Vestas Employee Reviews

Showing all 105 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism, very unprofessional
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, COSeptember 16, 2016
Bad experience working for vestas blades colorado , if i could afford a lawyer i would take them to court, even the hr department was crooked , i request so information and was ignored, i feel Vestas had an obligation to every employee not just selected few
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
QSE Specialist Mexico, Central America & Caribbean (Current Employee) –  Latin AmericaSeptember 8, 2016
Is big Safety minded organization that has all tools you need to perform your job in a professional manner.
You work on a matrix type organization that lead you to have many stakeholders to hold you accountable, which challenges you to get better and polish your skill set.
Pros
Safety minded culture
Cons
No Carrer advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great potential
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Rio Grande City, TXAugust 23, 2016
Vestas is a great company to get into. Their desire to be safe and to advance the wind industry allows them to really focus on taking care of their team.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training
Level I Certified NDT Scanner/Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Brighton, COAugust 2, 2016
There is an extreme lack of training at this company, with high expectations of meeting production. But if you a a self teacher, you can get by.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with my coworkers
SHIP YARD INSPECTOR (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COJuly 13, 2016
Enjoyed the work schedule. My coworkers were fun to work with.
Very safety oriented. The management team was not around much, they spent the day in meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
danish company
Payroll Officer (Former Employee) –  WarringtonJune 29, 2016
Processing payroll across sites for a company that provides wind farms job very busy and demanding. Not good management
Pros
good social aspects
Cons
No management support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work flow
Team Member in Gear Box and Fiber (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COMay 27, 2016
Good place to work, Always work to be done. With a great group of people to work with. Options to grow. enjoyed my time there before I moved to Maine.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could easily have been so much better...
Unvalued Temp Grunt/Expendable Human Flesh Machine (Former Employee) –  FinishingMay 22, 2016
Vestas, I wanted to love you as a job, but you blew it.

The ridiculous rotating shifts were hellish, the way you made your employees fight and scrounge over the tools and supplies needed to do the job, the draconian upper management with their asinine edicts, the rude and rabid canteen personnel... They all took what could have been an idyllic "Forever Job" and turned it into a hellish endurance trial that, at the pittance offered up by the temp agency (which was NOT what was originally mentioned, incidentally) was not worth the ludicrous drama. You have a high turnover for very real reasons, and I suggest you get it together before you exhaust the love and respect of the entire community.

