Walmart Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 3,766 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i personally love working at wal-mart
1st In-Stock Associate (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONMay 30, 2016
In day i have to do stocking,picking,binning,audits and receiving,
through this job i attained my fork lift licence and machine licence,
i am team player so for me it has being good experience to work as a team in wal-mart, management is so friendly and can get along with them conveniently, so we start are shift at 7am and ends up eat 3pm.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Flin Flon, MBMay 30, 2016
Lots of customer interaction, Learned How to maintain Customer Satisfaction as well as maintain tidiness and organization of work station
Pros
nice clean and tidy staff/break room
Cons
Lots of standing in place, little to no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging place to work
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMay 30, 2016
-Strive for the sale of the Wal-Mart MasterCard and daily targets
-Serve and handle customers issues in a way that they would leave the store satisfied and willing to shop at Wal-Mart again.
Pros
Respect from management and yearly bonuses on how well we do on sales
Cons
Hourly pay rate and long hours during the weekend. (11:30PM)
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not apply
Cashier/Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 30, 2016
the management staff at wlmart think they are are very high and mighty.... there are a few good ones but not most walmart is a huge company and you are just a number
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Walmart
Store Standards/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONMay 30, 2016
It is mostly busy around noon to 3pm on weekends and weekdays. You work with many people and also communicate with different customers each day.
Pros
Employment Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Experience
Photo Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONMay 30, 2016
I loved my job as a Photolab Manager/Technician. It used to be very fun and enjoyable.
The hardest part of the job, was that there was not enough time or associates in the day to accomplish the daily tasks and assist customers with their needs.
My co-workers were wonderful.
Pros
The customers and co-workers
Cons
High turnover in management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Pharmacist Assistant (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BCMay 30, 2016
Very busy place to work in which I love, but not enough hours given, the staff I worked with were awesome and I did love interacting with customers and providing excellent service. The days were filled with a lot of people needing their prescriptions filled and I enjoyed how that made the day go by quick.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A chanlleging job
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONMay 30, 2016
Co-workers are very nice and extremely fun to work with.
Work can be challenging some time.
Challenging: Memorize and get to know all kinds of fruits and we have different customers to deal with everyday.
Also, we workload that we are facing is huge and we have to have a good time management and this is always the toughest part in a job and as well as in life.
In addition, I get to learn and try out some produce products and it benefits me for the rest of my life.
However, due to management, budget on associates hours were cut and running of the department is very tough.
Walmart (5995 Steeles Avenue East) produce department is now a part of Al Premium Food Mart since last year.
Pros
Employees discounts
Cons
Working can be lonely some time as you are the only person in the department
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a career move
Day Maintenance (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONMay 29, 2016
let go after 5 yrs job contracted out. management changes so often its hard to get a good rapore.co-workers are great. not a career job unless your management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with Excellent Sense of Culture, Fun, Energetic
Backroom Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMay 29, 2016
My time at this company provided me with many skills that include customer service knowledge, supervising role, timely manner tasks,
how to fun fun at the workplace and management skills
Pros
Lunches, Work safety Excellence, Great Values
Cons
Long hours, stressfull situations
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good team
Cashier - Part time (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 28, 2016
I believe its was a great experience to work at Walmart,
Walmart has great team and I enjoyed joining them , the work was very good especially with different customers espcailly when some people need help and I enjoyed to express love and care for them ,I love customer service so I enjoyed it a lot, learned all cashier operation , scanning , memorizing the codes , its was a perfect job, and I loved tit
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Customer Service Specialist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 28, 2016
Minimal supervision, great coworkers, managers were nice and lenient, hours are pretty good and if needed you can ask for more, 20% discount
Pros
Lots of breaks in between long shifts
Cons
Customers can be a pain especially as a cashier, clothes are always messy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where management requires slave labour from you.
FASION PROCESSOR (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABMay 28, 2016
Walmart doesn't value hard working people and praises the slow and dime witted. I would not recommend this place for anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i had an enthusiastic experience working at walmart
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 28, 2016
It was my very first job in Canada. I had a wonderful experience working there. my coworkers trained me in an excellent way. initially it was a bit hard for me to get into the pace but with experience and practise I was able to perform in an excellent way
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent starter!
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BCMay 28, 2016
Specializing in sales and the atmosphere of Spectacular A Class Fashion! great to work for in the company I was not only helped but taught on the computer terminal as well s the Register! This is one proud leader in the Fashion business! Please call them they are the best ever in the Fashion World!
Pros
Company 30 % off Fashion !
Cons
Late and short hrs!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting that's for sure.
Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 27, 2016
Although noted as a great place to work with very flexible abilities, the fact is that you are over worked and expected to work above and beyond for little to no recognition day after day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and fun place to work
customer service specialist/cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKMay 27, 2016
it a really good and fun place to work with flexible hours but with a low pay which is just the minimum wage.
but what i like most about walmart is the people i work with
Pros
free coffee and tea
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 27, 2016
great place to work at, to grow and develop as a person, to improve your skills in a retail environment and opportunity to advance is always there to achieve
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cooperative
General Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONMay 26, 2016
Wal-Mart provided me with the hours I needed and gave me the days off when I was in school. However they are very understaffed and I was pulled from my department to work in other departments leading to not much work being completed in my department. However the co-workers were easy to work with and cooperative.
Pros
10% discount
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cultured enviroment
Category Analyst (Current Employee) –  MississaugaMay 26, 2016
Walmart truly has a distinct culture, and instill the one goal to all their staff. Company wide meetings are transparent across all business, and encourages the staff to learn more about other areas.
Pros
Sense of Community
Cons
Management Politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 66,518 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture