Virgin Mobile Employee Reviews

Found 66 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a relaxed work environment
Client Care Representative (Former Employee) –  720 King St, Toronto, ON5 November 2016
Nice call centre environment. Working here is more laid back and business attire is casual. Fun group of people to work with. Was there was a short time and it was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, engaging, and well paying job. Absolutely perfect for a student.
Sales representative (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON4 November 2016
A typical work day includes a multitude of tasks and jobs. Customer interactions, product sales (which focuses heavy on up-selling products) organizing, accepting shipment of product, learning about new products are just some of the things that keep you busy throughout the day with Virgin Mobile.

I have great great experiences with this company. Direct managing staff does a great job at; Bringing coworkers together, possess fantastic communication with employees, seeing eye to eye with employees.

At times foot traffic can be VERY slow, sales can be very scarce at times. However they're many times that the tables are turned. Traffic is very heavy and sales to follow. Those are the times this job shines.

Upper management could be better at seeing eye-to-eye with employees, however they are fantastic at assisting job growth. Virgin Mobile can be a door to very prosperous positions in marketing, buisness, or management. If you let it.
Pros
Fun, involving, social, great direct management.
Cons
Sales targets can be stressful at times, pay stability WILL fluctuate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Corporate Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 September 2016
Great place to work. Fun and outgoing company, always putting customers first. Offers great sales incentives. Benefits and pension plan are fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and energetic work place
Sales Associate, Edmonton (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 September 2016
The management was never around and the staff had to take control on their own. The company was great as there were many rewards and recognition's.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun
Sales Associate - Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 June 2016
Working in a retail environment can either be terrifying or amazing based on your personality. I'm pretty comfortable working in such settings and had no problem communicating with a passerby and just striking up a conversation. Being that the retail store was in a mall, there was always something going on to keep you busy.
Pros
Face-to-face interactions
Cons
Slow days
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced team oriented sales environment, great for skill development!
Service Expert (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 May 2016
Virgin Mobile is a great place to develop a number of skills including:
sales; customer service; management; conflict resolution; multitasking; and communication skills.

Although there is room for career advancement through Virgin and Bell, there are few available positions at any one time in the Ottawa area. As a result of the fact that the majority of employees within Virgin and Bell have intentions to grow within the company, these positions are usually filled by long term employees of five or more years. This can make it difficult to advance.

A great feature of this company is the eligibility for medical benefits. All employees (after the first three months) are eligible for medical, dental, and vision benefits.
Pros
commission, benefits
Cons
no room for growth, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, one of the better phone companies
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Billings Bridge, ON24 May 2016
Virgin Mobile is one of the better phone companies, so it was nice being able to feel good about what you're selling to people. Minimum wage, yearly raises, good commission. Relaxed, easy-going job. Good benefits, very flexible hours, minimum 20 hours per week.
Pros
Free phone service
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great brand/company
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 May 2016
Easy going job once one gets used to talking in public with customers and selling them on solutions for their wireless needs.
Pros
Casual dress and intersting work t-shirts
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright.
Store manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 April 2016
My boss was great though. Although i didnt do well. This job wasnt right for me. Because i dont like pushing people to buy things. Or somewhat telling them lies, when there is cheaper places to get services,; so i can make my cotah.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with great team work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 April 2016
very fun place to work customer service are great ! good pay and great hours! i always work with another person or as team which is good, can take break any time. i learned a lot about phones and plans and how to help customers
Pros
discount phones
Cons
shift problems
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales consultant (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON24 March 2016
always had to meet the targets given and we did we got great feedback and awesome benefits.

I learned a lot about cellphones and the communication industry. The management was great, very helpful and available for support and help all the time. My co-workers were competitive which always brought life to the work place and guaranteed constant desire for more success.

The hardest part of the job was gaining the customer's trust so they can listen to my opinion and my advise on what product fits their needs. The best part was when the best fit was found and the customer left excited and happy with their purchase.
Pros
Great phone plans and benefits
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service Experience
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 February 2016
One of the best customer service experiences I have attained. Working with a small-knit team and helping customers with various questions, including software, service plans, etc., was a great learning opportunity.

The most enjoyable part of working at Virgin was that I was able to interact with people daily and solve their problems. I really enjoyed helping people and knowing that I was able to make their day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as great by the end
Retail Support/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 December 2015
I enjoyed working there until Bell Canada took over, after that all the benefits of being a Virgin employee seemed to be null and void.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun
Bilingual Retention Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 December 2015
Assisting unsatisfied customers with their problems, problem solving job. I learned handing difficult situations without stressing.
Nice environment with helpful management and great coworkers and hard working people ready to reach target as team
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON3 December 2015
Was a fun place to work, learnt alot. Had a great manager who was willing to teach. The numbers weren't a huge impact on the job but deffinetly a bit of a push to hit your goal and store goals. The team we had was fantastic, we worked well together and helped each other out. It was a competition all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most soul crushing experience you will ever have.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 November 2015
Most likely one of the least fulfilling jobs out there. Very little room for advancement and the pay is not commiserate with the amount of work that you are required to do. The only good thing are the discount on the phone plan and the benefits.
Pros
good discount, benefits even for part timers, paid vacation
Cons
very boring work, customers are generally not that well educated, too much downtime, standing for 8 hour shifts, mall hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and competitive sales workplace
Store Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Marlborough Mall, AB9 November 2015
Very competitive sales workplace, the harder you work the more you earn.
Learned how to effectively close sales and gave me valuable sales experience.
A great team of hard working co workers makes for a more competitive environment because everyone is driving for sales.
Most enjoyable part of the job was definitely the interpersonal relationships created with co workers, customers, and company executives.
Pros
Awesome work environment, great opportunity for sales experience
Cons
Angry customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but Fun
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Oshawa5 October 2015
Virgin Mobile had great managing staff, gives good incentives, always a contest going on. Laid back and praised well for succeeding. Good challenge, get to make money and deal with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but enjoyable work environment
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 September 2015
Main objective is to help members find their phone needs.
I've learned some better sales tactics/pitches
Management changes pretty frequently but it teaches you how to work with different types of management.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with customer complications and making sure the customer is always satisfied.
Enjoy working with a team and being able to have individuality and freely be able to be yourself while still working in a professional environment
Pros
Learning new information daily
Cons
Amount of hours constantly change
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2015
The company as a whole is good but they take advantage of their employees in that they preach work life balance but do not support it.
Pros
Benifits, perks
Cons
Money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 167 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9