Find companies:
Walmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34,092 reviews

Walmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, friendly workers,
Cashier (Former Employee), Sherwood ParkAugust 21, 2014
Cons: long hours, language barrier, unorganized, no direction
I didn't get too much direction and the first week I wasn't trained that much, so I had to watch and teach myself a lot. A lot of other employees would talk in a different language, there was a big language barrier. The management was not well organized and I never really saw the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top cashier and trainer for store and other locations
Full-Time Cashier/Trainer (Current Employee), Williams Lake, BCAugust 21, 2014
Pros: full-time with benefits
Cons: low wages
Temporary job while pursuing other interests. Enjoy the people and get along with all co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place just way too many politics
Cashier (Current Employee), Belleville, ONAugust 21, 2014
Pros: discount & profit sharing
Cons: restriction of hours, negativity
way too much politics and main focus is not put on the things they should be. A lot of unhappy people working there. Can become a very negative work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team enviroment
Produce Stocker (Former Employee), Williams Lake, BCAugust 20, 2014
Pros: worked with great people
Cons: not enough hours
I was trained on the spot by co-workers. I usually would stock the produce and help customers find what they needed. Warehouse product if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A funplace to work with ample of learning opportunities
Cashier (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONAugust 20, 2014
Pros: as you are dealing directly with the end consumers, recieved their feedback about the products and services.
Cons: despite of your 100% efforts to satisfy customers, sometimes you will not get the appropriate response or appreciation from customers
As I worked in retail industry and meet different kind of individuals everyday at work and observed & experienced their behaviour which gives me learning opportunity to deal with different types of customers and resolve their problem depending on the situation and available alternatives to serve them best that increase customer satisfaction and customer – more... loyalty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst experience I have ever had working in my life.
Customer Service Worker (Former Employee), 299 milner ave, Toronto ONAugust 20, 2014
Pros: after work you get to go home.
Cons: everything you could imagine
The company is a sweat shop in disguise. Worst pay rates for anyone who is not management and the overall feeling while working here is depressing. I would never recommend working here unless you are having a hard time finding a job. Then again perhaps its just better to be broke. The company and management are cruel. I actually witnessed a manager – more... tell and employee " you cant do anything about it now, grab a coffee and finish your shift" The employee had just told her that his aunt had passed away. Completely inhumane, and there are multiple cases of this type of behavior. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed my work
greeter or food sample demonstrator (Former Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 20, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: 20hrs more if necessary
I have worked with a great bunch of people,i still keep contact with quite a few,in Lepages we had our ups and downs like every where else,i had no problem coping with things we had golf tournaments,we had Christmas parties.I used to be on the social comity,i have nothing but great memories,i do miss going out there to work,and talking to people and – more... getting involved at one time ,i have worked for American Air lines part time ,after the kids grew up it was such fun i hope that tells you something about me , – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabric Department
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Glasgow, NSAugust 20, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the work
Cons: management
my duties were serving customers in the fabric department , merchandising, sales etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocking
Overnight stocker (Former Employee), Fort Saskatchewan, ABAugust 19, 2014
Pros: free midnight dinners
Cons: not paid enough
you learn lots so when you go grocery shopping you learn where to find things
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Pharmacist (Current Employee), Belleville, ONAugust 19, 2014
Excellent place to work and gain experience. Great coworkers. Fast-paced work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace helpful supervisors
Associate (Former Employee), Prince Rupert, BCAugust 19, 2014
Pros: 10% discount
I learned many new skills in the customer service industry coworkers were very nice and helpful when i didnt know how to do something right they showed me the proper way to do tasks hardest part of my job was that i was too shy i think enjoyable part was hearing from the supervisors how well i was doing at my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Experience
Photo Lab Technician (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 19, 2014
Pros: chance to make friends.
Cons: non-paid lunches, rude employees, horrible customer service.
I've been working here for almost a year now and have had no place for advancement, the employees in the store are absolutely rude except in my tiny department. The managers don't come to calls or even give good hours. There is absolutely NO chance at getting legitimate full-time. Except Full-time hours with part-time wage and that means NO benefits. – more... How does one survive off Walmart wage? They'd have to be FULL-TIME and working there over 10 years! 30 cent raises every year???! It's not worth it. I used to like it at the beginning, because I started around Christmas, more hours, more money. But as soon as it hit February/March, things changed and it's not worth struggling to live over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun friendly work place
CLERK cashier (Former Employee), cornwall ontAugust 18, 2014
Pros: see new people everyday
Cons: long hours
worked the cash and looked after customers had designated work stations were i maintained the stock on shelves and displays while helping customers find items even in other departments.
how to work side by side with a designated team of coworkers and maintaining a good and safe work enviroment. the hardest part was trying to help cutomers who needed – more... things that were in a department that i was unfamiliar with.
but the one thing i enjoyed was meeting new people and working with great friendly coworkers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet fun work place.
Overnight Stock Associate Walmart (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCAugust 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches and we got 3 breaks
Cons: long hours and no enough people working.
Working for Walmart was great but they did lack workers so instead of 4 people in the freezer, it would be just me working on it alone. The managers were ok but they did expect a lot and sometimes yelled because we wernt meeting their expectations, but how can they get mad when they dont have enough people working for them. The only thing you can do – more... at walmart and any other kind of job is to do your very best! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cash office associate (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONAugust 16, 2014
Pros: the job
Cons: childish staff
good customers, poor management some employees are ok.. most act like high school kids. loved my job not my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service - Directs Associate (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONAugust 16, 2014
This a well structured job following Walmart's policies and guidlines. A typical day includes receiving all daily direct shipments coming in to the company and processing them. There is also interaction with customers on the sales floor dealing with requests and concerns. The job is well structured and easy to learn and perform.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to apply too
Store Standards Associate (Student Part-Time) (Current Employee), Markham, ONAugust 15, 2014
I think walmart managers need to work on there personal skills and communication with associates rather than putting them down because sometimes you have to wonder why they have policies they do not follow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rollercoaster
Stocking Associate-Produce (Current Employee), BrantAugust 15, 2014
Co-workers vary, some are very supportive and work with me, others blame the hard working ones for their slack that doesn't get picked up. Mostly a matter of young vs. old.

Recently, with the changes in the company we lost our department manager, we had no manager for a while, it was chaos. We got back a previous associate as our department manager – more... who does an incredible job working with us and we had temporary assistant managers above him, all these managers (in my opinion) maintained a great balance between indiscriminate fairness, and understanding that we have lives outside of the job. Now, our managers micromanage us as if we don't know how our job is supposed to be done OR they're no where to be found on the floor in the evenings despite the store hiring more managers so we can easily find one.

Over the last month I've been yelled at twice by managers because of conflicting directions, my schedule for three weeks has gone against my availability, and I've been working all closing shifts alone and expected to complete a work load of 2-3 people. There is no room for advancement in my department to even a full time position, yet there is a full-time person on an indefinite leave of absence and there are jobs available on the website for more managers (while we already have an over-abundance). I would not recommend applying to work here at this point in time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with fun people
Sales Associate, Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 15, 2014
Pros: direct contact with customers, profit sharing
Cons: no union, too much favoritism, low salary
Wal-mart was a fun part-time job to have when I was in school. The people I worked with were nice and it was nice being able to help customers shop. I loved that part of the job especially, since I got so many compliments from customers on how much of help I was to them, as well as compliments saying that I was the fastest cashier in the store. That – more... really made me love going into work everyday. After finishing school, I requested less weekend shifts and more weekday shifts, which I didn't get and so I found a full-time mon-fri job that made more sense for my lifestyle. Wal-mart's hourly wage was low and other employees got paid more for doing the same job which I didn't think was fair, however, Wal-mart was really good at giving their employees a generous number of hours every week to work, so we all went home with a decent paycheck regardless of our hourly wage. It was very difficult to move up in the company as their was no union, favoritism was very common in many cases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice but not too much fun
Cashier, Sales Support (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 14, 2014
Multitask
selling jewelry
making sure that the show case was always stock
dealing with customer
managing staff
keep track of the jewelry

1 2 3 4 5

About Walmart

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart since 2008 and Wal-Mart before then, is an American public multinational corporation – Read more