VITRAN Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 13 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run far away from this place as possible and don't look back
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Concord, ONJune 3, 2016
This is a horrible place to work. Don't waste your time working here if you have a job already don't quit it to come work here. They hire people but don't keep them they let them go just before its time for their probation to be completed. The pay rate is a joke and it will take you 7 years to get to top rate while the senior men get top rate and $500 dollars a month in rsp's. If you get hired on you will never get that rsp money it's only for senior dockmen. Management is two faced and so are the employees that you'll work with they constantly backstab each other. The union is a joke they can't do anything for you management runs rough shot over everything that goes on there. I ended up quitting vitran and it was the best decision I ever made I feel alot better and my health is much better overall.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Don't have enough time to list all the cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
general labour (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONJune 10, 2016
started early when i was asked
was always on time
enjoyed working with other people
completed the customers orders as requested
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have barbeques
Driver (Current Employee) –  edmontonJuly 20, 2015
Vitran is run like a circus

typical day at work Is I get my bills in the morning and haul out two loads sometimes three loads of delivery's and then a load of pick ups then I call it a day at arond 4:00- 6:00 pm and go home

what have I learned city p&d is the same for every company

management is a joke

co-workers well that's all they are is co-workers I try not to make that aspect of my work personal

the hardest part of the job is dealing with dispatch were at there mercy

the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing im there to make money and to me that's all that matters is that I work hard so I can pay my bills its the way of life
Pros
im outside
Cons
dealing with dispatch and the organized kaos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work but had to move
Receptionist/Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary AlbertaJuly 11, 2015
- answered phones and did typing of letters and data entry and pulling freight bills for inbound freight
- data entry learned making freight bills and trip manifests for outbound freight
- people were great
- the most enjoyable was dealing with the public and people at our other branches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was fun but management arent very intelligent.
Transportation Clerk (Former Employee) –  concordFebruary 21, 2015
The work itself was okay. Management were some of the hardest people to ever deal with. Never take any inputs from employees into consideration.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was hard working employee who worked more than 20 yrs with this co. fired for leaving 15 minutes early
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Concord, ONJuly 10, 2014
loading trailers
untrustworthy management
new management uncaring of long term employees
working in fear of their jobs
wondering when they would come up with a rediculace reason to fire me
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer satisfaction culture
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Montreal CanandaOctober 1, 2013
Satisfying job, meeting and maintaining customers through close customer relations.
Difficult to negotiate extra charges, as there was a need for more flexibility.
Recent changes in middle management made it difficult to get a sense of direction.
Excellent co-workers and good team spirit.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun bosses
Shipment Unloader (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BCFebruary 21, 2015
fairly easy paced work, I little repetitive. a lot of joking around makes the day go by quicker. co-workers are great. the hardest part is unloading the air conditioner units
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Order Picker / Walkie Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Caledon, ONJanuary 2, 2013
The supervisors stress safety above performance. They do not play favorites and everyone seems to be treated equally and with respect.

The hardest part of the job is leaving at the end of the shift.

The fellow employees are not at all intimidating and are more than welcoming and friendly.
Pros
vending machine
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at Vitran and lean alot of new things
General Laborer/ Assembly line (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONAugust 16, 2012
A fun and fast paced job and I was given a chance to work around the warehouse. Also given the chance to training new employees.
Pros
they awarded the worker for jobs well done.
Cons
computer systems were down alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so so
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMarch 22, 2014
It's easy and hard at the sometime picking the exact amount and meeting the requirements on the sheet of paper.
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a temp job
shipper/receiver (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCAugust 15, 2013
It was a temp agency job, not alot to say. You are asked to go and do a certain job. The turn over was high.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

See more VITRAN reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1