Find companies:
ViSalus
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

ViSalus Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is great to work for yourself
Independent Promoter, Sales (Current Employee), KentuckyJuly 7, 2014
Pros: free products
I work for myself. My paycheck depends on how much time I am willing to put into this job. It is direct sales, and I only do it to get my products for free, lose weight, and make some extra cash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and full of own innitiative
Sales executive (Current Employee), LondonMay 26, 2014
Pros: flxible work hours
Cons: over tasking
Overall, quite challenging, especially in the area of convincing people to buy your product. Quite exciting especially with peoples' reactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
undisclosed (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 25, 2014
Pros: i can't think of any really
Cons: stressful work environment, shady upper managment
A stressful and unorganized company. They could care less about the well being of their employees, basically working them 24/7. Their culture looks great on paper, but they don't follow it. Favoritism is prevalent. They have a lot of shady, underhanded practices also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
CSR Agent (Current Employee), Troy, MIApril 24, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: short breaks
I work for 6-2pm during this time I learn about the everyday struggles with customers and promoters weight loss I relate to the customers and promoters and am able to offer Great advice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun free life
Independent Promoter (Former Employee), Tumwater, WAApril 17, 2014
Pros: uncapped potential
Cons: greatly relies on inner social network for initial startup
Working for visalus taught me about various marketing strategies, both new and old, that greatly influence income/lead generation. The Visalus lifestyle and direct marketing however was not as appealing to my inner circle of friends, thus outward projection in social marketing was limited. The hardest part of the job was convincing a prospective associate – more... that the initial investment was worth it so long as they were willing to follow the system. The most enjoyable part of the job was hearing of peoples results as they went through the programs available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're not 'Hip" stay away
Phone agent (Former Employee), Troy MINovember 22, 2013
Pros: gym at the office, what the work culture was supposed to stand for
Cons: nepotism in the workplace, lazy management
I worked there for approximately a year and a half. I dedicated much time doing side projects for them, hoping to advance. I did progress slightly on the "corporate ladder", but not nearly as much as I deserved. I trained new agents on the phone, only later to find out I was training new supervisors. The supervisory staff was paid a relatively comfortable – more... salary to sit around and do nothing. They sat in the huddle rooms talking about their fantasy basketball teams rather than tend to the agents. 9/10 times when a newer agent needed a supervisor, they were not able to be found. Not to mention all the "inter-office relations" that was taking place. It took me back to my high school days to be honest. The lack of professionalism and maturity was quite disturbing. Many other people who reviewed this company already said it, but if you weren't family or friends with management, in with the right click, or Chaldean, you went nowhere. The amount of nepotism in the management is disgusting. To make things worse, they had a company-wide lay off for "restructuring" and they let go all the supervisors who actually did their job! I'm not sure what they were getting at with that one... I will say however, that they had a beautiful office, and some of the perks were great. PTO, Floating Holidays, gym in the office... And they did try to reward you with retention saves and up-sells. That was great, but there was unfairness in that even... This company has plateaued though and is not going to make anymore money. Long and short of it is, they'll pay you for your hard work in making the company money by selling or saving, you just have to be able to tolerate not going anywhere in the company if you're not "in". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smoke and Mirrors
Training (Former Employee), Troy, MINovember 6, 2013
Pros: beautiful office
The office is state of the art. Upon entering you're greeted with smiles and everyone boasts about how much "they love' working for ViSalus. However, once you're in, it's a completely different experience. It's more like a high-school than a professional, corporate environment. If you're not in the right "clique" or have a family member in management, – more... you're immediately an outsider. The company prides itself on it's core values. They preach entrepreneurial spirits and being a better student. I came into the company with an extensive training/facilitating background. Never were my ideas or thoughts taken seriously. Rather, they stick to the way they created things, which are extremely remedial. I worked very closely with every support center agent and the majority of them are overworked, stressed and afraid for their jobs. In addition, they expect Vi to BE your life. If you don't live and breathe Vi, you might as well start looking for another job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun spirited and great tastin product!
Director (Current Employee), Chesaning MIOctober 27, 2013
Your salary is all in what you make it. If you put the work in, you can become a millionaire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boasts of a fun hip and fair culture and business model but its a sham
Corporate office--Troy mi. Customer service (Former Employee), Troy, MIJuly 21, 2013
Pros: you get the overpriced products for free
Cons: read everything i wrote
Unless you are a family member or friend of a manager or supervisor you are expendable. While
Several representatives in the Troy Michigan corporate office have been fired for no reason at all, they make up fake reasons to justify it. They have fired people for being in the hospital a couple times that I know of (I was eventually in a role that offered – more... me privy to this type of information). Is nt that against laws? Who knows but it happened on more than one occasion. I also know first hand they wanted to fire someone because this person was "annoying" even though they were performing their job. While phone reps are terrified to go to the bathroom because they will be berated for their "not ready times" they are mostly extremely unhappy. While the family members and friends I spoke of earlier can run ramped, do no work, come in and go as they please, and be extremely rude to customers and co-workers without any ramifications.

