Find companies:
VANS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
85 reviews

VANS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning experience when it came to interacting with customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXApril 15, 2014
Pros: nonjudgmental inviroment, fun, exciting
Cons: low pay rate, took too long to recieve a raise
It was a fun and entertaining job, I loved riding my bike to work and helping customers find what they needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people and engaging job.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chino Hills, CAApril 13, 2014
A typical day consists of getting shoes for customers and keeping the sales floor organized. Some days there are projects to be done. I learned to be more interactive with customers and to provide a pleasant shopping experience. My management has been stellar, they are super friendly and they take my schedule into account when creating work schedules. – more... My co-workers are all super friendly and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job is maintaining a positive and productive attitude even when customers are mean or rude. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting all kinds of neat people and learning about human nature. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
Shop Assitant (Former Employee), Valladolid. SpainApril 2, 2014
Six days for week.
Sales, stock, costumer...
acquire a lot of experience in daily sales, returns
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager- If you are obsessed with the brand, you will love your job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 26, 2014
Pros: great perks. you get free stuff often and opportunities to travel even if you're not a store manager
Cons: assistants don't get paid salary
I worked for Vans as an associate and as an Assistant Manager. The company is great with recognizing hard work and talent within each and every store. They give everyone the same leverage and ownership of the brand by giving intense training as soon as you're hired. It's very easy to get promoted within Vans when you're good at your job and you have – more... an outgoing personality. The job itself is not very hard at all. You do need some level of customer service experience because this job entails that you talk to every single customer that walks into the store. Vans aims to have a environment where they know every customer because they've built a relationship with them. If you're not a talker, this job isn't for you. The company wants your individuality to shine through, so the dress code is pretty laid back. The minimum requirement being that you wear Vans shoes and a Vans top and whatever bottoms you'd like that are appropriate. As a manager, the hardest part about the job is training your associates and even Floor Supervisors on a consistent basis. You will always have something to do (floor sets, window changes, shipment, consol) that will sometimes make it difficult to find time to teach your team new things. You will meet and work with a diverse group of people working for Vans because they hire employees as young as 16 yrs old and there is usually an even balance of male and female employees. The pay is on the low end of retail. If you are hired on as an associate they will start you out at minimum wage regardless of your experience. With management positions it varies depending on if you were hired from within the company or outside of the company. If you want to go to school or do other extracurricular activities outside of work, I think this job will suit you well. The company requires that every store has two Floor Supervisors (keyholders), an Assistant and Store Manager, so you essentially never work overtime because there is an even balance of work load within the management tier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and enjoyable envionment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: good environment, employee morale was good, good training
Cons: not enough hours, pay was awful
Whenever i showed up to work i would get a 5min review of whats going on that day and what I'm going to be doing, whether it may be folding clothes for 6hrs, or helping customers find a pair of shoes. They always had me doing something productive and i enjoyed being busy and feeling like i accomplished something that day. Helping customers with good – more... or bad attitudes has helped me to develop patience for people and being able to defuse bad situations. Providing excellent service was one of my number one priorities. While being at vans my mangers were awesome, always helping us to understand whats going on and if we did something wrong they would help to understand how to fix it and how to prevent it from happening again. One of the hardest things of being at vans is maintaining a good attitude even when your having a bad day. It was really hard to deal with very picky customers when having a bad day, but other than those kinds of days, vans was always fun and they always made it enjoyable to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a laid back feel
Sale Associate (Current Employee), El Centro, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great discount, love the shoes
Cons: advancement is rare
I learned how to make a customer feel welcome
A typical day at work is clean, organize, and sale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very out going people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tulare, CAMarch 17, 2014
dealt with customers helped them find the right shoe size and style that fit their needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace to be.
Route Service Driver (Former Employee), Alsip, ILMarch 11, 2014
Cons: no benefits
i loved the hours 6am-2pm. i learned alot from my parts manager. thats how i moved up the ladder to become parts superviser. management was great and learned alot from them. getting paid everyweek was nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment, Awesome People
Product Manager, Apparel & Accessories (Current Employee), Cypress, CAFebruary 22, 2014
Vans: one of the most succesful lifestyle companies in the last 3 years. Vf Corp N.2 brand in revenue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Terrible work hours
