Find companies:
VANS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
97 reviews

VANS Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and awesome people
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), London, ENGJune 23, 2014
Pros: free staff clothing
a typical day is working on tills and serving costumers while taking to them about Vans culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Makes you feel comfortable to be yourself.
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), Ontario, CAJune 21, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: they pay could be higher.
I've learned how to advance in this company. The company is getting better at training their staff. I wasn't lucky enough to get full training but I was shown as I went along. The management is now better than before. We got rid of the bad seeds that managed and brought in great leaders. The hardest part of my job is dealing with rude customers and – more... kids that try to steal from our store constantly. The most enjoyable part my job is helping customers and leading my team by example. I love to shed my light on new associates. I love to see them succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture at a good company
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), El Cajon, CAJune 15, 2014
As a sales associate is easy to advance as long as you work hard. Once you get to management it becomes stagnant but there is opportunity for promotions. There is not enough autonomy but corporate makes smart decisions to further advance the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layed back and nice people
Floor Manager (Former Employee), The Woodlands MallJune 10, 2014
Pros: great discounts
Cons: no health care and boring environment
Not much to do during slow period besides fold shirts with a ruler and straighten up shoes. I didn't learn anything here that I didn't already know from my previous Management positions. The GM was childish but very nice and my co-workers were high school kids looking for the discounts. The job was fairly easy besides the obscene walls of shoes in the – more... back room that were hard to remember and extremely tedious to get to, moving walls and climbing up and down ladders continuously. All in all I enjoyed what they had to offer. Great people, easy work, just not fast enough paced for my liking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
making sales
SALES/RETAIL ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Montebello, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: had a great crew to work with
I have opened and closed the store through the week. I had to keep an eye employees throughout the week. I made sure they kept their sales up and followed the salesman handbook.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment, easy to become a manager.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAMay 23, 2014
Pros: huge discount, easy to be promoted.
Cons: co workers are lame, supervisor is difficult to talk to.
Supervisor was very abrasive, employees only socialize within their cliques leaving new employees ostracized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Vans culture I was always aware of was not relavent in their retail stores
Manager (Former Employee), Tinton Falls, NJMay 21, 2014
Pros: great discount structure and pay rate
Cons: not really condusive to promoting with in from what i could see, lp dept was worst i ever worked with.
I dealt with vans in a private store setting for years so I was extremely excited to get a job with their retail chain. I saw them hire DM's from outside the company with several store managers that should have been promoted but they couldn't even transfer out of the stores they were in. I was suspended for getting product back from a shop lifter. I – more... said give it back he tried to get around me I stepped back two steps and said are you really going to run and he handed me the shoes and he said sorry. No drama or problem and I was told I should of let him take shoes and was treated like a criminal for it. I was running up every month and was the first positive gain in that location and had no other negative marks in 6 months. I love vans products but would avoid their retail stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 21, 2014
Great discount and pay wasn't bad. Getting the right store and manager always is a big deal when it comes to a job. Vans trains on consistency and models a corporation in regards of money and benefit compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back atmosphere with a good discount
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Braintree, MAMay 9, 2014
Learned a lot about merchandising and product placement. Co-workers were chill and friendly. Most enjoyable part of the job was a 50% discount.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Authentic.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 27, 2014
Pros: discount
Working at Vans is all about representing their brand. A typical day involved meeting new people all in some way shape or form that represent Vans whether they be punk, old school, a skater, etc. The management was lovely as were my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job ever
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Commerce, CAApril 17, 2014
word cant explain how great this jobs is. you get to sell an awesome product and get to be yourself while doing it. what more could you ask for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning experience when it came to interacting with customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXApril 15, 2014
Pros: nonjudgmental inviroment, fun, exciting
Cons: low pay rate, took too long to recieve a raise
It was a fun and entertaining job, I loved riding my bike to work and helping customers find what they needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people and engaging job.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chino Hills, CAApril 13, 2014