They boast of a fair management style where underperforming reps and employees are to be coached before write ups or terminations, ---don't be fooled. This is certainly not the case. There was an employee who never was given any negative feedback and was fired on what they claim was bad performance.

Changes in policy or promotions are never communicated properly so phone agents can effectively assist
Customers.

The hype around this company is manufactured by the founders who are really glorified hype men. (Think flavor flav). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place to work if you want to have a life outside of work which most humans do.
Marketing (Former Employee), Los AngelesJuly 11, 2013
ViSalus is the kind of place where you walk in to a high-stress environment where everything seems to be a priority. Not only are managers harassing their team during weeknights, but weekends, and even on vacation days. This is a place where you have to prioritize your job over your relationships, family, and friends.

The only positive thing I can – more... say is that if you work for a sort-of -decent manager, you may be able to get a raise or promotion fairly quickly. So if you want to sacrifice everything else in your life and make a bit more money and have a nice promotion on your resume, this could be the place for you.

To top it all off, management has no clue how to handle situations and every decision is made on the fly. You would think with a product that is suppose to help you be healthier, decisions on controversies, product issues, etc. would be handled more seriously.

I do not recommend working for this company and leaving has been the best career decision I have made so far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Network Marketing
Executive Independent Distributor (Current Employee), Springfield, MOJune 19, 2013
It is such an uplifting experience to work for a very rewarding company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LIVE IT, LOVE IT, PROMOTE IT
Rising Star Director (Current Employee), Westminster, COMay 9, 2013
Pros: unlimited income potential, work for your own retirement, work on your schedule, company culture, life-health-prosperity
Cons: i didnt find out about it sooner!
The power of ViSalus is more than just the company behind The Challenge-it's about the vast Community within it. Our loyal Promoters are, and will always be, the most important component of our Community. ViSalus Promoters transform the lives of others every day through the Body by Vi™ Challenge and foster our mission to bring better Life, Health and – more... Prosperity to the world. For this reason and more, we're proud to reward them with truly one of the most innovative incentive programs in the world! To help catapult you to early success, ViSalus has put together the Rising Star Program. Reach Rising Star in your first 30 days and lock in an exciting new level of rewards. Earn company-wide recognition and eligibility for 2% of the company’s bonus volume that goes into an exclusive Rising Star Weekly Enroller's Pool. ViSalus offers the most realistically achievable car incentive program in the industry. At the Regional Director level or higher, Promoters can join the Bimmer Club — car bonus program that covers the cost of a new black, silver or green BMW. Over 13,000 people have already qualified for a Vi Bimmer! Somebody new qualifies every 40 minutes! Upon reaching our pinnacle position of Ambassador, the financial rewards are taken to
a new level.
• New Ambassadors: Receive the coveted Black Jacket and a $25,000 Bonus Check
• 2-Star Ambassadors: Get the stylish Blue Jacket
• 3-Star Ambassadors: A $100,000 Bonus Check awaits
• 4-Star Ambassadors: Attain the sleek Silver Jacket
• 5-Star Ambassadors: Take home the $250,000 Bonus Check
• Royal Ambassadors: Gain a $500,000 Bonus Check
• Crown Ambassadors: Earn a cool $1,000,000 Bonus Check
• Global Ambassadors: Receive a Black American Express Card and earn monthly in a Global Economy Pool – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High strong growing company
Sales Associate and Communication Latino Strategy (Current Employee), Beverly Hills, CAApril 27, 2013
Pros: health awareness and education. and free shakes!
Cons: commute
In the duration at my current employment I have enjoyed making a difference in the fight against the obesity epidemic by bringing awareness of healthier options. My new found knowledge has brought me a new respect of my own body and of those around me.
As a team member of the Latin Integration group I have helped develop strategies to reach our target – more... markets as we encourage the branding of the product. A typical day at work consists of marketing meetings, power point presentation development for sales department, translating promotional materials (ex. brochures, videos etc), connecting with promotors and sales teams to develop challenges that serve as incentives. The team for the most part is divided by departments each specializing in different target consumers (Latin, UK, Canada, US) Since the Latin department is the newest formed department much of the management and strategies are still in the development process making it hard for my experience and work ethic to shine. Some of the point of views in terms of direction make it difficult to carry the mission forward. All in all the company has an amazing product and mission, but my personal mission is not at it's fullest potential within it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
modern fun environment
Promoter Relations Agent (Current Employee), troy, miApril 2, 2013
Pros: free product
Cons: little break time
A call center, I primarily help callers edit their accounts, answer questions about the company, initiatives, and products. The hardest part of the day is trying to not take things said personal when upset callers direct their anger towards you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIgh Stress/Pressure Environment- Its all about $
Anonymous (Former Employee), Los AngelesMarch 30, 2013
Pros: pantry with shakes and vitamins; coming in late everyday to work
Cons: epic pressure & stress. workload insane. senior executives sitting around.
I was really excited to be hired at Visalus as when I interviewed they told me how great the company was and that it had a great one-of-a kind culture. I was very disappointed within 3 months when I realized that I had no support to be successful in my job and that the demands placed on me and others were more than unreasonable.No budget, no support, – more... no direction and doing the job of 3 people- like many there. I felt overall that the employees were treated very badly while working very hard pulling 12-14 hour days and weekends. The whole company lives and dies by the sales numbers day to day. Many employees have quit and moved on and this trend continues today. If you are up for the challenge of a high stress & pressure job with little recognition and pay in exchange for some quick and dirty experience- this is the place for you. Love the previous comments from HR. My advice- Talk to a current employee to learn more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job
Training Specialist (Current Employee), Troy, MIMarch 27, 2013
Pros: real team environment, free product, seeing results on the effort you give
Cons: none really
I worked for one of the most respected tech companies for almost 8 years and experiences the dangled-carrot development strategy. My work here allows me all the freedoms that I was denied at my previous job. I finally feel that I am on a career path vs a "job." I feel like people care about my welfare and want to see me succeed.

Don't get me wrong...its – more... not a cush job and there is work to do; but I enjoy it. My team is funny and we work hard to change the norm and definition of what a "corporate job" is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Leadership Role (Current Employee), Troy MIMarch 25, 2013
Pros: open collaborative working environment, passionate team who cares, opportunities for growth
Cons: none that i can think of
I've had an amazing career at ViSalus so far. Lots of opportunity to learn and grow. We have experienced massive growth and I have been emplowered to manage projects and take ownership in my position. I have an amazing manager who truly values my input. Best of all, I have an outstanding team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work!
Manager (Current Employee), TroyMarch 25, 2013
Pros: brand new facility with gym, supportive coworkers, great benefits
Cons: fast paced environment which isn't for everyone!
ViSalus Corporate is the first company I have worked for that supports professional growth, promotes from within and provides a state of the art facility to work in. The environment is fast paced, and the expectations are high, but for anyone that wants to move forward in their professional career and be recognized for their hard work....this is the – more... place to be! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful balance between work life and home life!
HR (Current Employee), Troy, MIMarch 25, 2013
Pros: love working out at our onsite gym!
ViSalus is the best company I have ever worked for. The benefits of working in a healthy environment are fantastic. I love our core values and what the company stands for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture- We Are Building Something!
HR (Current Employee), Troy, MIMarch 25, 2013
Pros: gym, positive environment, culture
Cons: still working out the kinks in promotions
It's amazing to walk into our beautiful headquarters everyday and realize this is where I work! We have grown very quickly and changed a lot, and it has taken every bit of talent to get us here. Anyone could feel the positive energy in this place! Our management team works hard to identify weaknesses and create fixes. A typical day can't be explained – more... because we move so fast, you better be ready for anything! My co-workers are always ready to jump in and help me with projects and we can be goofy and silly, or serious and business-ready at a moment's notice. – less

About ViSalus

ViSalus is the company behind the Body by Vi™ 90-Day Challenge, the #1 weight-loss and fitness Challenge platform in North – Read more

ViSalus Photos