ViSalus Employee Reviews

Showing all 46 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe clean and modern office environment, fair benefits
Support Team Agent (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIMarch 4, 2015
this is a great job for young folks living at home with parents/ college students. there is no job security as twice within the one year that I was employed here, they conducted what is commonly known office wide as 'the purge'. dozens of employees are let go without warning. immediately new employees are hired for same jobs for less pay. however, it is a great place for a young person to start out and learn the politics, culture and sales and service techniques required in today's competitive sales offices.
Pros
benefits
Cons
micromanaging, poor work/life balance, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi Level Marketing is not for everyone
Promoter/Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 7, 2016
This company has a Fantastic protein powder for weight loss!!! I lost over 100 pounds using it and I still go back and use it, when I need to.
Pros
It is easy to sell a Great Product!
Cons
It is Hard to sell multi level marketing that is so expensive!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company that help millions
Promoter (Current Employee) –  EverywhereJuly 18, 2016
The people at Visalus do what they say they are going to do and help in any way the can to help people reach their fitness goals!
Pros
Get healthy and help others as well.
Cons
Have to build clientele to make my net in the business!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Account Maintenance, telemarketer (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIApril 4, 2016
Company was good paying at first but then after a certain period of time over 100 people were laid off and the new people were paid a lot less.
Pros
Good pay, friendly coworkers
Cons
company changes and lower pay not worth working for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Regional Sales Director/At Home Business (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 9, 2016
This company will teach you how to become more of a people person and learn customer retention. It will help you live a healthier lifestyle as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place to work if you want to have a life outside of work which most humans do.
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Los AngelesJuly 11, 2013
ViSalus is the kind of place where you walk in to a high-stress environment where everything seems to be a priority. Not only are managers harassing their team during weeknights, but weekends, and even on vacation days. This is a place where you have to prioritize your job over your relationships, family, and friends.

The only positive thing I can say is that if you work for a sort-of -decent manager, you may be able to get a raise or promotion fairly quickly. So if you want to sacrifice everything else in your life and make a bit more money and have a nice promotion on your resume, this could be the place for you.

To top it all off, management has no clue how to handle situations and every decision is made on the fly. You would think with a product that is suppose to help you be healthier, decisions on controversies, product issues, etc. would be handled more seriously.

I do not recommend working for this company and leaving has been the best career decision I have made so far.
Was this review helpful?Yes33No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweatshop-Beware
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Los AngelesMarch 15, 2013
I worked at one of the corporate offices not as a promoter. The working class are expected to work 24/7- total sweatshop. Benefits were sub par. No strategic direction on where the company is going other than promotional- Saving the obese in America. No internal advancement with management trying to figure it out as they go along. Most not qualified with no real experience. Chaos, political divides, private agendas, nepotism, negative reinforcement. Unbelievable- really.
Pros
shakes taste good
Cons
many leaving becuase of employee treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work!
Manager (Current Employee) –  TroyMarch 25, 2013
ViSalus Corporate is the first company I have worked for that supports professional growth, promotes from within and provides a state of the art facility to work in. The environment is fast paced, and the expectations are high, but for anyone that wants to move forward in their professional career and be recognized for their hard work....this is the place to be!
Pros
brand new facility with gym, supportive coworkers, great benefits
Cons
fast paced environment which isn't for everyone!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoting the weight loss product
Health Promoter (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIJanuary 20, 2016
Hardest part of job is getting people to purchase the products. Most enjoyable is being active and seeing people lose weight and being successful because you told them to be living a healthier lifestyle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Net Developer (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIJanuary 11, 2016
Worked with a team of 8.
worked in an Agile Environment. Have daily meetings and planning meeting once in a week. Worked in a friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct Sales Position
Direct Sales & Promotion (Current Employee) –  Gibsonville, NCSeptember 17, 2012
I really like being a part of this comapny! However this is Direct Sales and there are no gauranteed benefits at this time for me. I am looking to find a full time job and focus on this on my on time. I am not leaving ViSalus bc I love making differences in other peoples lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture- We Are Building Something!
HR (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIMarch 25, 2013
It's amazing to walk into our beautiful headquarters everyday and realize this is where I work! We have grown very quickly and changed a lot, and it has taken every bit of talent to get us here. Anyone could feel the positive energy in this place! Our management team works hard to identify weaknesses and create fixes. A typical day can't be explained because we move so fast, you better be ready for anything! My co-workers are always ready to jump in and help me with projects and we can be goofy and silly, or serious and business-ready at a moment's notice.
Pros
gym, positive environment, culture
Cons
still working out the kinks in promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes2No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful balance between work life and home life!
HR (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIMarch 25, 2013
ViSalus is the best company I have ever worked for. The benefits of working in a healthy environment are fantastic. I love our core values and what the company stands for.
Pros
love working out at our onsite gym!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excited and Motivating
Marketing and Sales (Current Employee) –  DetriotOctober 29, 2015
I enjoy what we do. All the personal development and understanding the value of your future with the company and why your doing what you do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun spirited and great tastin product!
Director (Current Employee) –  Chesaning MIOctober 27, 2013
Your salary is all in what you make it. If you put the work in, you can become a millionaire.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No36Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job
Training Specialist (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIMarch 27, 2013
I worked for one of the most respected tech companies for almost 8 years and experiences the dangled-carrot development strategy. My work here allows me all the freedoms that I was denied at my previous job. I finally feel that I am on a career path vs a "job." I feel like people care about my welfare and want to see me succeed.