A typical day consists of getting shoes for customers and keeping the sales floor organized. Some days there are projects to be done. I learned to be more interactive with customers and to provide a pleasant shopping experience. My management has been stellar, they are super friendly and they take my schedule into account when creating work schedules. – more... My co-workers are all super friendly and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job is maintaining a positive and productive attitude even when customers are mean or rude. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting all kinds of neat people and learning about human nature. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
Shop Assitant (Former Employee), Valladolid. SpainApril 2, 2014
Six days for week.
Sales, stock, costumer...
acquire a lot of experience in daily sales, returns
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager- If you are obsessed with the brand, you will love your job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 26, 2014
Pros: great perks. you get free stuff often and opportunities to travel even if you're not a store manager
Cons: assistants don't get paid salary
I worked for Vans as an associate and as an Assistant Manager. The company is great with recognizing hard work and talent within each and every store. They give everyone the same leverage and ownership of the brand by giving intense training as soon as you're hired. It's very easy to get promoted within Vans when you're good at your job and you have – more... an outgoing personality. The job itself is not very hard at all. You do need some level of customer service experience because this job entails that you talk to every single customer that walks into the store. Vans aims to have a environment where they know every customer because they've built a relationship with them. If you're not a talker, this job isn't for you. The company wants your individuality to shine through, so the dress code is pretty laid back. The minimum requirement being that you wear Vans shoes and a Vans top and whatever bottoms you'd like that are appropriate. As a manager, the hardest part about the job is training your associates and even Floor Supervisors on a consistent basis. You will always have something to do (floor sets, window changes, shipment, consol) that will sometimes make it difficult to find time to teach your team new things. You will meet and work with a diverse group of people working for Vans because they hire employees as young as 16 yrs old and there is usually an even balance of male and female employees. The pay is on the low end of retail. If you are hired on as an associate they will start you out at minimum wage regardless of your experience. With management positions it varies depending on if you were hired from within the company or outside of the company. If you want to go to school or do other extracurricular activities outside of work, I think this job will suit you well. The company requires that every store has two Floor Supervisors (keyholders), an Assistant and Store Manager, so you essentially never work overtime because there is an even balance of work load within the management tier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and enjoyable envionment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: good environment, employee morale was good, good training
Cons: not enough hours, pay was awful
Whenever i showed up to work i would get a 5min review of whats going on that day and what I'm going to be doing, whether it may be folding clothes for 6hrs, or helping customers find a pair of shoes. They always had me doing something productive and i enjoyed being busy and feeling like i accomplished something that day. Helping customers with good – more... or bad attitudes has helped me to develop patience for people and being able to defuse bad situations. Providing excellent service was one of my number one priorities. While being at vans my mangers were awesome, always helping us to understand whats going on and if we did something wrong they would help to understand how to fix it and how to prevent it from happening again. One of the hardest things of being at vans is maintaining a good attitude even when your having a bad day. It was really hard to deal with very picky customers when having a bad day, but other than those kinds of days, vans was always fun and they always made it enjoyable to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a laid back feel
Sale Associate (Current Employee), El Centro, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great discount, love the shoes
Cons: advancement is rare
I learned how to make a customer feel welcome
A typical day at work is clean, organize, and sale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very out going people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tulare, CAMarch 17, 2014
dealt with customers helped them find the right shoe size and style that fit their needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace to be.
Route Service Driver (Former Employee), Alsip, ILMarch 11, 2014
Cons: no benefits
i loved the hours 6am-2pm. i learned alot from my parts manager. thats how i moved up the ladder to become parts superviser. management was great and learned alot from them. getting paid everyweek was nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment, Awesome People
Product Manager, Apparel & Accessories (Current Employee), Cypress, CAFebruary 22, 2014
Vans: one of the most succesful lifestyle companies in the last 3 years. Vf Corp N.2 brand in revenue.

About VANS

The movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High put Vans sneakers on the map, but the company owes its current popularity to the fashion – Read more