a customer to fulfil their needs

1 2 3 4 5

About Walmart

Walmart Canada is the Canadian unit of Wal-Mart and was founded in 1994 in Mississauga, Ontario with the purchase of the Canadian – Read more