Vestas

90 reviews

Vestas Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A long way to go without leaders..
Manager (Former Employee), Wind FarmFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: independent work, benefits, many hard working technicians
Cons: lack of shared inspiring vision, lack of focus on employee development and career growth
Stability: Job stability at Vestas is like the wind itself - it can't be relied upon consistently. Each of the past 3 years has brought with it job uncertainty through major reorganizations. Service technician jobs are generally stable but are greatly dependent upon the status of the service contract at your site. If your 5-year contract is under negotiation for renewal, be prepared to find alternative employment, as 3rd party service providers are significantly undercutting Vestas service contracts. Be sure to inquire about this during an interview and have a long term career plan that doesn’t rely upon a service contract renewal. Travelling technician jobs and/or manufacturing technician jobs (located in Denver) are also uncertain and hinge upon wind farm development plans which are in turn affected by government subsidies and Congressional politics. Management positions should be avoided (e.g., manager positions are leaving in droves, voluntarily and involuntarily, including positions in finance/accounting, HR, safety, technology, service, etc.). For an organization that rates its field managers on technician retention, it does little in the way of retaining or inspiring its own managers. Vestas is actively eliminating salaried wind site manager positions in favor of hourly site supervisor positions. Avoid management roles.

Culture: Ask employees what the company’s core values are and how they live them daily and you will receive blank stares and a variety of answers. There is no evidence that the company has values that enter into everyday conversations and actions.

Benefits: – more... Job benefits are good. Employees will be required to pay into healthcare benefits beginning for the first time in 2014 : Medical, Dental, Vision, 401K with matching, 4 weeks vacation (accrued), 5 paid sick days, 11 paid holidays, uniforms (you wash).

Bonus: Merit increases were cancelled in 2012 and <2% in 2013. An elaborate results-based “self-funding” bonus plan in the America’s was rolled out in 2013. However, it was recently announced that there would be no payout whatsoever regardless of performance against the metrics.

Hours: Be prepared for a very erratic work schedule depending upon seasonality, weather, corporate equipment/parts/tools availability issues that linger unaddressed, down turbines, and “emergency” projects. Ask about major site issues during you interview, as these may affect your work hours. You will likely have ample opportunities for overtime. Ask about weekend and on-call policies. Nearly all locations have invoked mandatory overtime at one time or another, sometime working very high overtime for extended periods (months). Some sites have a 24-hour response requirement. Know your service contract.

Safety: The company has come a long way implementing OSHA mandatory safety programs that were once non-existent in practice (e.g. confined space, LOTO, etc.). Injury rates are improving. Serious incident investigations, however, lack effective resolution and sharing (e.g. ongoing arc flash issues, turbine fires across many models – do an internet search). Safety execution and implementation, even for OSHA critical safety programs, differs from site to site, lagging at some. Basic safety rule compliance also varies from location to location. A lack of ownership of work procedures (e.g. infrequent or non-existent periodic updates, obsolete tasks, multiple versions, inconsistencies amongst procedures, lack of employee input, failure to timely incorporate new information) plagues the work instructions system.

Advancement: Be Danish or visit/live in Portland a lot (e.g. regional and other high level managers are nearly all spinoffs from Portland HQ). Do not expect meaningful performance or career development discussions. Expect the unexpected. Service technician advancement is made unequal by a tiered pay for knowledge program that is not consistently applied across the organization (e.g. requirements for advancing to the next level vary greatly from location to location. Ask Vestas technicians about this when interviewing).

Senior Management: There is little continuity and high turnover. Few managers stay beyond 5 years in this revolving door. Vestas’ current President in the Americas grabbed the first lifeboat from their former position as COO of the City of Detroit and brings an uninspiring city manager style (Read his vapid interview with the Oregonian newspaper online to get a sense of whether or not you will feel valued as an employee. “We're going to change folks out here because maybe they weren't appropriate for the company's stage in its evolution. But we still need good folks”…Really? Wow…that’s exhilarating). In summary, there’s a lack of inspirational leadership. Abrasive leadership styles exist at the regional level, but there are notable outstanding managers.

Financial Acumen: Competition from other turbine manufacturers and 3rd party service providers is cutting into Vestas’ business. Lack of transparency in financial data makes it difficult to manage internal business decisions, but this is improving. Still, I have not worked for an organization that collectively executed more poorly with regards to managing cost than Vestas. Excessive attention is paid to minor expenses, while huge sums are invested in ventures (e.g. overtime, expedited shipping, etc.) without a matching business justification. Return on Investment (ROI) is an unknown concept in day to day decision making.

Future Business Ventures: Vestas recently sold its cash-strapped offshore business, to Mitsubishi in a joint venture that Mitsubishi will likely buy out. Vestas received no cash for the deal and offloaded employees. As offshore is a key strategic business development area, Vestas is now left with its current core business which has been anything but profitable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided great skill training and benefits
Man Power (Current Employee), Windsor, COSeptember 9, 2015
Pros: yearly bonuses
Cons: Mandatory overtime and minimal PTO and sick days allowed
Daily task include building of turbine blades, from prepping blade moulds to build on, completing builds of the blades, cleaning and repairing of any defects the blade might of obtained during the build process.

I learned Vestas is a fast paced production environment where the same jobs are done around the clock. Building wind turbine blades requires a high skill level to ensure quality and tact time for blade orders.

Management was hired from within the company so they all at one time worked the same jobs on the floor that the operators do. They have years of knowledge and experience than can provide to anyone person.

Co-workers are great, its a fast paced highly competitive atmosphere that provides a challenge and friendly competition.

The hardest part would be keeping the continuous pace and production quota when material becomes short and the hours and days become long.

The most enjoyable part is providing a service to the world that helps people across the world receive clean inexpensive green energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family values for your working family.
production (Former Employee), plantJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: everything else
Vestas plant in Pueblo was not the best job I ever had by far. The management would promise something like a raise after working countless overtime hours then would change their views at the last minute. People on the floor worked in good teams, but management would not work together what so ever. They always had a "competition" going. They change shifts around nearly bi-monthly. When production was in demand the shift was 12hr days on monday, off tuesday wednesday, on thursday and friday, off saturday sunday and monday, than the next week would be reversed. It was a nice shift other than they made us come in on our days off as transportation workers, but welders got the worst end. They would work 14hr days they were scedualed, plus six hours at night when they were scedualed off all mandatory overtime. No raise was given after that. The management didn't seem to have a clue about the processes and safety, though preached, was not a priority until it cost them money. The only good thing about the place is their pay and benefits, but somethings aren't worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot of new skills ,worked as a team with everybody having a role .
Production Worker (Former Employee), Brighton, COMay 6, 2013
Pros: had some of the best training and bennifits.
Cons: it seemed management didn't always know what was going on, a lot of waste, spending
Worked in finnish dept. prepping blades for paint,would get a description from previous shift. A lot of different proceedures to accomplish. My role was transport ,moving 6 ton blades into building,set into work stands then into paint line,was a very demanding job to keep production going,safety,quality,and everything going,but was also very rewarding ,loved it. Vestas is a Dannish company, so alot of differant, people ,ideas and doing things.worked with dannish, german,spaniards,russian people on daily basis.I was on night shift for 3 years ,that was hardest part.Learned a lot of skills,and different ways of thinking and working with all different personality's to accomplish goals.Was layed off in reduction in work force to save and restructure company. I felt very respected & liked by my peers,and management just one of those things the company had to do to stay in bussiness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Site Management bad, Favortism, Safety only applies to a few,
Service Technician II (Former Employee), Carnigie OKDecember 28, 2013
Pros: pay and over time hour are pretty good
Cons: site management, and lack of safety, lack of ability to manage
At this site You may get written up for something and when some one else does the same thing nothing happens, safety is like a joke there, In the office, the safety officer for the site was telling others in the office that if your in our circle of trust, we'll take care of you, and if your not in our circle, then we will get rid of you and find some one that will fit in our circle of trust. The leads will stab you in the back, there has been 2 fires on site this year. Both a total loses. Services get done, but repairs get put on the back burner and may not get done til turbine goes down and will not run til fixed. This site is losing several techs this year and a few other are leaving and transferring due to the way things are going on this site beware.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to sell your soul
Production worker/ Finish (Former Employee), Windsor, COJune 1, 2015
Pros: It'll pay your bills
Cons: Literally everything... No joke.
Prepared to be on mandatory overtime until the cows come home! If you enjoy being treated like a moron, having your benefits cut, and never being eligible for a raise Vestas is the place for you! Safety is practically non existent, and management doesn't want to hear suggestions for improving the work environment. Pay is mediocre at best and as of last year Vestas no longer pays for employee health insurance, but who cares about your families health?! Vestas is gonna work you 6 days a week anyway, so you won't have time to go visit the doctor there's production to be made boy! Do yourself a favor, try and find an oilfield job, you'll get treated just as bad, work just as much, but you'll make a ton more money for what you put up with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management, Track you at all times
previous Employee (Former Employee), ScotlandNovember 8, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Monitoring your movements from start to finish, micro management, cross checking times, more and more work load put onto the technician
If your face fits and you have friends in high places your work life will be better, if not expect to work more hours to pick up their slack. no work life balance as they do not care about your family time. expect to work 14 hour days. Safety goes out the window when they need you to do something. Wind Farm contracts are too short so no job security. Always penny pinching and monitoring your movements from when you start until you finish. cross check all your times against the tracker. Keep adding more work onto your already busy day/week. micro management,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working for tthis company
production line worker (Former Employee), Brighton, COAugust 3, 2012
Pros: great pay &management
Cons: lack of stability
Production line of rear foundation of nacelle and as needed in other areas of the Brighton Plant. Responsible for wiring, prep of blower motor, prep box, multiple plugs, installing of generator cables, prepping of generator, final assemble of generator along with prepping and hooking up generator cables to bus bar, crane operator, final duties of cleaning, painting and making sure all parts are assembled correctly to specific specs and measurements and torque specifications . Inspection of final product. Final stages of rear foundation to be ready for attachment to front end. Fork lift operator, nam operator crane operator
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great bennies, everything else sucks!!!!!
floating foreman (Current Employee), pueblo towersMarch 6, 2014
Pros: bennies are great for you and the family!
Cons: managment sucks!
i have worked at vestas for a year already and have no drive anymore, it has changed up on me 3 diferent times, tryed to show them what im worth and all i hear from them are excusses why i dont get the raise. so now i go into work put in my 12 hours and go home.i no longer come in on my days off to help out, if they dont give me any incentive to come in the wth should I? these guys expect it from you to do that once they see it.
good luck with getting a raise there, unless you like camping out under the team leads desk. bottom line is im looking for a better job, the bennifits are the best anyone will have in there life at vestas but that is it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nightmare... Don't close you're eyes!
Manager (Former Employee), PortlandApril 17, 2014
Pros: healthy insurance
Cons: what wasn't a con, the entire vision statement is
Started out amazing until this reorganization happen. Yes we all knew the tax credit wasn't passing. But the senior management and directors should star in a reality show in how to screw over their team and treat them like they do not have families or heartbeats themselves.

If one decides to work here think long and hard for your own ethics/morals. You will not get help from P&C (their HR department). Legal, well to them I am sure it's another case.

Hat goes off to the last promotion to COO and now global VP service. He is one well deserved man in that company. 1 out of a 1000. Indeed he has his hands full!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good employees to work with
Wind Turbine Technician (Current Employee), Tiskilwa, ILJune 6, 2014
The hours I worked were very resonable with some overtime here and there. Vestas allowed for a good balance between working hours and time away from work. They have good managers and the workers are always friendly and very knowledgable on all matters dealing with turbines. The most enjoyable party of the job was learning how these machines work and the troublshoot a turbine would throw at you from time to time. The hardest part would have to be the main component change outs. Not the change out itself, that is fairly easy.But the fact your 300 ft. in the air with the turbine cover off. Then it can get a bit uneasy up there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intersting company to work for.
SAP Inventory Control Analyst (Former Employee), Portland, OROctober 14, 2015
Pros: Work life was very good. People were fun to work with. Company programs to join in on.
Cons: I did not like their laid off proceedures. It made you feel like a criminal.
I really enjoyed working for Vestas. The people I interacted with daily were a wonderful group of people. Training was provided with each position I held and coworkers taught any aspect of the systems you wanted to learn adding to the advancement process. I held several positions in the company and enjoyed each one. I would return to this company in a heart beat.

Sadly I was released from the company for personnel reductions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good potentials but beset by serious problems
Global Manager - IT Service Center (Former Employee), Makati, P00July 16, 2012
Pros: good camaraderie across departments and even countries
Cons: financial constraints
The people behind the development of the corporate culture had the right thing in mind although the execution is hampered by a number of issues.

People at the lower levels are quite hard-working and are generally pleasant. Generally, there is a strong sense of being part of the company.

Since the company is currently encountering financial difficulties, they have embarked on six layoffs in the past 3 calendar years with serious impact to the employee morale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job with decent benefits
Production Worker shells (Current Employee), Brighton, COJuly 9, 2015
Pros: green energy
Cons: shift change 12 hr days then 12hr nights
typical day at vestas have a meeting talk about safety quality and goals for the day. Gell coat would be first then we would do a lay up consisting of laying mats and cross supports and stringers takes 4 layers to build a blade. Next is a glue up would fly spar to blade for glue up then breakout the blade.we work as a team everybody has a job to do. Hardest part of the job is you got to work 12 hour days and 12 hour nights on a rotating shift. I am part of a green energy company building a brighter future for ourselves and families
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swings n Roundabouts- Money VS Time -Everyone's got a price
BLADE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Newport, Isle of wightMay 19, 2014
Pros: clean energy;) job flexibility, salary, holiday entitlement
Cons: health and safety concerns, job security, landfilled waste
Long days, job specific- Flexible job roles
skill sets- Job rotation, continual learning curve, across different departments.
Friendly management with a positive attitude and outlook, to match the companies ethos.

Co-workers are like anywhere else you've worked.

Hardest part: Time vs Money, Long days, Tight schedules

Most enjoyable: Learning, team building, Co-workers, job satisfaction Lean management of processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experiance
Production (Current Employee), Brighton, COAugust 2, 2012
Pros: free family benefits
Cons: switch day shift and night shift weekly
Typical day at work is a 12 hour shift of consistant process of building a full blade or blades. I've learned houw to di repairs and run different kind of equipment. Our management is very team and safety oriented and is always pushing for our safety. My co-workers make my job fun and easy to do daily. The hardest part of my job I would have to say is switching shifts weekly, but the most enjoyable part of the job is getting the experience to travel to other countries and learn them come back and teach others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better paying companys
Wind Turbine Technician (Current Employee), KSSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: the work is fun
Cons: management, pay, sketchy office, horrible
Job is great love the work management is horrible say one thing do another and treat everyone like a bunch of children and picks favorites pretends to be your best friend then will throw you under the bus for one little thing. They cut benefits to save money starting pay stinks the tell you can advance quickly which is a lie its really hard to get a raise and dont get paid nearly enough for the dangerous work that is being preformed would think realy hard before applying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Flow (Current Employee), Brighton, COAugust 17, 2015
Pros: Benefits, alternative energy product, competitive wages, purchased uniforms and protection.
Cons: Not enough breaks, long shifts constant changing management.
12 hour shifts with many departments. Always moving around and you can not be afraid to get dirty.
Strong communication with all departments and able to assist as needed.
There is a large amount of politics with an ever changing product and company.
The hardest part of the job is the rotating shifts with a family life.
The company prides its self on Quality, Production and being clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vestas
blade production (Former Employee), Brighton, COJuly 30, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits if hired on permanently
Cons: only hire thew temp and mislead people thinking it will be a permanent job, not giving proper training or a chance to learn, i was hired then told i didn't have the skill to do the job, simply mass hire to lay off lots of people, with out giving them a chance.
measuring out fiber glass mesh , and cutting it to size for the production of blades , management was not involved much i met my sup once in the few weeks i worked there , the hardest part of job was getting use to standing 12 hours a day . i enjoyed learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers to work with poor management
Floor Tech (Current Employee), Brighton CO.August 17, 2015
Pros: Paywage/Benefits
Cons: Poor management/High firing rate/Unstable/Unbalanced Lifestyle
Vestas has great employees but poor management. The firing rate and hiring rate is unbelievable. Demanding too much on production. Swing shifts so life style was always unbalanced. 2 weeks days 2 weeks nights 12 hr shifts. Aside from the cons the pay-wage and benefits was great and there are a lot of knowledgeable and great employees who work there from various places around the world (Denmark,Spain,UK).
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Aarhus, Denmark
Industry
    Links
    Vestas website