Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36,532 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overnight Stock
Stock de nuit/Employé d'entrepôt (Former Employee), Laval,QCOctober 18, 2014
Pros: paid breaks, nice co-workers, learning experience, fixed schedule
Cons: long hours, overnight, no free lunch, heavy lifting, had to work weekends
Walmart provided a fixed schedule, the typical day at work consisted of heavy lifting, placing merchandise and working in the backstore/warehouse. I learnt a lot from this job on how to work in a warehouse and how to treat merchandise. For the most part, most of the co-workers were very nice and very helpful. The hardest part of the job was working – more... overnight and doing a lot of heavy lifting, which is mentally and physically tiring. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the store nice and organised by the end of the night so that the customers could enjoy an enjoyable shopping experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fast Paced
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 18, 2014
It was always nice there. I loved meeting new people and my co-workers were excellent. I liked when we got our rushes (especially around Christmas) I excel when there is lots to do. But overall was a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Overnight Workplace
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 18, 2014
Pros: sometimes free lunch
Cons: no help
As employees and work colleagues everyone is supposed to help each other. at work/ At wal mart that is not the case especially if u work overnights. Nobody lends a helping hand you have to learn to overcome the toughest tasks and obstacles on your own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, solid merchandising, supply chain, pricing and MS office skills. Had an excellent 18 years career with Wal-Mart Canada Corporation.
Core Item File Manager (Former Employee), Home Office, MississaugaOctober 18, 2014
Pros: core values
Cons: n/a
A Core Item File Manager, with progressive retail experience in wide variety of areas. Effective and creative problem solver with excellent organizational, multi tasking, confidentiality and service skills. Excels in project management, analysis and experimenting with new ideas and making improvements. Empowered Item File team and utilized collaborative – more... approach between cross functional team to build strong relationship and improve business process. Interacts with staff at all levels of the corporation in order to play a major role in creating an open corporate culture and team spirit. Solid knowledge of item management, pricing, planogramming, inventory, supply chain, vendor management and store operation.
Due to restructuring the position I held has been eliminated. I really had a great 18 years with Wal-Mart Canada Corp. and look at this opportunity to find a new challenge where I can leverage the experience that I have gained in my previous roll. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Caissière (Former Employee), Laval, QCOctober 17, 2014
Very postive work environment. The work has been very easy because of the well done Walmart formation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), New Westminster, BCOctober 16, 2014
Pros: best team, all is like a complete family
Cons: the equipment
Its a great work experience with the best team you can ever work with.The stores still in pretty good shape just need a little bit of fixing up but overall Walmart is the only place that conciders students first and will help them as much as they can !!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Fast Paced Enviroment
F/T Cashier (Former Employee), BrantfordOctober 16, 2014
Pros: meeting friendly new people that become regulars.
Cons: pay not great.
Enjoyed working for this company, wish the pay had been more. Wish company offered greater full time transfers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the layout of store love the people staff management
Cashier, Sales Associate (Former Employee), North Battleford, SKOctober 16, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
loved seeing people and meeting new people. walmart has everythikng I need
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Full time Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 16, 2014
open store , i learned how to do customer service desk,western union,management was always changing,co workers were ok.working long hours and not being appreciated.best part of the job was dealing with daily customers and regular daily customers to the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in a friendly environment
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Slave Lake, ABOctober 16, 2014
Pros: pot lucks, bbqs, christmas party, always something to do, special events - ex, jeans friday, hat day, or costumes for halloween
Cons: short staffed, hard to get things done when it's busy, lack of proper training
As a part-timer, evening and weekends are generally busy with lots of things to do and lots of options and ways to go about them. Working here is very team-oriented. There's always somebody in the store to go to for questions. I've learned how to better work with people in different context versus my previous jobs, I've also learned how to better prioritize. – more... Often you have to compromise priorities with time-management in order to get everything done.
The management team is excellent. Each of them knows their end of things very well and know what needs to be done. The management schedule is usually organized in a way that, I find, compliments each of them and allows for better productivity, despite our lack of staff.
Co-workers are usually enjoyable to be around and most of them know to leave their outside issues out of work and to be professional even when something happens at work they aren't happy with.
The hardest part of my job is getting everything done in the amount of time I'm given. There is currently many department managers missing from our team. I have lots of extra duties and capabilities outside of my actual job description. This makes it hard to get my job done, but when people have a vast knowledge of how to do things- in ANY job- your employer and management will like you more. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I know my job well and I'm recognized for what I do. I'm treated with respect. Many of the people I talk to regularly here are easygoing and friendly for the most part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low production rate and no fun days,or games.
Stock Clerk,Warehouse Personnel (Former Employee), Spruce Grove, ABOctober 15, 2014
Pros: health and vision benefits were alright.new friendships.
Cons: only yearly raises, very low pay for heavy work loads and very low spirited work environment from most employees, aas well as manaegment.
A typical day,assisting the general public,while considering there abilities,as customers or vendors,on the phone or within the store.To stay above the negative responses from the general public in all its aspects.Honest management would have created a more positive work environment,as well as respect for employees as individuals.Co-Workers,came and – more... went very quickly for the most part.Some that remained there for some time,had been a positive aspect to work through a shift and also learn new ideas.The hardest part of the job was working for such a low wage for the amount of workload that was expected and added with new management or new policies and no bonuses or other incentives to the extra workload.The most enjoyable part was working along side great staff members and creating new friendships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 15, 2014
Pros: team work, environment
Cons: short staff, closing
Usually they would be short staffed so I would be covering photo lab, electronics, and connection centre while still maintaining a balance within the workplace. Through out my time at wal-mart I learned to adapt to the environment and I became very informed on how to multitask and get my work done in a professional manner. The managers were helpful – more... when they could, but I was learning many things on my own with my co-workers each day. The hardest part of the job was having a bunch of tasks that had to be finished in a short period of time. I dealt with this by always asking for help when my coworkers could lend a hand. The most enjoyable part of wal-mart was working with my team and there was never a sense of working with individuals and then going home, but more of working along side with your second family and then going home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place but sometimes very busy and under staffed
Current Part-time Job (Current Employee), Surrey, BCOctober 15, 2014
Pros: my friends work with me
Cons: over worked, less pay
I usually work evening shifts that start at 3:30 and the first thing I do is look through my department to see what shape its in. I keep the department clean and help customers, do price checks, and take calls. I tend to engage in conversation with customers and learn a lot of new things. All my co-workers are very friendly and help me out when needed.The – more... hardest thing about my job is having to clean up all the mess customers make from the floor and/or shelves but I enjoy it sometimes because my friends are usually working with me. my – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place with great people!
Over-night Stocker Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 15, 2014
My duties included:
- Replenishing store stock from daily delivery of consumable goods.
- Rotating old stock daily to maintain freshness.
- Taking freezer temperatures every 2 hours to ensure functionality.
- Organizing and maintaining the products available for sale.
- Providing quick and prompt customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good company to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), Merritt, BCOctober 15, 2014
i loved it at wal-mart it was a good place to work although i had to quite due to moving an where i moved didn't have a wal-mart but would definitely work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting point
3rd shift instock (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 14, 2014
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: wage is not enough to live by
working at Walmart taught me some valuable skills but once you've learned what you can i found it is actually hard to do much else within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing culture
Category Team Analyst (Former Employee), MississaugaOctober 13, 2014
I spent 10 years working for this company for a reason. Many shift in management over the last 5 years blurred the vision for the company. There were plenty of room for advancement. Little room for work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
JEWELLERY ASSOCIATE - P/T (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONOctober 13, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun friday example male fashion show dressed by women/men w/high heels
District assistant manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 12, 2014
Pros: the morale
Cons: the new store manager
view emails,notes from boss then plan the crew with what projects needed to be done. time management,and being organized is what i learned how to use with people skills that aloud me to better others to move up in the company the hardest part is if the equipment failed and repairs would be hours days latter other than that i manged a really outstanding – more... team. seeing how proud the assoicates looked when i always was pride of what they could do in 5.5 hrs it amazed me every shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Part- time, Cashier (Current Employee), Prince George, BCOctober 11, 2014
Cons: management
In my opinion management is not very good the only nice thing about working here is some of my co-workers are amazing.

1 2 3 4 5

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more