Veolia Water Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to find out what the industry is like
Operator (Current Employee) –  Carson, CAJuly 21, 2016
It's a good company,for some. For other's your success in the company is solely based on who you know and not your work performance.
Pros
Your working
Cons
No structure in the work place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing environment with new challenges daily
Wastewater/ Power & Energy Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 22, 2016
Very exciting work environment that is continually changing. I enjoy the many different facets of the job, working with Human Relations, Safety, Maintenance, purchasing and many more highly qualified individuals.
Pros
Mentally stimulating environment
Cons
no room for advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Searcy, ARApril 3, 2016
My job consisted of working 2-3 hours a week testing the heating and cooling systems for Harding University. Although the hours were low, my supervisors were very helpful and left me to do my job. The workplace was small but private which let me focus on my work.
Pros
Set my own work schedule
Cons
Low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and long days (12s)
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Bettendorf, IAFebruary 16, 2016
It takes 3 months to accumulate 1 sick day. Accumulating vacation only takes 2 months to get 1 day. Terrible. There is no training curriculum at all. Very poor leadership from management; a supervisor continues to drive away operators but the supervisor stays employed, get the hint Veolia. I'm working on getting a new job and wouldn't recommend this job to anybody.
Pros
work half the year
Cons
vacation, sick time, poor leadership from management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work
sub-contractor (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, Aylesbury and AberdeenJanuary 21, 2016
Before being made redundent was a fantastic place to work,
Varied jobs and allowed to progress within the company. 5 star
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Operator III (Former Employee) –  Chalmette, LAJanuary 1, 2016
I enjoyed all 12 years with the company. they seem to love the service they provide to there customer. In my 12 years i was never denied a vacation or time off,my supervisor was one of the best he really worked with each employee.
Pros
job security and pay
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Veolia Water is a solid firm to work with.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Virgin IslandsNovember 18, 2015
Veolia Water is a great firm that I worked with on a Contract basis building Waste Water Treatment Plants in St. Thomas and St Croix.

They treat everyone fairly and with respect.
Pros
Professional
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great team working together for a common cause
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, NSWSeptember 18, 2015
My role here occurred during the construction, commissioning and first 6 months of operation of a new plant. As a result everyone was on new ground, and that lead to a great atmosphere of mutual learning from each other. The boss often shouted lunch, or we had a BBQ on site.

While my role was a stable 8-4, most of the team took turns at being on call, hence I couldn't give 5 stars for Work/Life Balance, but this is the nature of a plant that can't be easily shut down and restarted. It was better, I'm sure, than most in that Veolia arranged remote monitoring so the staff could monitor the plant from home, as long as they lived close enough to come in if things went wrong.

Pay was reasonable for me as a contractor (through a labour hire company), but the permanent staff were paid extremely well.

The poor job security was based not only on my being on a fixed term contract (even though it was extended repeatedly) but because there were widespread layoffs throughout the organisation when the drought broke and many plants went from an operational phase to a non-operational, minimal maintenance phase.
Pros
Great team to work with, new facilities including indoor and outdoor eating areas and a BBQ
Cons
Work is very reliant on the climate - once the drought breaks staff demand drops significantly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a lousy place to work management weak
Industrial Wastewater Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Bettendorf, IASeptember 3, 2015
Management could cuss at you tell you were an A@@ hole management encouraged employees to screw over fellow employees human resources would not help they would just tell you to go back to your supervisor they were located in different state
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well organized work place
Technical Consultant (Current Employee) –  Jeddah, KSAAugust 27, 2015
Productive and well organized work place
cooperative multicultural organization,
open chance to communicate with broad band of clients and expertise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plant operator and process K O H
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILMay 12, 2015
the plant is geared for 2 shifts and the management was NOT able to keep employees.
the work load and responsibility is too great for 1 employee
Pros
the company has great benefits
Cons
mandated overtime of 12 hour days and many 6 day work weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its big Organisation
Senior Shift Engineer (Current Employee) –  Hong KongApril 21, 2015
A big operation and Maintenance Team , I Utilize my Knowledge and experience and develope the organisation Ultimately my career also improved.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides a challenging and rewarding experience.
maintenance I&E technician (Current Employee) –  Calvert, ALApril 14, 2015
I am a member of the maintenance team where we provide Instrumentation and Electrical support for the Waste Water Treatment facility in Thyssen Krupp Steel Mill.
Pros
Great to work for.
Cons
Wages not comparable for same position in this area.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Productive Environment-
Water Quality Analytical Chemist (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 25, 2015
Great place to learn new skills and apply them. Great manager staff that will help you succeed in becoming a more innovative thinker. increase skill sets. Freedom to learn new methods and get involved.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
no bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appreciate mini breaks throughout the day.
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIFebruary 26, 2015
Great place to work, enjoyed the friendship. Learned more every day because everyone can learn something new, coming to work was enjoyable; co-workers were cooperative.
Pros
plenty of work to keep everyone busy.
Cons
need more employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Senior 3D Piping Designer (Current Employee) –  Plainfield, ILDecember 4, 2014
I would go back. Great people. Team work. Helping each other. I would work there if I were a junior looking for work. One of the best companies I ever worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Implementation of safety standars
HSSE Lead (Former Employee) –  Muscat, MASeptember 26, 2014
work hard
help to employees
enjoyed meeting Induction people
enjoyed safety culture
Time mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Water treatment technicien (Former Employee) –  Narbonne, A9September 15, 2014
First job in water treatment.

Lot of experiences thanks to other workers.

Good experiences
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Environmental/Waswater Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDSeptember 8, 2014
Great company to work
Great colleagues
High level R&D
Well managed company
Pros
technology and research
Cons
not sure
Was this review helpful?Yes21No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on position and company within Veolia
Process Engineer/Commissioning Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCJune 8, 2014
A great place to work. Very diverse atmosphere with new technologies. Good place to start a career.
Pros
a lot of good people
Cons
promotions, based on friendships, not job performance, unqualified, people promoted as supervisors when others with seniority and better qualifications are passed up.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No8Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5