Via Rail Canada Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Marketing Research Specialist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 November 2016
• Market research. Customer expectations’ statistical analysis and reports
survey management
markeking policy management
interesting job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team effort and big family !
Senior Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 November 2015
Working on a passenger train may not be for everyone, but I absolutely loved it, although it was sometimes hard to be away from family/friends up to a week at a time. I've overcome a big fear of mine, and that is to be in charge of someone's safety. I have learnt many responsibilities and duties to ensure my passengers' safety and well-being while being on the train. The hardest part about this job was that it was 17 hours long, and no matter what mood you were in, you had to stay positive and put a smile on your face. I've learnt that not everyone can be pleased, not matter how much effort you put in. The most enjoyable part of this job was seeing the country from the west-coast, to the east-coast, and spending layovers with co-workers that were like family.
Pros
Free travelling across country
Cons
Away from home long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience in learning the world of the rail way
Telephone Sales Agent and Customer Relations Agent (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB11 May 2015
explain and sell our product
make reservations in small and large scales
give arrivals and departures information
handle complaints or difficult situations
process ticket exchanges and refunds
Pros
speaking to different people on a daily basis
Cons
sitting all day long
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job, but have no chance to work with the recent cut backs.
Senior Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB23 March 2014
I serve on the Ocean between Moncton and Halifax, I have an 18 + hour shift that includes serving customers from the in the dinning car, suggesting wine or beer pairings, helping passengers with their luggage, sleeping and seating arrangements. I patrol the train at night while the crew sleeps then report back to the dinning room for breakfast service.
Pros
Meeting people visiting from around the world, and making sure that they have a great experience in Canada.
Cons
Cut backs and not much chance of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding customer service job with fantastic travel opportunities.
Senior Service Attendant On-Train Services (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 May 2013
A mentally challenging job with 18 hour work days, and very specific transport Canada guidelines to adhere to, however very rewarding direct impact on guest experiences. Perfect opportunity to travel the country and learn a very strong sense of independence and responsibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Service Attendant
Senior Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC18 January 2013
Customer service & housekeeper...

I quit because I had motion sickness in the train...
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Via Rail!!
Assistant Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg,Manitoba2 December 2012
A typical day at Via Rail would have to be expect the unexpected. All of our clients are very different and possess different needs. I've learned to be patient and calm in any situation. Always do what is expected from our peers. The employees at Via Rail are very professional and courteous to all clients and employees. The most difficult thing about the job is leaving my wife and children for an extended amount of days. Also, the hard part is putting in nearly 20 hour days. It is so rewarding to see the smile on our clients faces. It's at that time you know you've exceeded their expectations....
Pros
traveling, meeting people from all corners of the world, days off
Cons
being away from family/functions ie: birthdays christmas etc...
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working fast paced environment
On-train Cook (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 November 2012
good work environement,able to work with many different people, and travelling is a plus.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unionized Environment skill
Inventory Manager, East (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 September 2012
Meeting of unionized & non-unioniuzed teams & adapting skillset
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travaille propre et sécuritaire
technicien de voiture ferroviere (Current Employee) –  montréal23 August 2016
une journée de travaille n'est pas routinier,comme je travailler sur les inspections de voitures passager RENAISSANCE,les réparations differe selon les bris et le travaille est effectué selon les procédures de travaille.Une journée de travaille peut consister a réparé le systeme de frein ou bien détruquer une voiture pour changer les air-bag qui fuit,ou bien changer un cupler ,ect .Je travaille fréquemment en équipe avec les apprentits qui aprennent le métier de technicien de voiture ferroviere
Pros
travaille en équipe
Cons
environnement bruillent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail dynamique et diversité culturelle
Project Coordinator Officer (Former Employee) –  Montreal10 February 2016
diversité culturelle
esprit d'équipe
activités de socialisation
ouverture d'esprit de la communauté
environnement de travail sécuritaire
bons avantages sociaux
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail efficient
Chauffeur de camions 15 tonnes à plateforme (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 January 2016
Bonne carrières avec de bons collèges
Début du quart de travail par un planning , un plan d'exécution ,L'exécution de travail et un débriefing a la fin.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employé à titre contractuel
Rédacteur technique et ressource Lean (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 April 2015
Il est pratiquement impossible de passer du statut de contractuel à celui d'employé permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
4.0

Via Rail Canada Reviews by Location