Walmart Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 3,945 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place during high school
Sales Associate - Jewelry & Fashions (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, NLJuly 25, 2016
being a student in high school walmart was able to provide work hours for students and make sure if they were in extra curricular activities that they were able to get to them
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commitment and dedication
Deli and Cake Decorator (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKJuly 25, 2016
i just graduated from high school and i am looking for a full time job in Toronto. I work Monday to Friday, starting from 4-5 am to 2 pm .. Loyal and Respect to my co workers and Amazing with costumers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Customer Service and Cash related experience
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 25, 2016
Overall a good job but pay is less and difficult to advance. I have done a office job for 4 years so it is a bit difficult for me to stand continuously for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ONJuly 24, 2016
Work at walmart is taxing, mentally more so than physically. Unless you get lucky and get on the fast track to being a manager, you are stuck as a standard employee.

The management, however, is considerate. They do take time to speak with you, and help if they can.

The pay is alright, but could be better, especially with what each employee is asked to do.

Full time is exceedingly hard to get.

Hours are consistent and available enough that you rarely work the minimum required though, and often get more.
Pros
10& Discount
Cons
Personal gratification and worth is hard to come by.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier and customer service
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dieppe, NBJuly 24, 2016
My review on Walmart i learn alot to talk to people and most enjoyable part was customers. Because of my people skills i good time working with people. The hardest part was you had to be fast good service constantly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and made long time friends
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABJuly 24, 2016
most days uneventful
learned codes for produce items and how to bag groceries properly
some management were approachable and some were not.
had great and supportive co-workers. Walmart MasterCard promotion was very difficult to do felt very uncomfortable.
made long time friends
Pros
making friends
Cons
Walmart Mastercard
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every thing good
Department manager (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BCJuly 24, 2016
Work is life and life without work is nothing ,It means there is no peace and any opportunity for moving forward in life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large coorporate company
Menswear Associate (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BCJuly 23, 2016
working in menswear I put out new stock, assisted in price changes, customer service. I also helped answer the stores switchboard and paged for phone calls. I ensure my area was clean and there was nothing on the floor, and took part in the stores safety sweep for loss prevention and checking for hazards in my area.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
big compay, not much upper management interaction
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fan of managment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BCJuly 23, 2016
not a fan of management or how the buisness is run, hiring more people when not needed and not doing anything when more people are needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly coworkers not so friendly customers
Store Standards Associate (Former Employee) –  Squamish, BCJuly 22, 2016
A typical day is busy and hectic with lots to due and little time to do it the understanding management kind co-workers and the warm environment help get through the day.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Rude borderline hostile customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A short work placement
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ONJuly 22, 2016
When you are working cleaning shelve and restocking managers would tell you to go back to work even though you have a new product that you are putting on the self. The factor that they tend to terminate employees on their final day of probation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with lots of chances to grow and advance
Photo Lab Associate (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NSJuly 21, 2016
Co-workers are all great to work with, it's a fun environment.
You have all kinds of opportunities to learn new stuff and to try different positions.
The only downfall I would note, is that some of the male management can be a bit rude.
Other than that it is a fantastic place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Reciever (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ONJuly 21, 2016
A typical day as a Walmart receiving employer would include receiving shipments of merchandise requiring great effort and dedication to complete. I have learned how to operate work related equipment using a great deal of safety. The management at Walmart is good. My co-workers are friendly and I easily bond with every single member of Walmart. The hardest part of the job would include heavy lifting, when it comes to heavy merchandise. The most enjoyable part of the job would include working with friendly co-workers.
Pros
10% discount on all Walmart merchandise
Cons
long hours, underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJuly 21, 2016
A great place to work and the people are easy to get along with.Everyday a challenge and everyday a different outcome.Working with all types of customers and meeting their individual needs is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok workplace
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Labrador City, NLJuly 21, 2016
would rather not have to work at Walmart ever again, 7 night shifts with 2 days off then 3 nights for 2 more days off. Above reason is why I would rather not work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My thoughts about Walmart
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, ABJuly 20, 2016
I learned a lot from working at Walmart like how to handle customers of all sorts, learned a lot about all the different deparments and where things were, got to set up a produce department, bakery, and deli for a grand opening and found myself working in the Produce afterwards. I liked my job it was good made job-friends with people in the other new departments but not all co-workers liked me. Management of Walmart was good but the management in my department not so much. Hardest part of my job was having to be nice to my rude fellow co-workers but i always found a way to forget about it positively. And the most enjoyable part was working for a really great and big company, id definitely work at another walmart again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greedy compaany
Mid Level/Photo Manager (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ONJuly 20, 2016
worked for woolco and was hired on by Walmart and was good for the first years but then Walmart started to do cuts made a lot of employess over worked
Pros
people
Cons
company
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, but also stressful
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONJuly 20, 2016
Working at Walmart had its ups and downs, but I was still able to get through the day with a smile on my face. I learned how to deal with customers in a proper matter and made them leave with a resolved issue.
Pros
Associates were very friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was good for as long as I worked there
truck unloader (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABJuly 20, 2016
I found that what I was doing at wal mart fit me perfectly. I was full time then part time. Although a little drama on the job it seemed as though everyone just wanted to get the work done. It was good for where I was at for the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career starter compamy
Produce Stocker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 20, 2016
Walmart was a fun and relaxed work environment and it was a very good job to gain experience and knowledge for the future. The management were good and friendly and the sales staff were all very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 69,172 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4