Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28,885 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Organized
Cashier (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 14, 2014
Pros: long paid lunchs, great coworkers, 10% employee discount
There was no unethical part to working with Walmart. I enjoyed working there, my fellow employees were a great bunch of people, the management is very capable and do everything according to rules and regulations.

A typical day, I would come in 20 minutes early, almost each day, I would prepare myself and lock my belongings in my locker, and always – more... at my work station 5 minutes early, I would normally clean and tidy my cash area before beginning work when the store was less busy, otherwise if it was busy i would tidy after. I would serve hundreds of customers, I loved the chaos, and a fast-paced day. At the shifts' end I counted my cash and clocked out, usually helping customers along the way to the time clock. I never bothered my co-workers when at my cash, unless i needed help to assist a customer with something i was unfamiliar with, I took the help rather than giving a customer a wrong answer. I had the experience to so see different individuals and personalities as customers, management, and coworkers. My coworkers were encouraging and of humble nature. Everyone treats one another with respect. Working at Walmart, there was not really a certain hard part, working there was individual yet each day seemed as team-work, which was the most enjoyable part; working as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I enjoyed the team environment and it was a great place to work.
Cashier (Current Employee), Chilliwack, BCApril 13, 2014
I was trained to be a cashier and found that the training was pretty good, some stuff wasn't really taught but rather learned with time. The management was great, loved my boss. My coworkers were all awesome and it was like working with family. The hardest part of the job for me was not having various tasks to do but rather staying in one spot doing – more... a repetitive action. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and talking to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my Review of Walmart is ... I like the store and still shop there, sometimes 3 times a week, I love the bargains and find their prices lowest.
Cashier/Shoe personell (Former Employee), CashierApril 12, 2014
Pros: the pros' of this job was meeting new people who became regulars to you.
Cons: cons'...i think the only "con" of working here was the lack of hours in the summer months...
There was no hard part to my job with Walmart. I enjoyed working for store #3184, my fellow employees were a great bunch of people, the management is very capable and do everything "to the book"...

A typical day?...I would come in 20 minutes early, most days, I would tidy myself and lock my belongings in my locker, and always at my work station 5 minutes – more... early, I would normally clean an tidy my cash area before beginning work, less the store was busy, then I would clean up when things calmed down. I would serve anywhere from 4 to 6 hundred customers, I loved the chaos, and the fast-pas of the day, when my shift was slow, I cleaned and checked around my area, at shifts' end I counted my cash and clocked out, usually helping customers along the way to the time clock...and for the most I never bothered my co-workers when at my cash, less I needed to...

