Volvo Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily struggle to break team "silos".
Manager; Dealer Credit & Operations (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON22 February 2017
While I have had many positive experiences with the Volvo Group, the current environment at Volvo Financial Services in Canada is one of dis-function from a management perspective.
While individual teams work well, and do communicate with each other when necessary, there is no Leadership from the current Managing Director, whom actually seems to encourage team management silos, and prefers a "passive-aggressive" management style. The most enjoyable part of being a member of the VFS team is the people/staff, and their willingness to give a little extra to deliver excellent service to both external & internal customers.
Pros
The people/staff
Cons
Managing Director
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a very professional company that is a pleasure to work for
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Wakefield11 February 2017
I have worked for this company for over a year now and i have found that not only has this year has been a fantastic learning curve and has passed quickly, it is a great place to work and I enjoy every day at work as it is always different and provides a new challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Descent
Welder (Former Employee) –  Goderich, ON21 January 2017
Learn lots of problem solving skills . Daily meetings corasponding to production and safty. Let's worker know about quarterly meetings management was very aporshable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workspace, you will learn a lot from the team.
Internship Student (Current Employee) –  Saint-Eustache, QC6 January 2017
Great working environment, great team with leadership. Everyone is respectful and kind. This place is full of great challenges. You should apply.
Pros
No traffic
Cons
Huge challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people respect with each other, easy going environment
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  成都市4 January 2017
change of personnel challenge your ability quite a lot, but this will make you learning and find your potential is unlimited.
everyday need to handle tons of emails, quick decision is a must.
various kinds of system waiting you to figure it out, after couple of weeks you will get used of this situation and find yourself a quick learner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volvo Of Unionville
Parts Advisor (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON29 November 2016
The day at work is average. The managers are lazy doesn't want to get off their seats, but the employees working under the manager are wondering, always making the best out of things and very supportive about personal and professional issues.
Pros
Employees are great people.
Cons
Management is terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Involved with the company from the beginning of start-up until sold.
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 October 2016
Made sure equipment ready for rent, all staff in place,delivery trucks ready to go.
How to organize staff,repairs,deliveries.
Reported directly to owners.
Keeping employees motivated.
Making sure equipment was available for rent at all times.
Customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Mechanic assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 May 2016
a typical day is doing oil changes and tire changes and brake changes i learned so many different things the hardest part of the job was remembering how much oil to put in the car the most enjoyable part was meeting new people everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work just no one was buying
PRESENT JOB SALESMAN STERLING TRUCK & TRAILER (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK27 May 2016
i am a very driven sales person and with the oil and transportation being at the all time low it was not busy enough to stay on. the job was very good as well as the people and the best thing about it is i got to learn more of the industry
Pros
big comisson
Cons
it was very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global company
FLEET SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 April 2016
Volvo Trucks is a Global company that leads the trucking in safety and technology. The Canadian operation is small in numbers but big in heart and dedication to customers. Advancement opportunity within this region is small to none.

The employees are like minded and have a good sense of camaraderie. Recent management changes has added challenges to the spirit of the group, but overall they have maintained their cohesiveness.

Salary and benefits are excellent.

Overall, I highly recommend this company as an employer.
Pros
Benefits and compensation
Cons
Weak management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and good environment
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC27 January 2016
it was always welcoming and professional and it made work not feel work. management was never intimidating and always made you feel appreciated and like you were part of the team
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun for all the family
Various staff member (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC2 December 2015
Great, fun, hard, difficult, long hours, no brakes other than lunch, learned new skills, met interesting people and washed cars and played cards.
Pros
Fun staff
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Warranty Administrator (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC1 August 2015
Technical Support, Assessed and checked every claim for accuracy and eligibility, Phone support for dealers and warranty inquiries
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Car Sales and Leasing Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 July 2015
I gained most of my experience in this company. management trained and groomed me to become a manager. I would recommend this company to every body.
Pros
Great trainig
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volvo
car washer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2015
I started work at seven in the morning by making sure that my work station was cleaned up and ready for the day such as throwing away garbage and making sure my water buckets were full. if there was no cars to wash I would help out by cleaning the shop, checking in customer cars when they bring them in to get serviced. the hardest part of the job was the physical labour of washing cars by myself when there is twelve mechanics fixing cars. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to drive the cars as well as getting some work experience.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stream flo
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Alberta11 September 2014
-Managed the budget and any other costs related to the branch
-Responsible for the business development of the branch:
-maintained working relationships with current and prospective clients while seeking out new customers.
-Directly managed 10 staff members
-Handling and delegating all incoming order calls
-Recruitment of all new employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  North York, Ontario23 April 2014
Very challenging place to work
Learned time management and to be flexible with work load
Management team did not micro manage you
Co-workers were a great team of people, everyone felt like family
Hardest part of the job was when other didn't pull their weight
Most enjoyable part of the job was the end result and positive feedback received from Management and co-workers
Pros
Flexible work hours, teamwork was key for everyone
Cons
not enough staff, doing work of 3 people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive jobs
Réceptionniste (Current Employee) –  Brossard, QC20 January 2014
I am always sit I only answer the phone. The customers are disagreeable and the equip doesn't have support.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Boring job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great experience
Sales & Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 September 2013
Learn a lot, great experience.
Great co-workers. The hardest part is the industry very volatile.,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was assisting the administrative part in the HR department in the headquarter.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brussels, ON7 May 2013
It was such a pleasant experience. The work environment was healthy: clean, lot of space, with windows. The team was simply amazing. We all know what our tasks was and did it. We had structure but had flexibility within it.

The hardest part of this job was when I had to create on SAP the organigram of the entire world-wide company. It was a huge company, thus the challenge was present.
Pros
Great work environment with good cafeteria
Cons
Not always easy to please all the employees as some where quite demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,304 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0