Find companies:
VANS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

VANS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 18, 2013
Pros: discount
Cons: scheduling and benefits for non mangement
Vans is like no other job I have had before. This place does not feel like a job. It is more like a home. If you apply yourself and are good with people then you will do well. Inside this company there is major room for advancement as long as you are on top of your job (and sometimes others) you will move up in no time. However just like any other job – more... the people will make or break it. Here sometimes you do not have a voice on some issues. When you feel like you are doing what is best for the company and it is working for you if your DM does not like it they will put a stop to whatever that action is. Overall I would recommend this company to anyone who likes retail, or is looking for something "different". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace, energetic, fun environment
Store Manager (Current Employee), Vernon Hills, ILDecember 10, 2013
Fun job that gives you control to run the business as if it were your own store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good balance of professionalism and fun.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Palmdale, CANovember 22, 2013
Pros: employee discount, pleaseant co-workers.
Cons: short shifts, not enough weekly hours.
A typical work day included inventory, sales, customer interaction, and register operations. Occasional janitorial work. I learned to meet quotas and goals and how to up sell products. The management was attentive, encouraging, and created an idealistic working environment. My co-workers were motivating and enjoyed being apart of a team. The hardest – more... part of the job was saying goodbye to the customers after building a relationship through conversation and product recommendation. The most enjoyable part of the job was having the opportunity to provide excellent customer service and operate in a team-oriented environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing high school oriented job
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Southlake, TXNovember 7, 2013
It was a great job if you were still in school. I worked there for over a year and a half and never advanced in a position. Never received a raise for the effort and time I had worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Stock Manager (Former Employee), Marysville WAOctober 22, 2013
I was the stock supervisor and organized the entire stock room and made sure everything was easy to find in a timely and efficient way. I learned how to organize stock properly according to labels, color, style and stock numbers. My coworkers were fun and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was organizing large shipments in a short amount – more... of time. I enjoyed working with the VANS company because its a brand I personally wear and look up to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Stock clerk (Former Employee), Ontario, CAOctober 8, 2013
Great place to learn about customer service, time management and team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Newport News, VAOctober 7, 2013
The typical day at work was fun.
I learn how to be more persuasive work customers.
The management was great.
My co-workers was friendly and helpful.
The hardest part of the job was trying to find a shoe.
The most enjoyable job was bringing a smile to a customers face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work
Floor Supervisor/Visual Manager/Key Holder (Former Employee), Spring, TXSeptember 23, 2013
Cons: scheduling
I LOVED my job at this company. I learned so much and had so much fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned business
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Alsip, ILSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: employees worked in a team enviroment.
Cons: not enough hours in a day to get work done.
Family owned business for over 50 years & before owner passed away the company was sold to a postive working competitor.
Very busy and well organized company. Working with multiple people in a happy and stressful enviroment expectially in the peak season (Valentine's Day & Mother's Day), but worked well with employees as a team. Learned something new – more... almost everyday.

When the merge took place, more changes and excpected with the changes, down sizing occured. Company did not need double the employees for same work to be processed. I loved working with great hard working people, but when one door closes another one opens up. New challenges, new enviroment and new co-workers. A must that needs to happen and to succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDAugust 23, 2013
Pros: local events
Must be a people person, and have some knowledge about the history of vans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), TemeculaJuly 15, 2013
Everything was fast paced and a happy environment. There was always something going on. No one was ever standing there bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Global Brand Marketing (Former Employee), Cypress, CAJuly 8, 2013
Global branding and an amazing place to work with excellent work ethics and very inspiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Might be a good company for a beginner.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Lakewood, COJune 17, 2013
Pros: good discounts on merchandise
Cons: inexperienced leaders, poor benefits
This company may be good for someone just coming into the retail world, however is not good for anyone that has been in retail for a while. Very low pay, and not very much room for advancement. Benefits are also very poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Customer Service Experience
Sales Representative/Customer Service (Former Employee), Cabazon, CAMay 27, 2013
A typical day involved straightening the store and attending to customers with their many questions. We get a lot of foreign customers that travel the world to come to our outlet and I learned how to pick up on what they were trying to look for by asking for basic colors and sizes. Some co-workers were like a family to me, but others were lazy and conversational – more... to other co-workers but not helpful to customers. The hardest part of the job was working with lazy co-workers because I would have to pick up after their customers and hear complaints of why they did not get their shoes. However, the best part of the job was learning how to communicate and strategize to attend to every customer's likings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales (Former Employee), San Ysidro, CAApril 16, 2013
Pros: fun environment
Cons: no opportunities for over time.
Only a part time job, no chance of moving up. Limited hours makes it hard to stay within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great, fast-paced enviornment for people looking to advance their surf and skate retail career.
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAApril 8, 2013
Pros: great location, loyal customers, great employee discount.
Cons: poor pay, difficult to move up in company.
Usually a 9 hour day with an hour break. Processing boxes of shoes, men's and women's apparel. Supervising sales associates, and coaching them. Cashiering and taking care of returns and exchanges. Opening/closing duties which include making the days deposit, going to the bank, and projecting the next weeks payroll. Most enjoyable part of the job is – more... the people, and making my customers happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Off The Wall Since 1966
Global Category Manager (Pro-tec) (Former Employee), Cypress, CAFebruary 15, 2013
An amazing company to be part of. Surrounded around creative & forward thinking people, with passion for the brand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Montclair, CANovember 20, 2012
My favorite job to date management was great had very supportive staff friendly people great product pay could have been better but overall good company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pearl City, HIOctober 8, 2012
Overall, at Vans pearlridge is a great company to work for. The Management is awesome they are very caring and understanding when it comes to hours and days of work scheduling. Also when it comes to doing things that you havent done before they are very helpful with explaining and walking you through it until you feel comfortable about doing it on your – more... own without their assistance. My co-workers, They are awesome they are all very nice from the ones who were there before me and the one who were just hired. Everybody gets along fine just basically because everybody does their part while on the job, which makes going to work enjoyable and happy. The hardest part about the job is just basically making sure when a customer comes in to return or exchange an item that i do the transaction right and making sure they leave a happy customer wanting to come back again. The most enjoyable part of my job is being on the shoe deck. while on the shoe deck i get to interact will many different kinds of people from Adults shopping for themselves, Teens, and parents who come in with their kids. I just love seeing the happy faces on the customers when they leave knowing they are happy with what they got, and making me feel good that i did my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CASeptember 27, 2012
I only stayed with this job temporarily because it was a seasonal job. In the short time that I was there, I did enjoy the atmosphere. The people were very nice and easy to get along with. I love VANS products, and was pleased to be surrounded by so much of it. I got to meet bands that would play in the mall area, and help people shop for themselves – more... or their loved ones. – less

About VANS

The movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High put Vans sneakers on the map, but the company owes its current popularity to the fashion – Read more