What did I learn? That there are thousands of individuals out there and each and everyone of us have our own unique personality ... and as a server of the public one needs to deal with each one on a one to one basis...as everyone is different, and we all have our own problems and deal with them in our own way.... One day at a time, One customer at a time, and always a Smile for each and Everyone of them.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the other staff members aree great people
Customer Service Manager/Department Manager (Current Employee), Thunder Bay, ONApril 12, 2014
Cons: dont treat there staff very well
I get along with all employees the management like my work ethics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Cashier & Customer Service (Former Employee), Goderich, ONApril 12, 2014
Pros: the different work experience gained in a variety of work positions
Cons: short shifts, under-staffed
A typical day involved arriving early for work, punching in and returning to the front of the store where I would zone or go on till. I learned a lot working at Walmart, I learned communicative skills, organizational skills, and how to deal with conflict. Management at Walmart was great, they were very understanding people and would help you wherever – more... possible; my co-workers were great as well. There were so many different people at Walmart because of the different work positions within the store. The hardest part of my job was when we would be understaffed and it was very hectic, causing customers to be irritable. The most enjoyable part of my job was when I spent a summer working in the garden centre, as well when I was working in customer service. These two positions allowed me to expand my work knowledge on how to deal with customers in different environments that I enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Relief Pharmacist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 11, 2014
If you are looking for job security with a good working environment, walmart is the place to be! great opportunities to move up the corporate ladder!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Desk
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONApril 11, 2014
Pros: met lots of amazing friendly people.
Cons: management refused to work with school schedule.
A typical day at work required performing mostly refund transactions. The returned merchandise had to be processed accordingly. The work area had to be safely maintained. Also performed Western Union Send and Receive transactions. Management was a little bit difficult to work with, because the management staff was so big, every member of management – more... had a different way for wanting things done. It was a bit of a challenge trying to please everyone. The best part of the job was when a customer walked out more than satisfied with the conclusion of their original issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for a first job
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Gloucester, ONApril 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: may need you on your off days
Co-workers are great
Typical day of work face department serve all customers
Management decent not the best
I learned how to manage myself when facing rude customers or how to assist a customer to fulfil their needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
3) Over night stocker (Former Employee), fredericton south sideApril 11, 2014
learn about stocking shelves co-workers were nice hardest part would be going out in freezing cold to move trolleys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace where everyone helps eachother out
Merchandising Manager (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 10, 2014
Pros: advancements within the company
Cons: not enough staff
A typical day at work is to always check my departments, to make sure that they are neat and tidy and that all products are properly placed on the shelves ready for business. Another daily task to to ensure that all out of stock products are on order and if not, to be placed on order.
I started as an overnight stocker, I learned that it is from nights – more... that essentially prepares the store for business as we ensure that all products are out and ready for customers. I then moved on to the backroom where I learned the importance of "binning". I made sure that all products that were over stock were properly prepped with labels and quantity within each box and scanned into bins so that we know where each item is located if it runs out on the sales floor.
Being part of the management team for a year now, I have learned how to properly merchandise and how to display bulk items. Part of my duties are to delegate tasks to fellow associates and following up to ensure that all tasks are being carried out. I make sure to emphasize that if any help is needed to come and ask. Another important part is being Duty Manager, who basically takes all calls concerning associates such as sick calls, etc., deals with all customer concerns and complaints and ensures that the customer always leaves happy.
The most challenging part of my job at this moment is that I do not have the training that I would like to have making it difficult to fulfill my duties and that is because I just took on new departments and have not had basic training to understand the needs of these departments. I have a good management team that helps and answers all my questions and we have a good chemistry between us making it an enjoyable workplace. This goes with the associates as well which is also the enjoyable part of my job since having a good crew and getting along with one another is what makes each day fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big company and lots of room to grow
backroom stocker (Former Employee), Amherst, NSApril 10, 2014
alot of work always and never a boring day
learned to focus and really try hard on all the tasks in hand
wonderful managemet
never enough time in the shift to get the work complete or at least in my mind i thought it was. alot always got accomplished
the staff are all great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with
Tire And Lube Technician (Current Employee), Midland, ONApril 9, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: not enough pay
Do tires and oil changes
Greet the regular customers like a friend
The jokes you share with customers and employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
marks
reno/overnight stocker (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 9, 2014
marks was a nice place to work. the unfortunate part is its not very busy usually. customers that do shop at marks are usually very friendly and knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to gain merchandising and organising skills
Asst. Manager (Current Employee), St. John's, NLApril 8, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: physical demand working freight
Typical day involved customer service, ordering, merchandising, and overall running of the dept
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the one of the first to know whats on sale.
Visual merchandising (Former Employee), maple,ontApril 7, 2014
Walmart was a good place to work alot of diffrent people and you also got to learn alot about the company witch was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier and Customer service (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCApril 6, 2014
I liked my work as a cashier. I learned how to handle with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great growing experience
Front end cashier (Former Employee), Stouffville, ONApril 6, 2014
I enjoyed working for WALMART as I was able to interact with people of different kinds and got used to the cultural environment. Working as a cashier taught me to cooperate with customers, give the best customer service, and allowed me to practice my salesmanship skills (selling Walmart Rewards MasterCards). The co-workers were amazing. The hardest – more... part of the job was saying no to customers and co-workers when they needed help when I was off clock and in a hurry to go home. However, I always stayed back and helped customers and co-workers to the best of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Excited and Hectic at the same time
Accounting Office (Current Employee), Malton, ONApril 6, 2014
Pros: we get only an hour lunch time.
Cons: counting all bags seems a lot and take a lot of time on it.
A day start with lots of Office work
I have learnt how we can keep our office clean and organize.
Communicate with all Management about the office work
communicate with co-workers about the day
the hardest part is nothing more then waking up early at 5am
Enjoyable part is to catch those people who are doing fraud.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Team Leader ICS (Inventory Control Specialist) (Former Employee), Burlington, ONApril 5, 2014
different work enviroment everyday, run a lean employee ratio compared to number of departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and workplace environment.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Winnipeg, ManitobaApril 4, 2014
Everyday is a busy day also because its a retail store also. Working as part of a team member and doing the right as what the company needs for improvement.

1 2 3 4 5

About Walmart

Walmart Canada is the Canadian unit of Wal-Mart and was founded in 1994 in Mississauga, Ontario with the purchase of the Canadian – Read more