Walmart Employee Reviews for Cashier

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bradford West Gwillimbury, ON22 February 2018
Best job ever, coworkers are amazing and friendly. Hours were amazing and salary was also. Love the diversity of people that enter the store allowing to converse with different types of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB19 February 2018
It was a good place to START working at in the beginning;however, you learn really quickly of the double standards the management and groups of people have.
Pros
Lots of shifts
Cons
Double Standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a permanent workplace.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE18 February 2018
Walmart's environment is harmful to the mental health of the workers UNDER the assistant managers. It is a very stressful environment and is not somewhere I would recommend for employment.
Pros
fundraising
Cons
Rough management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environmnent
Prince Edward Island - Cashier (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE17 February 2018
Overall, it was a great experience to work at Walmart. I learned a lot and gained great customer service experience. My managers, were very nice and scheduled me when I was available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 February 2018
I like the atmosphere and also different opportunity there. Being a cashier I like to meet different types of people with different background and also have fun to talk and interact with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walmart
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL15 February 2018
employers are great as well as staff. very accommodating and willing to work with your schedule. only issue i found was there is no benefits offered for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good overall
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON13 February 2018
I enjoyed working at walmart, but the manager did not like me, so i wasn't able to be promoted or move up with the company. The store owner was absent bit and hard to conact. I did not like being singled out.
Pros
the customers and employees
Cons
was all about managers favorites
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast pace
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Vegreville, AB12 February 2018
Working at Walmart was great you got to see a lot of new faces everyday got to help the customers find the products they were looking for, and making sure they had a great shopping experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB10 February 2018
In this company you are nothing but a number. They don't care about any of there workers at all.
They do not care about employee's family or life outside about Walmart, they expect you to be able to do every thing for them but they have no respect for you. It is a terrible company and I would never recommend people to work at it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overnight stocker/ cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SK9 February 2018
night shift: 2-3 skids per department to be unpacked every night. clean shelves as you go and keep your work area clean.

day shift: Cashier: stock up cash areas, separate returns, handle cash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Value of Customer Service
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON9 February 2018
Working at Walmart taught me some of the most important life skills that I will take with me forever, the value of customer service. I was not only a cashier, but I was the 1st associates that customers saw when they came through the door. It was my responsibility to assist them in every which way that I could to be able to give them a positive outlook on the store. As a cashier, I was also the last associate that customers saw before they left. it was important that I was able to keep that positive attitude and outlook of the store so that the customers will want to return.
Pros
Helping people and seeing smiles when recommend great deals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great way to enhance cashier skills
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2018
Working with individuals that work in a variety of departments. Alternating from cashier to sales representative and not doing the same job always. Great culture
Pros
breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good in-school job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON9 February 2018
Walmart is a good job for in-school and high school job. The management team isn't very pleasant though. Very rude and doesnt care about any of the employees and only focuses on getting master cards. If you dont get master cards you get sat down n spoken to and trained. Also, they don't give you hardly any hours due to hiring so many employees.

Other then that the pay wage is fair.
Pros
Higher then minimum wage
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB8 February 2018
I didn't mind working at coldlake Alberta Walmart. The staff were nice and it was fast paced enough to keep me on my feet. A community I'd love to work with again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very understanding and don't care for their employees.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Surrey, BC8 February 2018
• Operating a point of sales system
• Ensuring customer satisfaction
• Counting change back to customers and ensuring till balanced at the end of each shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough staff
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON7 February 2018
Walmart was very understaffed, due to Corporate office not the individual store. Too much on selling of their mastercard and not enough on customer service.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
cannot get full time work only partime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unrealistic employee expectations
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON6 February 2018
-management is very moody
-other employees often slack off
-not understanding of mental illness
-managers watching over cashiers were extremely power hungry
-did not allow time off for family vacation (had to call into shifts)
-told to disregard instructions from assistant store manager by customer service manager multiple times
Cons
long hours, hard to book time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed and enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yorkton, SK3 February 2018
It was stressful sometimes, but overall not too negative. The other employees really made the job worth going to. There wasn't much to do in my field, but the breaks were long enough.
Pros
good breaks
Cons
not much to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The atmosphere was not good.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bradford, ON3 February 2018
The supervisors were for the most part good to work with.

My main complaint was that when you were in the cafeteria the atmosphere was not very good. There was swearing, saying things you did not want to hear.
Pros
Flexible about changing shifts.
Cons
The atmosphere in that some of the people seem to be rough around the edges.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 February 2018
Wal-Mart is and excellent place for a first time job seeker. Hires young and energetic students. Diverse culture. Management very difficult. Most enjoyable part of job was customer interaction.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 130,533 reviews
535.6K
437.5K
335.5K
212.2K
19.8K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture