Find companies:
VANS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

VANS Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment, easy to become a manager.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAMay 23, 2014
Pros: huge discount, easy to be promoted.
Cons: co workers are lame, supervisor is difficult to talk to.
Supervisor was very abrasive, employees only socialize within their cliques leaving new employees ostracized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Vans culture I was always aware of was not relavent in their retail stores
Manager (Former Employee), Tinton Falls, NJMay 21, 2014
Pros: great discount structure and pay rate
Cons: not really condusive to promoting with in from what i could see, lp dept was worst i ever worked with.
I dealt with vans in a private store setting for years so I was extremely excited to get a job with their retail chain. I saw them hire DM's from outside the company with several store managers that should have been promoted but they couldn't even transfer out of the stores they were in. I was suspended for getting product back from a shop lifter. I – more... said give it back he tried to get around me I stepped back two steps and said are you really going to run and he handed me the shoes and he said sorry. No drama or problem and I was told I should of let him take shoes and was treated like a criminal for it. I was running up every month and was the first positive gain in that location and had no other negative marks in 6 months. I love vans products but would avoid their retail stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 21, 2014
Great discount and pay wasn't bad. Getting the right store and manager always is a big deal when it comes to a job. Vans trains on consistency and models a corporation in regards of money and benefit compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back atmosphere with a good discount
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Braintree, MAMay 9, 2014
Learned a lot about merchandising and product placement. Co-workers were chill and friendly. Most enjoyable part of the job was a 50% discount.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Authentic.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 27, 2014
Pros: discount
Working at Vans is all about representing their brand. A typical day involved meeting new people all in some way shape or form that represent Vans whether they be punk, old school, a skater, etc. The management was lovely as were my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job ever
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Commerce, CAApril 17, 2014
word cant explain how great this jobs is. you get to sell an awesome product and get to be yourself while doing it. what more could you ask for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning experience when it came to interacting with customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXApril 15, 2014
Pros: nonjudgmental inviroment, fun, exciting
Cons: low pay rate, took too long to recieve a raise
It was a fun and entertaining job, I loved riding my bike to work and helping customers find what they needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people and engaging job.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chino Hills, CAApril 13, 2014
A typical day consists of getting shoes for customers and keeping the sales floor organized. Some days there are projects to be done. I learned to be more interactive with customers and to provide a pleasant shopping experience. My management has been stellar, they are super friendly and they take my schedule into account when creating work schedules. – more... My co-workers are all super friendly and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job is maintaining a positive and productive attitude even when customers are mean or rude. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting all kinds of neat people and learning about human nature. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
Shop Assitant (Former Employee), Valladolid. SpainApril 2, 2014
Six days for week.
Sales, stock, costumer...
acquire a lot of experience in daily sales, returns
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager- If you are obsessed with the brand, you will love your job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 26, 2014
Pros: great perks. you get free stuff often and opportunities to travel even if you're not a store manager
Cons: assistants don't get paid salary
I worked for Vans as an associate and as an Assistant Manager. The company is great with recognizing hard work and talent within each and every store. They give everyone the same leverage and ownership of the brand by giving intense training as soon as you're hired. It's very easy to get promoted within Vans when you're good at your job and you have – more... an outgoing personality. The job itself is not very hard at all. You do need some level of customer service experience because this job entails that you talk to every single customer that walks into the store. Vans aims to have a environment where they know every customer because they've built a relationship with them. If you're not a talker, this job isn't for you. The company wants your individuality to shine through, so the dress code is pretty laid back. The minimum requirement being that you wear Vans shoes and a Vans top and whatever bottoms you'd like that are appropriate. As a manager, the hardest part about the job is training your associates and even Floor Supervisors on a consistent basis. You will always have something to do (floor sets, window changes, shipment, consol) that will sometimes make it difficult to find time to teach your team new things. You will meet and work with a diverse group of people working for Vans because they hire employees as young as 16 yrs old and there is usually an even balance of male and female employees. The pay is on the low end of retail. If you are hired on as an associate they will start you out at minimum wage regardless of your experience. With management positions it varies depending on if you were hired from within the company or outside of the company. If you want to go to school or do other extracurricular activities outside of work, I think this job will suit you well. The company requires that every store has two Floor Supervisors (keyholders), an Assistant and Store Manager, so you essentially never work overtime because there is an even balance of work load within the management tier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and enjoyable envionment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: good environment, employee morale was good, good training
Cons: not enough hours, pay was awful
Whenever i showed up to work i would get a 5min review of whats going on that day and what I'm going to be doing, whether it may be folding clothes for 6hrs, or helping customers find a pair of shoes. They always had me doing something productive and i enjoyed being busy and feeling like i accomplished something that day. Helping customers with good – more... or bad attitudes has helped me to develop patience for people and being able to defuse bad situations. Providing excellent service was one of my number one priorities. While being at vans my mangers were awesome, always helping us to understand whats going on and if we did something wrong they would help to understand how to fix it and how to prevent it from happening again. One of the hardest things of being at vans is maintaining a good attitude even when your having a bad day. It was really hard to deal with very picky customers when having a bad day, but other than those kinds of days, vans was always fun and they always made it enjoyable to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a laid back feel
Sale Associate (Current Employee), El Centro, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great discount, love the shoes
Cons: advancement is rare
I learned how to make a customer feel welcome
A typical day at work is clean, organize, and sale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very out going people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tulare, CAMarch 17, 2014
dealt with customers helped them find the right shoe size and style that fit their needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace to be.
Route Service Driver (Former Employee), Alsip, ILMarch 11, 2014
Cons: no benefits
i loved the hours 6am-2pm. i learned alot from my parts manager. thats how i moved up the ladder to become parts superviser. management was great and learned alot from them. getting paid everyweek was nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment, Awesome People
Product Manager, Apparel & Accessories (Current Employee), Cypress, CAFebruary 22, 2014
Vans: one of the most succesful lifestyle companies in the last 3 years. Vf Corp N.2 brand in revenue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Terrible work hours
Only worked a couple times
Did a lot of backroom stocking
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, seasonal sucks.
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sparks, NVFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: shoe discount, fun workplace
Cons: bad hours, no benefits.
At work we would get there and be briefed on the sales goal and what zone we were to be assigned to. Like most retail jobs, the hours were bad, about 5-10 a week. And for some reason they continued to hire on more people when they can't distribute reasonable hours to the older employees. The coworkers were awesome, but the managers and supervisors violated – more... company policy constantly. The hardest part of working there was meeting the daily sales goals when we were overstaffed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and gain experience in retail.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Garden City, NYJanuary 29, 2014
I really loved the environment the customers were always really polite. I gain most of my customer service skills here. My manager was always in a good mood which made it really pleasant to work with him.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place ever! Despite a few things
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, people, history, productivity
Cons: certain managers are awful, can be stressful
Working at Vans is probably one of the best jobs I have ever had. The atmosphere is so awesome, and everyone that gets hired there is just so cool and everyone can really create a bond which is great. It is pretty laid back, and there is always something to do! Although sometimes it can be super slammed and stressful, it's still very fun and worth the – more... work. Although at the specific store I work at, if you upset the manager off once and then all your hours go bye bye... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast pace environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gilroy CaJanuary 22, 2014
Good management. It was a fun and fast environment. I learned a lot from this job.

About VANS

The movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High put Vans sneakers on the map, but the company owes its current popularity to the fashion – Read more