Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 5,083 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great service and healthy work environment
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  North Park, ON26 April 2017
this company had a great culture and a strong management team. l have gathered an unmatched skill through its management essential course program and on the job experiences both on salesfloor and backroom. A typical day at work can be long but also challenging as well but most enjoyeable part is the celebration of successes and appreciation of associates hardwork.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, just don't expect a lot
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON26 April 2017
I quit another grocery store chain as a cashier to move here, and it was a surprising improvement. However, this is compared to my terrible experience at the last company, so my standards weren't high. As a high school student, this is a really good job and because it's a big store, there's always hours and shifts to take. Overall it's a friendly, casual environment that I enjoyed and it was easy to make friends. The job gets old and repetitive, and managers are constantly making pointless and annoying changes to the workplace, which ultimately lead me to leave.
Pros
lots of breaks, friendly environment
Cons
managers, repetitiveness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service and teamwork
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON26 April 2017
Working at walmart is a great job for someone just starting out or looking for something to do after retirement. Walmart can improve on some management issues. In my opinion there should be better communication between managers so that customers are getting helped faster
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Miscommunication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent start
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON26 April 2017
Generally a good starting job, good flexible hours. Easy to get comfortable and to work with others, not a lot of stress. If you need a quick job I would recommend Wal-mart!
Pros
Long lunches, freedom, comfortable
Cons
Low wage, random hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
second shift employee
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 April 2017
• Provided customer service at the service desk and on the sales floor
• Helped customers understand their problems and suggested economical solutions
• Honestly informed customers about proper maintenance intervals and procedures
• Maintained excellent customer satisfaction rate as evident in positive customer feedback
• Unloaded trucks through hand bombing, organizing and palatizing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not a bad place to work, but don't really want to be there forever.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS26 April 2017
The hardest part of the job is that you can't see what as been rung through, would LOVE to see monitors at the tills. Enjoy working with the team, everyone is so nice.
Pros
Can have an hour lunch if work 7+ hours a day
Cons
Wish there were monitors on the cash to see what was rung through
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good coworkers
Electronics and photo lab associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK25 April 2017
One of the things I liked about working in Walmart, was everybody was really nice and helpful there. All coworkers and Managers were coperative. They taught alot of things, that help me in becoming good employ and a person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and Positive Ambience.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC25 April 2017
Nice place to shop around.
Nice ambience for working & shopping both.
Co-operative management
Enjoying & supportive co-workers.
Reasonable retail.
Nice experience
Stable job
Chance of having a bright and promising future.
Scope for opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start, needs improvement with management.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC25 April 2017
Amazing place to work when it comes to benefits and availability. They are willing to work around your life. Management needs a lot of work. 10% discount was nice. They have an amazing open door policy.
Pros
Good salary and many shifts
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Fun to work there.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Walmart Canada southend25 April 2017
Price changes-clean department-fill stock from receiving to put on the floor. End of shift clean up. Learned a lot in 7 yrs. I have been here. The people I work with
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Evening shift and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON25 April 2017
Fast Paced Work
All time busy location
Various people from various cultures
I was appreciated and honored by WALMART so many times.
Punctuality and Customer service are the best part of WALMART.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place to work
Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ON25 April 2017
Had a good ten years with Walmart I just need a change good place to work from from my experience anybody looking to learn new jobs at Walmart there is always something more to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Casual place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB25 April 2017
Great environment, and coworkers. I enjoyed working for walmart, and I liked that I was able to take the time off i needed for myself, and so I could complete school without any backlash.
Pros
great community business to work at
Cons
most of the time fast pace environment, breaks are always late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable employment depending on management
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 April 2017
Apart from the busy weekend chaos, it is manageable with the right leaders. Most of the managers at Walmart treat employees like slaves and not like people. They are not very understanding or compassionate, and are always down your back about the simplest things. Apart from management, open weekend availability is a must, which can be tough when trying to balance life at the same time.

With the right management, Walmart is a great place to work. It all depends on the people who are higher-up.
Pros
Cell phone discounts
Cons
Not much flexibility, unnecessarily strict managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Educational Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON25 April 2017
Learned much information on customer service. I was able to understand how to handle customer requests or complaints. I feel like I learned a lot about inventory and how to manage stocking systems. I learned the till.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back and none rushed have time todo what you need right
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB25 April 2017
Walmart was a family is was always slow going but it gave you time to do the job right and make it look good doing it everyone was friendly and as helpful as ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON25 April 2017
Great job as in I get to deal with people all day long.
Advancement seems like it doesn't happen in store.
To much duties and responsibility and not enough wages for the compensation.
Pros
Lots of breaks.
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great lerning experience
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON25 April 2017
walmart showed me a lot about how things work in that type of working field. i learned a lot about pricing and also keeping stock of the products i have
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC24 April 2017
We're all just numbers and the share holders have to get their money.
Shame that doesn't leave alot of job security or money for the staff on the front line.
Pros
some really good assistant managers
Cons
random hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and Fun together
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary,Burlington24 April 2017
The working is fantastic with benefits,the management takes good care of its employs,the working hours are good and there is also opportunity of overtime
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 88,597 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4