Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 5,527 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work at
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Alberta28 May 2017
Great place to work at with sufficient training and guidance provided to advance to the next level. A diverse cultural environment which makes it a fun loving workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kept busy
Stocking Associate (Current Employee) –  sarnia ontario28 May 2017
I enjoyed stalking shelves and appreciated the fact that there was always something to do. the most enjoyable part of the job was appreciating a job well done.
Pros
premium pay for working over nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Customer Service and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 May 2017
I am thankful for what I learned at Walmart. Things like skills with difficult customers, organizational skills, and what its like to work under management. Aside from those lessons it was a job. It was tiring, payed less than the usual work deserved, and required patience to deal with irritating customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Estevan, SK28 May 2017
I used to execute and implement strategic initiatives and programs to achieve business objectives and profits, while zero loss in a cost-effective manner.
Pros
Enjoying
Cons
Extended hours as business needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun but bad hours and no benefits if you're not full time
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Port Alberni, BC27 May 2017
Learned a lot here. Learned how to manage a floor and handle conflicts.
Most enjoyable was probably knowing we killed it as a team even though it got insanely busy at times.
Hardest part was not enough staff to cope with so many customers.
Pros
half of your hour lunch was paid on Sundays. Small raise every year.
Cons
Not enough hours. No benefits unless you're full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting Point
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 May 2017
It was a good starting point for me. I learned a lot on the job and how to interact with customers in a busy environment. I don't have too much of an opinion on the management. It was a part time position while I was in school.

Unfortunately I had to leave because I could not balance my school work in my final year with the hours they kept giving me, and my requests for less hours were ignored.
Pros
Discounts, Profit Sharing
Cons
Low pay, Mean customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fewer employees then years ago work, poor leadership
Service Writer (Current Employee) –  Kelowna27 May 2017
Can't find employees
Employees leaving unsatisfied working conditions
Working conditions are harder because less staff the work is greater
Company has poor training quality
Pros
Steady income job
Cons
Work getting harder and less staff no leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Smiths Falls, ON26 May 2017
The position I had at Wal-Mart was a cashier. Though i was still in school when I had this job the managers/ supervisors were very understanding with my hours for school and work combined.

Was a very fast paced job, required a lot of customer service (service with a smile) and multi tasking all around

Great place to start out in the work force.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON26 May 2017
while working there felt unwelcome and was not taught how to do things properly. i did not shadow another cashier, i was just put on a registar and then got awful looks when I would call the CSM over to help me.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier Position at Walmart
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC25 May 2017
As a cashier at Walmart i have gained, a lot of knowledge of how to use a cash register, and how to count and handle money. It also gave me knowledge on how to interact with customers, so we can assist them better, overall it was good work experience.
Pros
1 hour lunch break
Cons
standing in one spot for hours on end
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm available all time, weekend, days, and night
customer service specialist (Former Employee) –  walmart logistic25 May 2017
I would play a good role in your company as my experience working in customer service at Walmart for close to 5 years. I have flexible time any times
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yorkton, SK25 May 2017
Walmart was a great company to work for, as in many workplaces there is a lot of drama but if you ignore it and do your job you will be fine. Ask lots of questions if you are unsure, and make sure that you put yourself and health first.
Pros
very understanding
Cons
new hires were making as much per hour or more than the axxociates there for years
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great.
In-Stock Associate (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON25 May 2017
Overworked and never anyone to help with the big tasks. Team is management heavy and there is a ton of favourtism. On the plus side you can never be bored as you always have a multitude of work to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, good skills
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON25 May 2017
I would definitely recommend working at Wal-mart at least once in someone's life. As it does teach good work ethic and skills that will stick with you.

The major downside to the job would be a lot of the management does not treat employees fairly and a lot of favoritism takes place. People will zero work ethic will get praise for doing little work and you can work very hard to no recognition.
Pros
Easy job, not hard
Cons
Mentally taxing
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS25 May 2017
Had the worst experience there. Only stayed as long as I did cause I had a child to take care of. Got to the point where my hrs were cut to nothing. Spent more in travel then I was making
Pros
Long lunch
Cons
Stupid hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Stettler, AB24 May 2017
I'd work there again it was fun to work their the people were great I loved the staff and the way the store was put together and the emloyee discount was great
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day...
Store Set/Bakery (Former Employee) –  Trail, BC23 May 2017
Walmart is a great place for people that should work a temporary job; it also promotes teamwork even though it's evident not everyone will participate.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place!!!
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 May 2017
I enjoyed my time working at Walmart and never seem to lose my attitude even when I was in a bad mood. I was always super energetic and had a blast working there.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON23 May 2017
Coworkers are very friendly and helpful. Managers are very hands on. Walmart also has strict policy against overwork, breaks must be taken. It's very by the book but fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aweome company
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB23 May 2017
i loved working for walmart and they have aweome managers and co workers i loved working every shift cause it was a positive one and i made a lot of friends
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 95,692 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4