Vestas Employee Reviews

Showing all 114 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is terrible
Welder (Current Employee) –  Pueblo co6 November 2016
Welder. Been there a long time. Seen too many changes. Team leads change yearly if not more. Always make you do different things. Mandatory overtime is constant, except in January. All upper management is bad, if they could realize they need good employees instead of master welders it would be a lot easier to keep people. Tacking is a hard job but requires little to no welding experience. This place could be awesome but for the last 5 years has been a total joke. Come here if you want a ton of money and no family life. If you are willing to bend over backwards for no benefit to yourself, Vestas Is for you. Unless you hug your team lead around the waist and smile lie a donut, prepare to be treated like sh!+. All in all this place was good as a Danish company before it was amreicanized.
Pros
Make as much $ as you want $50k-150k overtime is constant
Cons
No family life, decreased benefits, mandatory overtime, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweatshop
Process Instructor (Former Employee) –  Brighton, CO4 November 2016
Was a 3 year employee of Vestas, avoid this place if you do not want to be run down to the ground as a human being. Works is fair management is probably the worst of it all. Safety is the biggest priority but all safety is cut off when production has to be met.
Pros
Benefits, Pay
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CO30 November 2016
Great kitchen for made to order breakfast lunch and dinner
Lots of fiber glass
Full body covering saftey suits
Rotating scheduals
Easy work
Not too much lifting
Pros
good benifits
Cons
rotating schedual
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You could train a monkey
Welder (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, CO30 December 2016
I worked at vestas towers facility in Pueblo for 3 years and I can honestly say no amount of money is worth the trouble you'll get working there (my opinion). If you are looking to gain new skills look elsewhere (your a button pusher or a circle maker). I can only speak from working on the production side as a welder but the jobs were so easy you could train a monkey to do them (and I'm not even talking about a NASA monkey either) and yet it seemed production is always behind ... on to management ... now look most have places have a system in place that insures maybe you should have at least a high school reading level or some even marginal people skills to be a team lead but that' the opposite of what you'll find here(very weak form of leadership there). Look I quit after 3 years and I should have quit after 3 days of working there but money wasn't terrible for a small town and everyone working there tries to convince themselves it will get better but I'm here to tell you it won't move on and save yourself the headache.
Pros
Breakfast was decent
Cons
That's a very long list
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is just opening, management is amazing
Sous Chef/Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NY9 January 2017
Very excited about working for Vesta. The hiring manager is very friendly and a amazing place to start a amazing career. I'm not as knowledgeable as the more experienced chef but I'm willing to give 110% to learn.
Pros
Great management
Cons
I don't have alot of experience but willing to learn everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
QSE Specialist Mexico, Central America & Caribbean (Current Employee) –  Latin America8 September 2016
Is big Safety minded organization that has all tools you need to perform your job in a professional manner.
You work on a matrix type organization that lead you to have many stakeholders to hold you accountable, which challenges you to get better and polish your skill set.
Pros
Safety minded culture
Cons
No Carrer advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is tough on your body, but it pays the bills
Blade Builder (Former Employee) –  Brighton, CO2 October 2016
the job is very strict. Quality is top priority. It is also can be quite hazardous. Fiberglass particles are continuously in the air and the vacuums system that removes this dust is working 60% of the time.
I personally where my respirator throughout the 12 hour shift.
supervisors are mostly there to keep you from taking longer on your brakes and know nothing about the actual job. You learn your job from trial and error because no one has been there longer than a year but eventually you will learn it.
Pros
healthcare is very cheap. 20 bucks for the most expensive
Cons
very short breaks. 30 min. for lunch and two 15 min. for breaks in a 12 hour shift
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, CO4 April 2016
The management showed a great deal of understanding and care for it's employees. Vestas has built a fantastic team to work with and unbeatable benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company with no job advancement
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Denver, CO26 January 2016
They suckered me in with their excellent benefits, but that only goes so far. the job turnover is so high that after 6 months, now i am the person training new recruits with no compensation. they continually run out of materials for the job, and give you no idea on when they will return to complete your work as instructed. we constantly run out of PPE for the job, even though there are several poeple walking the factory floor reminding you to wear your PPE. I've seen three supervisors, and two team leads either fired or step down from their position since I've been there. You will spend a week of training being told about safety hazards, and then thrown into the mix on the floor with absolutely no job training. The shift differential is great for your paycheck, but switching 12 hour shifts from day to night, in the 2-3 days you have off, is ridiculous. People are constantly being brought in from around the world to "standardize" the work, but when they come in, a process that takes 20-30 min to complete, will take over an hour. As soon as they leave, everything goes bake to the way it was to make up for the production quota. Production is first, safety is second, and quality is drug through the mud. On multiple occasions, I have seen scrapped blades chained up to a truck and dragged through the yard. If you take any kind of pride in the work you put out, find somewhere else to work.
Pros
Free work boots
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes49No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if not in MED
Manager (Former Employee) –  Madrid13 October 2016
Vestas is a great company to work for unless you have to work in MED region, that is not aligned with the rest of the regions of Vestas.
Once you get there, you will know that life "below the Alps" is different, unfortunately.
Pros
People
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vestas sucks
crane spotter (Current Employee) –  Brighton, CO 8060313 September 2016
vestas will say they are all about safety , but they are not. they cant decide what work schudual they want to have and they could careless what the employee wants they are even willing to cut our pay to fit the needs of vestas only. they sit in their offices at their desk coming up with how we the employee on the floor should be doing our jobs with out even considering stepping down to the floor to see how thing work.
Pros
good benifets
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare to sell your soul
Production worker/ Finish (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CO1 June 2015
Prepared to be on mandatory overtime until the cows come home! If you enjoy being treated like a moron, having your benefits cut, and never being eligible for a raise Vestas is the place for you! Safety is practically non existent, and management doesn't want to hear suggestions for improving the work environment. Pay is mediocre at best and as of last year Vestas no longer pays for employee health insurance, but who cares about your families health?! Vestas is gonna work you 6 days a week anyway, so you won't have time to go visit the doctor there's production to be made boy! Do yourself a favor, try and find an oilfield job, you'll get treated just as bad, work just as much, but you'll make a ton more money for what you put up with.
Pros
It'll pay your bills
Cons
Literally everything... No joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes66No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Flow (Current Employee) –  Brighton, CO17 August 2015
12 hour shifts with many departments. Always moving around and you can not be afraid to get dirty.
Strong communication with all departments and able to assist as needed.
There is a large amount of politics with an ever changing product and company.
The hardest part of the job is the rotating shifts with a family life.
The company prides its self on Quality, Production and being clean.
Pros
Benefits, alternative energy product, competitive wages, purchased uniforms and protection.
Cons
Not enough breaks, long shifts constant changing management.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management, Track you at all times
previous Employee (Former Employee) –  Scotland8 November 2015
If your face fits and you have friends in high places your work life will be better, if not expect to work more hours to pick up their slack. no work life balance as they do not care about your family time. expect to work 14 hour days. Safety goes out the window when they need you to do something. Wind Farm contracts are too short so no job security. Always penny pinching and monitoring your movements from when you start until you finish. cross check all your times against the tracker. Keep adding more work onto your already busy day/week. micro management,
Pros
None
Cons
Monitoring your movements from start to finish, micro management, cross checking times, more and more work load put onto the technician
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers to work with poor management
Floor Tech (Current Employee) –  Brighton CO.17 August 2015
Vestas has great employees but poor management. The firing rate and hiring rate is unbelievable. Demanding too much on production. Swing shifts so life style was always unbalanced. 2 weeks days 2 weeks nights 12 hr shifts. Aside from the cons the pay-wage and benefits was great and there are a lot of knowledgeable and great employees who work there from various places around the world (Denmark,Spain,UK).
Pros
Paywage/Benefits
Cons
Poor management/High firing rate/Unstable/Unbalanced Lifestyle
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job if you don't mind living on the road
Resource Tech 2 (Former Employee) –  Portland, OR31 August 2015
New management was struggling to adjust but making vast improvements. Too much emphasis on non essential job functions, excellent training, but typical double standards, it's all who you know not what you know.
Pros
good pay, great benifits, pride in job well done, long hours, big pay check
Cons
long hours, lack of communication, high expectations with little follow through
Was this review helpful?Yes24No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism, very unprofessional
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CO16 September 2016
Bad experience working for vestas blades colorado , if i could afford a lawyer i would take them to court, even the hr department was crooked , i request so information and was ignored, i feel Vestas had an obligation to every employee not just selected few
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and nice canteen.
PRODUCTION AND MANUFACTURING ASSOCIATE - WEBMASTER (Current Employee) –  Brighton, CO14 October 2015
Great pay and nice benefits always have work and schedule is great. They also have a nice canteen locker rooms for indicated things and they provide everything. Things they provide are clothing shoes lockers and bonuses every year.
Pros
always bussy, and they provide u with erverything like clothing to shoes.
Cons
manegment isent the best but they try. and nights are really hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with my coworkers
SHIP YARD INSPECTOR (Former Employee) –  Brighton, CO13 July 2016
Enjoyed the work schedule. My coworkers were fun to work with.
Very safety oriented. The management team was not around much, they spent the day in meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great bennies, everything else sucks!!!!!
floating foreman (Current Employee) –  pueblo towers6 March 2014
i have worked at vestas for a year already and have no drive anymore, it has changed up on me 3 diferent times, tryed to show them what im worth and all i hear from them are excusses why i dont get the raise. so now i go into work put in my 12 hours and go home.i no longer come in on my days off to help out, if they dont give me any incentive to come in the wth should I? these guys expect it from you to do that once they see it.
good luck with getting a raise there, unless you like camping out under the team leads desk. bottom line is im looking for a better job, the bennifits are the best anyone will have in there life at vestas but that is it!
Pros
bennies are great for you and the family!
Cons
managment sucks!
Was this review helpful?Yes62No13Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 114 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.6
Culture
3.3