Find companies:
VMware
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

VMware Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and nice work environment
Technical Support Engineer (Current Employee), BurnlingtonJuly 27, 2014
Pros: good place to start your career. chance to grow and learn about cutting edge technologies.
Cons: low salaries compared to the work load
Great company to start in,
Great benefits and great management staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, good place to start an IT career
Technical Support Engineer (Former Employee), CanadaMay 6, 2014
Pros: excellent work environment.
Cons: on a busy day it can feel a bit like a sweatshop, limited opportunities for gaining skills outside support.
Overall VMware is an excellent employer, with great work environment. For the most part it's well managed. It's an interesting place to learn about virtualization and how a datacenter is managed. Maybe not so much for someone with a lot of hands-on experience or who wants to work directly with provisioning IT services to end users.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment with very supportive management
Technical Support Engineer (Storage/Fault) (Former Employee), Burlington, ONApril 29, 2014
Productive and relaxed work ethics.
Great team.
Free breakfast
rotating shifts
phone call queue for support calls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, benefits and decent salary
Technical Support Engineer (Current Employee), Burlington, ONApril 24, 2014
Pros: catered lunches, company events, great benefits
Cons: career opportunities are limited at local sites
Overall great company in terms of compensation and benefits as well as culture and people. Slow advancement within the centre and work load increased year after year
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people and lively environment
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Burlington, ONNovember 5, 2013
Pros: feast, snack area.
Cons: distance
Day starts with checking mails to replying to people at different locations.
I sit with technical engineers to gather data and their feedback oon the prototype I am working on.
Meetings and day is over with continuous communication with my manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Technical Support/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 17, 2013
Pros: free lunches, benefits, flexibility.
Cons: sometimes a lot of sitting.
I loved working for this company. Had a very positive environment overall. Managers were great, and the company had a very dynamic environment, which greatly effected employee behavior into adapting new changes at a higher rate. Co-workers were very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Change Readiness & Training Lead (Former Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 16, 2013
Pros: free drinks and food!
Cons: lots of travel!
VMware is awesome! Its a great culture to be a part of!

Great Place to Work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VMware
Consumer Desktop Support (Former Employee), Burlington, ONMay 1, 2013
Pros: weekly free lunches. free snacks and drinks
Cons: likely to be laid off within the next 2 years.
VMware was a great place to work and I envisioned working there for many years to come. Unfortunately after some company changes a lot of jobs were sold off. Job security with this company is at an all time low with more centers being built overseas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is tough, but many good perks
Technical Support Engineer (Former Employee), Burlington, ONNovember 16, 2012
Pros: free juice/pop/chocolate milk, weekly food/snacks, day 1 benefits, free training
Cons: call centre
Call centre type job where you are working with System Admins who are having issues.
- On the phone for most of the day which never leaves enough time for research on your current issues
+ Plenty of resources to help you do your work. Co-workers are great and full of character
+ Management good as well, want you to excel and grow with company.
+ They – more... know work is hard, so they have xbox, ps3, ping pong table and foosball table, to relieve stress.
+ free drinks/pop/snacks to keep people happy
+ Treated to catered food every week
+ free training – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VMware Summary
Technical Support Engineer (Current Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 15, 2012
Pros: free lunches, team outings, benefits, entertainment (video games and foosball table)
Cons: office location
An ever rapidly growing company still hiring people around the globe.

That said, we are all usually very busy with customers and tasks.

There are lots of learning opportunities and exciting products.

Managers are a big question mark as I have had bad and great managers, so I guess management is okay as far as average is concerned.

Hardest part of – more... the job is dealing with the phones and the most enjoyable is to be able to learn and cooperate with teams around the globe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
ENTERPRISE SALES EXECUTIVE (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 15, 2014
VMware is radically transforming IT with technologies that make your business more agile, efficient and profitable. A pioneer in virtualization and policy-driven automation, VMware simplifies IT complexity across the entire data center. We deliver value to more than 500,000 customers through virtualization software, professional services and a robust – more... ecosystem of more than 55,000 partners that drives application interoperability and customer choice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great products two companies
Regional Practice Director -Advisory Services (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CASeptember 11, 2014
there is the Palo Alto culture and then there is the field - Very Political- organization is in constant flux and there are people who make it their job to accomplish nothing and just promote what they would do in the next reorg- VMware rewards that
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product and company, leadership out of touch
Commercial Inside Account Executive (Former Employee), AustinAugust 4, 2014
Pros: free snacks, breakfast tacos on friday, volunteer opportunities, quarterly team offsites
Cons: toxic morale, slim chance for career advancement, off-balance compensation
VMware is an industry leader for a reason, they deliver a great product with great support behind it. The company as a whole has strong core values and great benefits/work-life. The Austin location has changed within the past year to a toxic work environment. Employees are no longer being fairly compensated (even though the company continues to hit – more... quarter after quarter for wall street). Management is out of sync with employees and customers, as they constantly churn territory managers between quarters but then threaten action/performance plans for not meeting guidelines when given little to no ramp. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low impact
Applications Engineer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: three restaurants to choose from
Cons: three restaurants to choose from
Good team spirit and good work environment;
just going through a lot of changes currently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and Work From Home Environment
Eastern Region Education Delivery Manager (Former Employee), Worked from home office in Fort Worth, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: working from home
Cons: upper management changes
Although days were long, I was able to work from home 90-95% of the time. There was a lot of management change the last 3 years I was there, which led to upper management instability, but co-workers were great and we continued to grow the education department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to work
Queue Manager GSS (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: work life balance
Dream place to work,Dream place to work,Dream place to work,Dream place to work,Dream place to work,Dream place to work,Dream place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for!
Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Mountain View, CaJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: multiple changes in leadership throughout tenure
I enjoyed my 4 years at VMware immensely. I wish my position wasn't eliminated!

The job was challenging yet fun! Every day presented a different challenge so there was never a dull moment!

I met tons of wonderful colleagues who I've stayed in touch with even after moving on from VMware!

One challenge of the position I supported was the constant change – more... in management. In the 4 years I worked as part of the Global Training team I worked for 4 different leaders. With each leader wee we had different vision and goals. However I am very flexible and good at adapting to change and was able to match my work flow with what was expected each time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart People
Internal Service Sales Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TxJuly 14, 2014
Pros: friday 3 o'clock
Cons: very political
Good company experiencing growing pains and product creep.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table.
SOA Developer/OSB Developer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 17, 2014
I Learned new things. The co-worker were so helpful. And the hardest part of job is to finish big Project in time and enjoyable part of the job is getting very good experiance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tight on resources great comp
Sales Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJune 16, 2014
Pros: vmware events- onsite concert's
Cons: constant struggle to add resources
Great organization overall. my one complaint is the restriction of Resources company wide due to budget contraints.It makes it difficult to reach the productivity level

1 2 3 4 5

About VMware

VMware, Inc.is a company providing virtualization software founded in 1998 and based in Palo Alto, California, USA. It is majority – Read more