Vestas Employee Reviews

Showing all 98 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COApril 4, 2016
The management showed a great deal of understanding and care for it's employees. Vestas has built a fantastic team to work with and unbeatable benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company with no job advancement
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 26, 2016
They suckered me in with their excellent benefits, but that only goes so far. the job turnover is so high that after 6 months, now i am the person training new recruits with no compensation. they continually run out of materials for the job, and give you no idea on when they will return to complete your work as instructed. we constantly run out of PPE for the job, even though there are several poeple walking the factory floor reminding you to wear your PPE. I've seen three supervisors, and two team leads either fired or step down from their position since I've been there. You will spend a week of training being told about safety hazards, and then thrown into the mix on the floor with absolutely no job training. The shift differential is great for your paycheck, but switching 12 hour shifts from day to night, in the 2-3 days you have off, is ridiculous. People are constantly being brought in from around the world to "standardize" the work, but when they come in, a process that takes 20-30 min to complete, will take over an hour. As soon as they leave, everything goes bake to the way it was to make up for the production quota. Production is first, safety is second, and quality is drug through the mud. On multiple occasions, I have seen scrapped blades chained up to a truck and dragged through the yard. If you take any kind of pride in the work you put out, find somewhere else to work.
Pros
Free work boots
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes36No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management, Track you at all times
previous Employee (Former Employee) –  ScotlandNovember 8, 2015
If your face fits and you have friends in high places your work life will be better, if not expect to work more hours to pick up their slack. no work life balance as they do not care about your family time. expect to work 14 hour days. Safety goes out the window when they need you to do something. Wind Farm contracts are too short so no job security. Always penny pinching and monitoring your movements from when you start until you finish. cross check all your times against the tracker. Keep adding more work onto your already busy day/week. micro management,
Pros
None
Cons
Monitoring your movements from start to finish, micro management, cross checking times, more and more work load put onto the technician
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Flow (Current Employee) –  Brighton, COAugust 17, 2015
12 hour shifts with many departments. Always moving around and you can not be afraid to get dirty.
Strong communication with all departments and able to assist as needed.
There is a large amount of politics with an ever changing product and company.
The hardest part of the job is the rotating shifts with a family life.
The company prides its self on Quality, Production and being clean.
Pros
Benefits, alternative energy product, competitive wages, purchased uniforms and protection.
Cons
Not enough breaks, long shifts constant changing management.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and nice canteen.
PRODUCTION AND MANUFACTURING ASSOCIATE - WEBMASTER (Current Employee) –  Brighton, COOctober 14, 2015
Great pay and nice benefits always have work and schedule is great. They also have a nice canteen locker rooms for indicated things and they provide everything. Things they provide are clothing shoes lockers and bonuses every year.
Pros
always bussy, and they provide u with erverything like clothing to shoes.
Cons
manegment isent the best but they try. and nights are really hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job if you don't mind living on the road
Resource Tech 2 (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 31, 2015
New management was struggling to adjust but making vast improvements. Too much emphasis on non essential job functions, excellent training, but typical double standards, it's all who you know not what you know.
Pros
good pay, great benifits, pride in job well done, long hours, big pay check
Cons
long hours, lack of communication, high expectations with little follow through
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers to work with poor management
Floor Tech (Current Employee) –  Brighton CO.August 17, 2015
Vestas has great employees but poor management. The firing rate and hiring rate is unbelievable. Demanding too much on production. Swing shifts so life style was always unbalanced. 2 weeks days 2 weeks nights 12 hr shifts. Aside from the cons the pay-wage and benefits was great and there are a lot of knowledgeable and great employees who work there from various places around the world (Denmark,Spain,UK).
Pros
Paywage/Benefits
Cons
Poor management/High firing rate/Unstable/Unbalanced Lifestyle
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to sell your soul
Production worker/ Finish (Former Employee) –  Windsor, COJune 1, 2015
Prepared to be on mandatory overtime until the cows come home! If you enjoy being treated like a moron, having your benefits cut, and never being eligible for a raise Vestas is the place for you! Safety is practically non existent, and management doesn't want to hear suggestions for improving the work environment. Pay is mediocre at best and as of last year Vestas no longer pays for employee health insurance, but who cares about your families health?! Vestas is gonna work you 6 days a week anyway, so you won't have time to go visit the doctor there's production to be made boy! Do yourself a favor, try and find an oilfield job, you'll get treated just as bad, work just as much, but you'll make a ton more money for what you put up with.
Pros
It'll pay your bills
Cons
Literally everything... No joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes59No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and un predictable work place also fun and exciting
production support worker (Former Employee) –  windsor coloradoSeptember 21, 2015
i really enjoyed this job i learned alot while i was there i wish i could have stayed but i moved an hour south and the drive was just to far
Pros
easy schedule to deal with and nice supportive people to work with
Cons
no health benefits until after 6 to 18 months of training
Was this review helpful?Yes4No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intersting company to work for.
SAP Inventory Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 14, 2015
I really enjoyed working for Vestas. The people I interacted with daily were a wonderful group of people. Training was provided with each position I held and coworkers taught any aspect of the systems you wanted to learn adding to the advancement process. I held several positions in the company and enjoyed each one. I would return to this company in a heart beat.

Sadly I was released from the company for personnel reductions.
Pros
Work life was very good. People were fun to work with. Company programs to join in on.
Cons
I did not like their laid off proceedures. It made you feel like a criminal.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay and benefits are good.
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Windsor,COJuly 25, 2015
Management do not hold people accountable for their actions, poor work performance and ethic. Associates are expected to just pick up slack. pay and benefits are good though.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Resource Technician (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 5, 2015
100% travel with little time for family. Great benefits when you have the time to use them. Good pay, job makes you save because you you never have time to spend it.
Pros
Lots of money
Cons
No family time
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Managers
Field Manager (Current Employee) –  TXFebruary 11, 2016
Safety has taken a huge back seat with Vestas. Ego is the name of the game for PDX. PDX Management supports and encourages an Unsafe, Hostile and Harassing work atmosphere. Bad Company!!!
Pros
Good field people.
Cons
PDX Management
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided great skill training and benefits
Man Power (Current Employee) –  Windsor, COSeptember 9, 2015
Daily task include building of turbine blades, from prepping blade moulds to build on, completing builds of the blades, cleaning and repairing of any defects the blade might of obtained during the build process.

I learned Vestas is a fast paced production environment where the same jobs are done around the clock. Building wind turbine blades requires a high skill level to ensure quality and tact time for blade orders.

Management was hired from within the company so they all at one time worked the same jobs on the floor that the operators do. They have years of knowledge and experience than can provide to anyone person.

Co-workers are great, its a fast paced highly competitive atmosphere that provides a challenge and friendly competition.

The hardest part would be keeping the continuous pace and production quota when material becomes short and the hours and days become long.

The most enjoyable part is providing a service to the world that helps people across the world receive clean inexpensive green energy.
Pros
yearly bonuses
Cons
Mandatory overtime and minimal PTO and sick days allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes14No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vestas
Jr Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Windsor, COApril 28, 2016
Really enjoyed the job.
Maintained, Refilled, repaired all machines in factory
Performed preventative maintenance
Lack of Management Supervision Leadership Very unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate giant
wind technician (Former Employee) –  Lynn, INDecember 19, 2015
Megawatts before people, should be the motto. Great training, good people, poor management, horrible safety, lowest pay in their field. During training they tell you that they train everyone else's techs because they leave.
Pros
No one over your shoulder
Cons
Glass ceiling
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work flow
Team Member in Gear Box and Fiber (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COMay 27, 2016
Good place to work, Always work to be done. With a great group of people to work with. Options to grow. enjoyed my time there before I moved to Maine.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better paying companys
Wind Turbine Technician (Current Employee) –  KSSeptember 20, 2014
Job is great love the work management is horrible say one thing do another and treat everyone like a bunch of children and picks favorites pretends to be your best friend then will throw you under the bus for one little thing. They cut benefits to save money starting pay stinks the tell you can advance quickly which is a lie its really hard to get a raise and dont get paid nearly enough for the dangerous work that is being preformed would think realy hard before applying.
Pros
the work is fun
Cons
management, pay, sketchy office, horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes43No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and busy
Maintenance mechanic (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COFebruary 25, 2016
My days were usually busy I worked on all the automated systems and robotics. We would 12 hr shifts 3 days on 3 days off. They were a good company and treated their employees well.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great bennies, everything else sucks!!!!!
floating foreman (Current Employee) –  pueblo towersMarch 6, 2014
i have worked at vestas for a year already and have no drive anymore, it has changed up on me 3 diferent times, tryed to show them what im worth and all i hear from them are excusses why i dont get the raise. so now i go into work put in my 12 hours and go home.i no longer come in on my days off to help out, if they dont give me any incentive to come in the wth should I? these guys expect it from you to do that once they see it.
good luck with getting a raise there, unless you like camping out under the team leads desk. bottom line is im looking for a better job, the bennifits are the best anyone will have in there life at vestas but that is it!
Pros
bennies are great for you and the family!
Cons
managment sucks!
Was this review helpful?Yes56No12

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 98 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture