Victorian Order of Nurses Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 43 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easiest job I ever had
Human Resources Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 28, 2016
overall this was the easiest job ever, a lot of data entry duties, very repetitive but it is so easy that you don't mind. Lunch breaks were long and typically the admin team would go out for lunch every friday.
Also, very great pay, considering that you're not doing loads of work.
HR admin support started at $18/hr to $20+/hr (agency hires make $13 for this position so try to apply directly)
Pros
Great pay, Long lunches, people were helpful
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and calm
Personal Care Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 12, 2016
I loved seeing seniors faces when I arrived every morning. every day was a happy day. The hardest part of my day would be having to send a client to the hospital. management was always happy and easy to report to
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Senior Management Team
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBJanuary 20, 2016
Lack of appropriate financial and senior management support made it difficult to carry out day to day activities and difficult to carry out managerial duties. Very poor communication from Senior management team. In addition, VON has poor compensation and retention strategies.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly rated Place to work
Payroll/Finance Clerk (Former Employee) –  HalifaxAugust 18, 2015
VON is a great place to work but are going through a lot of changes this year. Their have been cut backs and I don't feel I have job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 11, 2015
The hours were very flexible, coworkers are nice, Management could always use improvement,

If you're casual make sure you have some other form of employment.
Pros
Start time for shifts
Cons
Little room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work.
Client Service Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ONJuly 7, 2015
Typical day at work involves answering the phone, constant telephone contact and email interaction with nurses. Management is very helpful to assist with problems with they arise. My co-workers and I work as a team to ensure all client visits and needs are met. The hardest part of the job is rearranging client visits when a nurse calls in sick. The most enjoyable part of my job is, at the end of the day, knowing that I helped to provide excellence in client care.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
CCA (Current Employee) –  Truro, NSJune 9, 2015
First are breakfasts and personal care visits.
Lunches usually are second after
Housekeeping in the afternoon
Suppers
And then evening care visits..
Day goes by fast, usualy busy.
Love being on the move and in clients homes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PSW
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  peterboroughMay 20, 2015
Not a great place to work, management not organized, no place to grow within the company. hours are not guaranteed. The benefits are amazing though
Pros
Benefits are great
Cons
hours are not guranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  LondonApril 23, 2015
Great Place to work. Nice meeting new people and helping with there needs. They are very flexible with working around your own personal needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you have learned
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  London, ONJanuary 29, 2015
I have learned that the most important thing is to treat each client

equally. No matter which part of town a client lived in, they are

entitled to equivalent care.

Our goal is to help people remain in their homes, and we do that

by promoting independence. This can be achieved with any client

anywhere.
Pros
flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Assistant
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONJanuary 23, 2015
-submit payroll for Admin/Managers bi weekly
-review resumes, screen candidates
-submit recruitment ads online and in the Chronicle Journal
-work closely with management and Board of Directors
-book travel for management and service providers
-minute taking for various committees
-certificate OH&S member
-organize in house National Orientation
-submit new hire paper work
-see resume for more detail-
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job had fun my co-workers were great,
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONJanuary 14, 2015
Helping people up to 8 clients a day, i learned to have compassion , understanding for all the clients i worked with. I think the hardest part of my job was all the hrs i worked as i would work most holidays i worked split shift 5 x a week am and pm visits for most clients in the community. The most enjoyable part was Helping people seeing them get well in home and making them smile when they were having a bad day or having pain and just being there for them when family cant.
Cons
working 2 weeks on with only 1 day off till my next weekend off .
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONNovember 6, 2014
My position here was short and over 15 years ago so I have little comment.
I recall answering phones, filing and co-ordinating the nurses that went out to serve in residents around our county.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding
Continuing Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  County of East HantsOctober 22, 2014
I enjoyed working on my own, taking care of people who needed help with their activities of daily living it was very rewarding and being able to spend time with elderly people and give them some company. My co-workers were awesome and my manager was helpful and caring.
Pros
working on own.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast Paced enviroment
Admin Support (Former Employee) –  Truro, NSOctober 6, 2014
A typical day in the office would include answering phone calls, Making appointments for the the different clinic's we offer. calling and reminding clients of the upcoming appointments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promises made on hire did not come to fruition
Enhanced Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  London, ONAugust 25, 2014
This program promised part and full time opportunities, However, a year later and all PSWs are still casual with no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn lots
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  London, ONApril 22, 2014
Learned lots of new things through training and using my experience on patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Accountant (temporary assignment) (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONJanuary 22, 2014
Fast past work environment and supervisor is quite supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
visiting nursing at this company has its pros and cons, flexible working hours and employee support ranks high.
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  trenton onJanuary 6, 2014
Full time staff get the hours required filled, and the part time staff get any visits left over resulting in work cancellations. this is normal across nursing agencies where there are no guaranteed hours. however, VON does their best to accommodate employees.
Pros
flexibled work hours
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negatives weigh out the positives.
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ONJanuary 5, 2014
Some positives about the company include: Flexibility with hours, Only required to work every third weekend, Building relationships with clients.

Negatives: Poor salary, Always having to scramble for hours, Scheduling, No room for advancement, Negative environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5

Victorian Order of Nurses Reviews by Location