Find companies:
Varian Medical Systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Varian Medical Systems Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone helps everyone
Sr. Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Milpitas, CASeptember 17, 2014
best company to work for.
Coworkers are wonderful
Job is fulfilling
Management is very good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Engineer II (Current Employee), Salt Lake City UtahSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: health care is great, growing business
Cons: progressing up the corporate ladder is hard
Growing company that builds cancer treating equipment.
Great atmosphere, benifits area excelent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Showing up to work!
Desktop Support Specialist II (Current Employee), Palo AltoSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: endless learning
Cons: managment
I will typically respond to emails from the night before then check our inicident ticketing system in order to organize the ticket queue. I will then contact clients and begin the process to set up either deskside assistance or remote troubleshooting. Once the tickets are under control, I will move onto to one of the many projects we have going such – more... as encryption upgrade or upgrading systems to the current standard. This has been a great place to learn a diverse set of skills to troubleshoot and resolve a wide array of issues. They have also given me good practice at mantaining, managing and auditing AD servers as well as other software administration servers we work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
A. Senior Particle Therapy Service Engineer rep IV (Former Employee), Scripps Proton Therapy, San Diego CA.July 16, 2014
Pros: ability to learn aspects of the proton therapy system
Cons: constant rotation of shifts. hardly any weekends off.
* Plenty of installation & commissioning activities during a normal shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Installation Manager
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Lincolnshire ILJuly 1, 2014
Pros: had an excellent team to work with.
Cons: company was not organized properly to handle the is responsibilities.
Managed the information systems installers in the Midwest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
IT System Engineer / project manager (Former Employee), BeijingMay 20, 2014
Good working place. Nice environment. A traditional company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace company .
Hand soldered, touch up SMT (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 3, 2014
Good benefits and management. Nice place to work. Safe workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old-school company
LMS Lead/Internal Learning Consultant (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CaliforniaMarch 29, 2014
Pros: stabliity, ability to work from home
Cons: change- and risk-resistant, unimaginative management
Varian is one of the Silicon Valley's earliest technology companies. Many employees have been there for 15 years or more. Naturally, most of management are old timers. As a result, the company is change- and risk-resistant and management is hierarchical.

I have focused most of my time at Varian on driving quality system training to be more effective – more... and risk-based. The existing regime is geared almost exclusively to creating training records for auditors rather than promoting quality behavior. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
SAP CRM ABAP Technical Developer (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAMarch 18, 2014
Good company, always enjoyed working at this company.
Good team of professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company.
Field Service Engineer II (Former Employee), Chandler, AZMarch 14, 2014
Every day you learn something new while troubleshooting the linear accelerators.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice experience
Security & GRC Consultant (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAFebruary 4, 2014
I have very good experience in Varian medical systems.
Here I understood how the business runs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company if you can get in.
manufacturing technician (Former Employee), palo altoFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good pay.
Cons: bad hours, managment is questionable
a typical day at varian consists of mostly standing all day and working on the manufacturing floor. i learn a lot of stuff while i was there i got my forklift license and crane operating license also.
i was not a fan of the management they didn't have a good grasp on the work we did .the co workers were awesome alot of good guys and gals. the hardest – more... part of the job was the schedule. most enjoyable was working on the machines i really liked all the hands on work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Design Task
Senior E/M Designer IV (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: various work task
Cons: very little training offered
Good environment, various tasks, Good support from coworkers.
Little supervision and not much in the way of training.

Fast pace environment, multiple task and aggressive schedule.

Good work, complex design.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Software Engineer (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CADecember 10, 2013
Pros: good working environment, free fitness classes
Cons: na
Day start with scrum stand up for 15 mins. Every team member briefs about the achievement done on previous day , plan for the day and any impediments will be discussed.

Opportunity to analyze the entire application code flaws, design issues using code analysis tool which gave enough time for me to understand the design and fixing the flaws at the same – more... time. This resulted in better code quality.

Managment keeps the team updated about organizations change updated and are approachble.
Team members are very co operative, fun loving and enjoy day today activities. Apart from regular work everyone works on side project of their interest which keeps us motivated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on Ion Implanter Integration
Electro-mechanical Technician (Former Employee), Gloucester, MANovember 29, 2013
Pros: the work environment eas very professional
Cons: ther were some o ngoing safety issues.
integrated water,vacuum,electrical harnesses into the mainframe
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet easy place to work
Test Technician II (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTNovember 8, 2013
Pros: quarterly bonus
Challenges are provided everyday, but can get a little mundane if you arent kept busy day to day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Varian
Various (Former Employee), Marietta, GAOctober 27, 2013
Pros: overall great place to work
I relocated with my husband and his job to the Fort Worth, TX area. I really loved it at Varian and miss it very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
re worker (Former Employee), Tempe, AZOctober 22, 2013
Pros: being able to stay busy
Cons: little pay for the amount of work being done
I would start by getting the parts needed for the job i was to get done replace the parts and send it to QC for inspection then move on to the next job. The management was pretty good and the co-workers were okay some of them were really good but most were just there for a pay check. And i would have to say the hardest part of the job was doing 9 jobs – more... to everyone eases 1 for the same pay got a little irritating at times. And the hardest part of the the job was trying to keep the parts form one job separate for the others when they kept putting everything at my work station and i enjoyed feeling satisfied when everything worked perfect – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Challenging and fast paced
Field Service Engineer-Level II (Current Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 30, 2013
Pros: healthy pay
Cons: always constant uncertainty
- work was based as on call status
- management is always in crisis management mode

- I really enjoy helping people solve problems. In this opportunity I am able to help people on a daily basis. The structure of this situation makes it hard to balance work and life. When this happens it takes a toll on both sides and neither side tends to get the attention – more... they deserve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked long hours
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAAugust 13, 2013
Pros: great stock and retirement plan.
Cons: poor family / work balance
I enjoyed performing installation and maintenance on cancer treatment systems because it provided a means that helped save lives. I worked solo most of the time, but also would work with a great group of people who were mostly previous military. The hardest part of the job would be the traveling. I spent to many days away from home, 20 nights a month – more... in a hotel and I flew all over northern America. – less

1 2 3

Varian Medical Systems Photos