Don't get me wrong...its not a cush job and there is work to do; but I enjoy it. My team is funny and we work hard to change the norm and definition of what a "corporate job" is.
Pros
real team environment, free product, seeing results on the effort you give
Cons
none really
Was this review helpful?Yes3No27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Influential and Education
Regional Director of Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  CAMarch 13, 2015
Working for ViSalus was my personal start to my Fitness Career. The team I worked with was unstoppable. The mentorship that was created with each new team member was there to lead them to success. The company needs to have a better structure for pay and not just commissioned base. If you deliver results consistanly you will be paid well. For those trying to feed there family and starting out, they will have lots of work to do. The product is a meal replacement: Soy supplement. Soy is hand-in-hand with estrogen. If you ask me, Soy should not be in any weight loss product. If you consume too much, it will have adverse effects.
Pros
education
Cons
only commissioned based.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're not 'Hip" stay away
Phone agent (Former Employee) –  Troy MINovember 22, 2013
I worked there for approximately a year and a half. I dedicated much time doing side projects for them, hoping to advance. I did progress slightly on the "corporate ladder", but not nearly as much as I deserved. I trained new agents on the phone, only later to find out I was training new supervisors. The supervisory staff was paid a relatively comfortable salary to sit around and do nothing. They sat in the huddle rooms talking about their fantasy basketball teams rather than tend to the agents. 9/10 times when a newer agent needed a supervisor, they were not able to be found. Not to mention all the "inter-office relations" that was taking place. It took me back to my high school days to be honest. The lack of professionalism and maturity was quite disturbing. Many other people who reviewed this company already said it, but if you weren't family or friends with management, in with the right click, or Chaldean, you went nowhere. The amount of nepotism in the management is disgusting. To make things worse, they had a company-wide lay off for "restructuring" and they let go all the supervisors who actually did their job! I'm not sure what they were getting at with that one... I will say however, that they had a beautiful office, and some of the perks were great. PTO, Floating Holidays, gym in the office... And they did try to reward you with retention saves and up-sells. That was great, but there was unfairness in that even... This company has plateaued though and is not going to make anymore money. Long and short of it is, they'll pay you for your hard work in making the company  more... money by selling or saving, you just have to be able to tolerate not going anywhere in the company if you're not "in".  less
Pros
gym at the office, what the work culture was supposed to stand for
Cons
nepotism in the workplace, lazy management
Was this review helpful?Yes45No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with gym.
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIMarch 17, 2015
This is a good place to work at for entry level. You learn good sales techniques and have a chance to make a difference in people's lives. Managment could improve and advancement can be tough due declining sales of business. Overall it was a great experience working here.
Pros
gym, coworkers, environment
Cons
management, declining sales
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work from Home
Regional Director, Orlando (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 18, 2015
Lead, build, and manage a sales force. Training independent agents to recruit, train, and promote direct selling
products.Solicit and present weight loss program to potential clients.

The culture of Visalus is "Life, Health, and Prosperity"; it lives up to this standard. It was rewarding to be able to help people to change their health and to improve their quality of life. Environment was fun and very exciting.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
Hardly any downtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7