The work in and of itself is none too bad, when you're not trying to regain possession of the few working tools on the floor, and as mentioned above with a few corporate attitude adjustments you could become an ideal, wonderful place to work instead of the hopeless torment hole that you are now. Your company morale is good, your schedule (other than the damned rotation) was awesome, and your employees are great - You really, REALLY should treat them better than you do!
Pros
Great employees, long weekends, fine products
Cons
Dreadful rotating shifts for no damned reason, ridiculous 'shared' tool/supply setup, totalitarian upper management, super frustrated and rude canteen workers that will throw your lunch box away, no hats or head coverings while working with fiberglass "Because You're Not Disciplined", etc
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vestas
Jr Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Windsor, COApril 28, 2016
Really enjoyed the job.
Maintained, Refilled, repaired all machines in factory
Performed preventative maintenance
Lack of Management Supervision Leadership Very unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COApril 4, 2016
The management showed a great deal of understanding and care for it's employees. Vestas has built a fantastic team to work with and unbeatable benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and busy
Maintenance mechanic (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COFebruary 25, 2016
My days were usually busy I worked on all the automated systems and robotics. We would 12 hr shifts 3 days on 3 days off. They were a good company and treated their employees well.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Managers
Field Manager (Current Employee) –  TXFebruary 11, 2016
Safety has taken a huge back seat with Vestas. Ego is the name of the game for PDX. PDX Management supports and encourages an Unsafe, Hostile and Harassing work atmosphere. Bad Company!!!
Pros
Good field people.
Cons
PDX Management
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company with no job advancement
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 26, 2016
They suckered me in with their excellent benefits, but that only goes so far. the job turnover is so high that after 6 months, now i am the person training new recruits with no compensation. they continually run out of materials for the job, and give you no idea on when they will return to complete your work as instructed. we constantly run out of PPE for the job, even though there are several poeple walking the factory floor reminding you to wear your PPE. I've seen three supervisors, and two team leads either fired or step down from their position since I've been there. You will spend a week of training being told about safety hazards, and then thrown into the mix on the floor with absolutely no job training. The shift differential is great for your paycheck, but switching 12 hour shifts from day to night, in the 2-3 days you have off, is ridiculous. People are constantly being brought in from around the world to "standardize" the work, but when they come in, a process that takes 20-30 min to complete, will take over an hour. As soon as they leave, everything goes bake to the way it was to make up for the production quota. Production is first, safety is second, and quality is drug through the mud. On multiple occasions, I have seen scrapped blades chained up to a truck and dragged through the yard. If you take any kind of pride in the work you put out, find somewhere else to work.
Pros
Free work boots
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes42No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate giant
wind technician (Former Employee) –  Lynn, INDecember 19, 2015
Megawatts before people, should be the motto. Great training, good people, poor management, horrible safety, lowest pay in their field. During training they tell you that they train everyone else's techs because they leave.
Pros
No one over your shoulder
Cons
Glass ceiling
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management, Track you at all times
previous Employee (Former Employee) –  ScotlandNovember 8, 2015
If your face fits and you have friends in high places your work life will be better, if not expect to work more hours to pick up their slack. no work life balance as they do not care about your family time. expect to work 14 hour days. Safety goes out the window when they need you to do something. Wind Farm contracts are too short so no job security. Always penny pinching and monitoring your movements from when you start until you finish. cross check all your times against the tracker. Keep adding more work onto your already busy day/week. micro management,
Pros
None
Cons
Monitoring your movements from start to finish, micro management, cross checking times, more and more work load put onto the technician
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and nice canteen.
PRODUCTION AND MANUFACTURING ASSOCIATE - WEBMASTER (Current Employee) –  Brighton, COOctober 14, 2015
Great pay and nice benefits always have work and schedule is great. They also have a nice canteen locker rooms for indicated things and they provide everything. Things they provide are clothing shoes lockers and bonuses every year.
Pros
always bussy, and they provide u with erverything like clothing to shoes.
Cons
manegment isent the best but they try. and nights are really hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intersting company to work for.
SAP Inventory Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 14, 2015
I really enjoyed working for Vestas. The people I interacted with daily were a wonderful group of people. Training was provided with each position I held and coworkers taught any aspect of the systems you wanted to learn adding to the advancement process. I held several positions in the company and enjoyed each one. I would return to this company in a heart beat.

Sadly I was released from the company for personnel reductions.
Pros
Work life was very good. People were fun to work with. Company programs to join in on.
Cons
I did not like their laid off proceedures. It made you feel like a criminal.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and un predictable work place also fun and exciting
production support worker (Former Employee) –  windsor coloradoSeptember 21, 2015
i really enjoyed this job i learned alot while i was there i wish i could have stayed but i moved an hour south and the drive was just to far
Pros
easy schedule to deal with and nice supportive people to work with
Cons
no health benefits until after 6 to 18 months of training
Was this review helpful?Yes5No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Love at Work
Intercompany and Accounts Payable Accountant (Current Employee) –  Pasay, P00September 15, 2015
As Mother Theresa said, "Work without love is slavery"- a normal day at work is like doing your responsibilities with good pressure. We see to it that we enjoy what we do.
Pros
Accessible
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided great skill training and benefits
Man Power (Current Employee) –  Windsor, COSeptember 9, 2015
Daily task include building of turbine blades, from prepping blade moulds to build on, completing builds of the blades, cleaning and repairing of any defects the blade might of obtained during the build process.

I learned Vestas is a fast paced production environment where the same jobs are done around the clock. Building wind turbine blades requires a high skill level to ensure quality and tact time for blade orders.

Management was hired from within the company so they all at one time worked the same jobs on the floor that the operators do. They have years of knowledge and experience than can provide to anyone person.

Co-workers are great, its a fast paced highly competitive atmosphere that provides a challenge and friendly competition.

The hardest part would be keeping the continuous pace and production quota when material becomes short and the hours and days become long.

The most enjoyable part is providing a service to the world that helps people across the world receive clean inexpensive green energy.
Pros
yearly bonuses
Cons
Mandatory overtime and minimal PTO and sick days allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes16No14Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.3