Find companies:
VANS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

VANS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible work environment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Waipahu, HISeptember 10, 2012
Vans is an amazing company to work for, however, it is a labor of love. The passion of working for Vans is one that is developed and constructed through learning more about the company. The compensation is agreeable, however, it is not immaculate. Hours and strict, but the time spent there is always well-productive and fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: 50% off, atmosphere is amazing.
Cons: not enough hours!
Pay isn't very well because of the hours your given, but the culture makes up for your distaste. There is nothing better than the laid back atmosphere of Southern California, being around people who embrace the culture, and working for a company from the heart of it is definitely a plus. As long as you do your job your safe at Vans, advancement might – more... take a while if your a slacker though, must go above and beyond day to day to catch the Managers eyes. Fits in perfectly with your life, its nice to show up to work in your everyday clothes, and be able to leave and go out somewhere without having to change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
B+
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Olympia, WASeptember 6, 2012
Pros: free shoes & shirt with job.
Cons: low hours, have to call in before shifts
I sell shoes & apparel for Vans in Olympia, WA. My typical day at work begins with calling in to see whether or not I work. If I do then I am giving a goal for total sales, average sale, & # of socks sold. My co-workers are immature high school students, which is probably the most difficult part of my job. The most enjoyable part is helping people find – more... what they want. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting management position focused on developing team and assuring quality customer service.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), North Attleboro, MAAugust 20, 2012
Pros: strong sales team, enjoyable enviornment, developed great customer repore.
Cons: lower wages, schedualing
Vans is responsible for my strong management skills in which i had to develope and work towards my promotion. Vans gave me the oportunity to show my skills and be promoted from floor supervisor to assistant manager within the first six months of employment. Along side managing my team i also enjoyed customer service and sales. Vans is very goal driven – more... which is why i enjoy it so much. Everyday we have a goal, not only in sale numbers, but also in how we make them. How our average dollar sale and units per transaction can effect our net sales was something i constantly have to keep up with. Sales and management is very rewarding and exciting for me and i enjoy being a leader on the sales floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent atomosphere, great co-workers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAAugust 16, 2012
So far I really like working here! It's a great atmosphere and I enjoy the store, the product, and the customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Lively Workplace
Floor Supervisor/ 2nd Assistant Manager (Current Employee), TXAugust 5, 2012
Pros: 50% discount
Cons: short breaks, mall environment
wonderful managers, understanding and helpful.
Honed my sales skills, learned tips for training sales associates.
farely simple work environment, punctual employees, all hardworking with excellent customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Customer Service/Sales/Stock Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 1, 2012
I can honestly say, that i have never enjoyed coming to work more than i did while i worked at VANS! Although it is a sales based retail environment, we were encouraged to be relaxed and to have fun. Management was always helpful, and even joked around along with the rest of the staff. I absolutely loved my coworkers! The hardest part of the job was – more... dealing with not-so-friendly customers...but that is to be expected in retail. Overall, it was one of the most enjoyable work experiences i have had to date. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workers with lousy managment
Manager in training (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 2, 2012
Pros: good discount
Cons: low pay, bad management
i would run the register and handle any other projects that were thrown my way from taking out the trash to changing end caps. i learned how to deal better with unhappy customers. The manager was a nice guy but lacked the experience you expect from a manager. He was friendly, but he did not have control over some of the other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Cashier/Sales Rep (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 2, 2012
Fun job, great discount, and really nice people. Don't give enough hours but it is at the mall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy paced
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mesquite, TXJune 29, 2012
A good and fun job,just to low of pay. I can woek my way up,layed back but fun ataff to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Chill
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Culver City, CAJune 14, 2012
Pros: discount
Cons: low pay
Working at the vans store was a good experience. The managers were cool. It was only the District or Store managers that people were worried about. The hardest part of this job was remembering the many shoes to get for each customer. The most enjoyable part was that the employees were chill and the discount was incredible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAJune 14, 2012
Loved working here. Great for young people, good vibes as soon as you walk in. All my managers where so cool and if you like the shoes you get a sweet discount!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good friendly enviorment
, Sales Representative (Former Employee), Ventura, CAMay 17, 2012
very repetitive day. short hours time flies with the right team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun fast paced enviornment
Customer Service (Former Employee), Roseville, CAMay 16, 2012
All the people are very down to earth, there is uaually no drama. Everybody is about getting there work done, and pleaseing the customers needs. Then when there is nothing to do, We clean and organize as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Own your business
Store Manager (Area Manager) (Former Employee), Ventura, CAMay 11, 2012
Action Sports Industry is great. Culture and people are what makes that industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job but little room for advancement
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAApril 7, 2012
Pros: half off discount
Cons: no water fountain, not enough working hours
I like the workplace but there's little room for advancement and they pretty well refuse to give anyone hours aside from managers so it's definitely not a job to rely on as far as paying bills are concerned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with lots of moving and opportunities to help others.
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vacaville, caMarch 8, 2012
Pros: discount on shoes and clothing.
Cons: some days are very slow paced which can get boring
There are slow and fast days, depending on the week. Every day however, there is much to accomplishment during a shift whether it be cleaning, replenishing, or organizing. There's always opportunity to show hard work and gain recognition from others in order to someday grow in the company. And everyday is always about helping and doing what;s best for – more... the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
sales rep (Former Employee), Edison NJMarch 1, 2012
i loved working at vans, i learned so much and had a wonderful time when i helped out guests and co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to spred knowledge and sell the products I enjoy daily.
Sales associate (Former Employee), Tukwila, WaJanuary 27, 2012
Pros: discounts on products.
Cons: lack of hours.
Responsible for maintaining outstading customer service for company standards, generating sales, merchandising, and safeguarding company assets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place people are friendly
sales associate (Current Employee), modestoJanuary 9, 2012
Pros: people are friendly
Cons: short breaks not enough hours
it is a very good work place very fun they make u feel welcome hour aint to much wish i can get more

About VANS

The movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High put Vans sneakers on the map, but the company owes its current popularity to the fashion – Read more