Only worked a couple times
Did a lot of backroom stocking
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, seasonal sucks.
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sparks, NVFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: shoe discount, fun workplace
Cons: bad hours, no benefits.
At work we would get there and be briefed on the sales goal and what zone we were to be assigned to. Like most retail jobs, the hours were bad, about 5-10 a week. And for some reason they continued to hire on more people when they can't distribute reasonable hours to the older employees. The coworkers were awesome, but the managers and supervisors violated – more... company policy constantly. The hardest part of working there was meeting the daily sales goals when we were overstaffed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and gain experience in retail.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Garden City, NYJanuary 29, 2014
I really loved the environment the customers were always really polite. I gain most of my customer service skills here. My manager was always in a good mood which made it really pleasant to work with him.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place ever! Despite a few things
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, people, history, productivity
Cons: certain managers are awful, can be stressful
Working at Vans is probably one of the best jobs I have ever had. The atmosphere is so awesome, and everyone that gets hired there is just so cool and everyone can really create a bond which is great. It is pretty laid back, and there is always something to do! Although sometimes it can be super slammed and stressful, it's still very fun and worth the – more... work. Although at the specific store I work at, if you upset the manager off once and then all your hours go bye bye... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast pace environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gilroy CaJanuary 22, 2014
Good management. It was a fun and fast environment. I learned a lot from this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Brother
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), BluewaterJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: uniform allowance
Cons: heartless corporation
Vans use CCTV as a way to spy on and bully staff without just cause.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New environment and a new job
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Riverside, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: new people, fun environment, a chance to succeed in management.
Cons: no benefits, not many hours, not a set schedule.
I have jut recently started working for the company and enjoy the challenge of learning new things. Such as skateboards and some shoes that are made specifically for skateboarding or an active lifestyle.
Apperently there has been new management going in and out for the past few years. As far as I know, everyone (manager wise) has seem to be what I would – more... think a manage would/ should be like.
Co-workers have been great. New, interesting, diverse, and are very easy to get along with.
Hardest part of the job is not being able to give a customer all the information about a product. I wish I knew a few things well, but I am learning as I work.
I enjoy everything about the job. I enjoy the new challenge and the new customers I get to meet during my shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment is fun and energetic, however you are usually only working part-time and getting paid retail employee wages.
Floor Manager (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: usually awesome music and generally fun clientele and the discounts are awesome.
Cons: retail job, hard to advance from within. not enough openings for growth.
Have opening and closing talks with employees. Let them know their goals and update them on their progress every hour. Make sure the visuals are up to date with the corporate standards. Open or close the store in accordance with the stores policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Supervisor (Current Employee), Portsmouth, ENGDecember 19, 2013
Pros: great team
Cons: late night closes
Overall the staff are great, I really enjoy working with my team. However, the management is not so hot this is why I am looking for a new job. There is no organization and feel as though I am doing jobs of the managers job description which I shouldn't really be doing. I feel as though certain things are to set in there ways and are never going to – more... change therefore I know I am not going to progress in this company which is why I am looking elsewhere. I love a challenge and I feel there is nothing more I can do here. I have done all I can and yes there has been some great improvements which is great but nothing is going further so I wish to progress elsewhere in a more respectful company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 18, 2013
Pros: discount
Cons: scheduling and benefits for non mangement
Vans is like no other job I have had before. This place does not feel like a job. It is more like a home. If you apply yourself and are good with people then you will do well. Inside this company there is major room for advancement as long as you are on top of your job (and sometimes others) you will move up in no time. However just like any other job – more... the people will make or break it. Here sometimes you do not have a voice on some issues. When you feel like you are doing what is best for the company and it is working for you if your DM does not like it they will put a stop to whatever that action is. Overall I would recommend this company to anyone who likes retail, or is looking for something "different". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace, energetic, fun environment
Store Manager (Current Employee), Vernon Hills, ILDecember 10, 2013
Fun job that gives you control to run the business as if it were your own store.

About VANS

The movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High put Vans sneakers on the map, but the company owes its current popularity to the fashion – Read more