Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 5,836 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative work environment and bad managment
Dairy Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 July 2017
Management didn't care about employees or their schedules. Changed shifts without notifying employees, with no way to check schedule outside of workplace, showed preference to favouritism and nothing was done against management when discipline was needed, and there was no discipline against those who deserved it. Overall place had a bad environment which left you not wanting to work, and left coworking and customers with a bad attitude.
Pros
Good benefits.
Cons
Everything but benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great staff
Part-time Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mayfield, ON22 July 2017
Working as a cashier at Walmart has been a new experience. a typical day at work consists of working/cashing out multiple customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is the free ability to interact and talk to the many customers you handle within the work shift. I have learned many new things that scale from working on a register all the way to customer service and people skills. The management at Walmart is good.
Pros
friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of associates
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON22 July 2017
So much turn over in associates, nobody on the sales floor to help customers.

Some assistant managers have unrealistic expectations for such few staff members
Pros
Secure job
Cons
Lack of direction unrealistic managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Part-time Work (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC22 July 2017
As a cashier you have to operate the till for selling goods and billing customers, make them feel pleasant about shopping at walmart, try to sell them the walmart rewards master card for their shopping. Most enjoyable part of the job is the work environment, you are working with so many people from diverse backgrounds that you are able to learn different things every now and then. If you have any trouble, you can talk it out with your colleagues and they are always ready to help you out.
Pros
working environment
Cons
Low pay and no free breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, not so great management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON21 July 2017
It was a great job at walmart, it had a great environment and all the other cashiers were great. I left walmart because the management was not great. They managers were rude, demanding, not caring at all, they yelled at workers and customers and i was not comfortablr getting yelled at all the time for nothing.
Pros
Lots of events where we got free food and we got to dress up, we also recieved a 10% discount on everything except things on sale.
Cons
Very small discount, very strict dress code, and very strict brakes, they barely let you call in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart is more about money then its people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB21 July 2017
Walmart has changed and is not as employee friendly any longer. There are standards that should be met by all employees however you can see that standards for one group of people are far higher than for others. I do not find that management appreciates how hard you work and seem to benefit those that don't do the same amount of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay and hours
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Red deer alberta canada21 July 2017
Walmart discontinued most full time jobs because of government regulations. Now most jobs are part time. I also found management to lack skills. Upper management is often assigned a department they have never worked, therefore it causes issues until they learn the products of that department.
Pros
It's a job
Cons
You are not valued or paid for your knowledge or skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with nice people, whether co workers or customers
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC20 July 2017
not a bad company.
learning experience when dealing with customers
you can find in the store everything you need to buy for your household
profit sharing
Pros
10% discount on shopping
Cons
minimum pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horaire est toujours la meme et bonne condition de travail
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Chicoutimi, QC20 July 2017
l ambiance appris de nouvelle facon de travailler dans de bonne condition
Pros
avait une pause
Cons
aucun point negatif
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, over worked employees
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON20 July 2017
Management at Walmart was disorganized and no one ever cared about the employees. They would discipline in front of customers rather loudly I might add, and always looked for ways to make situations the fault of the employee.

The hours worked and pay were not worth the hourly rate payed, and not a lot of room for advancement.
Pros
Close to Home
Cons
Poor Management, Over worked employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
arrive at work 7am tour with night crew, read emails, morning meeting,coffee, tour dept with Assistant managers to check up department set up
Co Store Manger (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK20 July 2017
I found you have no job security with this company, the turnover is very high below management level . Assistant manager and above the job security is next to nothing, so you will be taking a risk in taking a position at assistant manager and above.level..
Pros
salarly and benifits are average to above.
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail enviroment
Customer Service Manager (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 July 2017
Very Fast paced environment. Requires attention to providing stock items to please customers. Overall the company tries every effort to meet the customer satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work, but management is a mess
Customer Service Rep./Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  Queensborough, BC20 July 2017
Good place for a temporary job, long term will drain you, management is always scrambled and will always find the negatives out of all the many positives, work as hard as you want, they will still hold you accountable for any mishaps including their own.

Pay will go up based on how well you've worked in the year, do not expect them to actually watch you though, they won't base it on the year, only on the final months until your anniversary (pay increase day), also pay increase is very small as an associate, if you want more funds, consider moving up (manager level will get you a decent pay check).

Flexible ours are the plus side to working here, the down side though, if they are short on employees for the day then they will move you from your department and make you work elsewhere (the inconvenience is that you will not be able to finish your own work and will be behind).

Management looks out for themselves, do not expect them to look after you, they will constantly tell you to ask other managers or someone else for help.

Final note, you will make new friends no doubt, since they hire and fire people every end of the year.

Word of advice: if you're a cashier, move into department role, better treatment and less stress.
Pros
Flexible hours, lots of new friends
Cons
Management sucks, very bus, pay is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work as a team
Customer Service Representative (Cashier) (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON19 July 2017
i love working. i been working for walmart almost 8 years. i was a cashier at first than moved on to customer service. i been dealing with bad and good customer. i love helping clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall productive
Associate (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON19 July 2017
This job is okay for entry level.
Supervisors are arrogant
Its a good place to learn the reaction of other people
Working environment is okay
Working load is too much
Pros
Three breaks is very good
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright for a student.
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON19 July 2017
Worked there for about a year and a half, it was alright. The same things as a regular cashier, ringing through items and cleaning tills, occasionally stocking times onto shelves when it was slow.

Uh, I learned to keep on a smile and to just nod when there was an odd customer.

The hardest part I'd say was standing at the same spot for hours on end, well, about four hours at a time depending on what length of shift, but it was killer on my knees.
Pros
Not an overly difficult job unless you count crazy happenings in the store.
Cons
If you have bad knees or a bad back, it's difficult, but there are accommodations for disabilities and medical problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Operator/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 July 2017
When I first started I really enjoyed the job despite it draining me to the point I had no social life.
Now that Wal-Mart has actually taken over, the picking standards had been raised to unachievable expectations. The benefits for part-time are horrible, especially since majority of us still do 40hours per week with the overtime they offer.
Pros
KPI every 3 months
Cons
Work in the cold, management has poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON19 July 2017
Would not recommend it to anyone who is trying to raise a family on the salary, it is student job no hours management are not very nice there employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavily Team based community of people
Tire and Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC18 July 2017
Some days can be incredibly busy, and others can be a struggle to find work to do.

Ive learned to work many of the machines within the shop, As well as most of the equipment and computers within the store itself.

Some of the management i feel like I'm talking at not talking to. My SWAS manager is one of the easier ones to talk to.

Most of the people there do have smiles on their faces and are quite friendly once you get to know them

The hardest part of my job is trying to organize breaks, coffees and lunch breaks. The lack of staff sometimes makes it hard to have coverage in departments

The most enjoyable part of my job is when i get to see the smiles on customers and employees, Helping others and giving tips and suggestions on what they might need. Ill give my two cents to anyone who asks for suggestions or alternative ideas
Pros
%10 discount card upon employment
Cons
The current lack of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work for starters.
Customer experirnce salesfloor manager (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC18 July 2017
Walmart is a good place to work if you are not eager to grow up in the company. Hourly wages are very low as compared to other retailers and the work employees do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 102,736 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4