VANS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 November 2017
I've learned many valuable skills. I enjoyed the job. other employees were nice and very helpful. I've learned how to manage my time and connect with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chill workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC24 May 2017
this job was very chill not a very busy store, great discount, the staff are all very nice and the management is firm but very calm and a great work place environment.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 May 2017
Some people gossip a lot and don't stay true to each other as a team. The manager is really nice but almost every assistant manager will be hypocritical. Not the best environment to work on if you want to have a good job experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC1 May 2017
Working at Vans was a fun and loving experience. All the staff were super friendly and provided a very welcoming environment. There was no judgements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment with it's fair share of flaws
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 April 2017
The most important thing I learned was how to handle situations involving a a disrespectful customer and fellow employees who were not suitable for a management position. Putting my differences aside allowed me to build relationships with my coworkers and provided a better experience for the customers.
Pros
Great co-workers (Sales associates).
Cons
No breaks. Poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vans
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 April 2017
dope place to work, everyone is super chill. vans shoes and accessories are good quality.
they suck at keeping staff, but youll make good friends while working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super entreprise
Commis aux ventes (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC14 February 2017
agréable en plus il y a des bonus de mission sur chaque ventes
Pros
commission
Cons
courtes pauses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, lots of great experiences.
Stock Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 December 2016
I loved my job at Vans. I met some great people and got so many experiences to move up in the company. I'd love to stay unfortunately I am in need of more hours.
Pros
Great friends, great work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 November 2016
Really slow in the winter time, bad hours. Hours are based off sales goal so one week youre top seller and get the most hours then the next week you fall down the ladder a little a get no hours.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job but unreliable hours
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 August 2016
Vans was a very relaxed work space with great management, but the hours you get are not guaranteed and you may get them cut every week
Pros
You get to work with a great team
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Retail Environment
Stock/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  900 Maple Ave, Burlington, ON2 August 2016
-During the day is mostly doing tasking as it is fairly slow. At night it picks up, we help customers and maintain/recover the store for the next day.
-I learned a lot about customer service and management in my short time as a Stock Supervisor
-It was overall a great experiance, both the employees and customers loved being there. It was fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced work environment.
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC30 March 2016
-typical work day is very busy and filled with lots of customer interaction
-learn about what a great company I worked for and how to offer exceptional customer service
-working for a great family oriented company with great roots in the skate culture was a blessing
Pros
great employee discount, employees are the companies top priority
Cons
unstable management and little to no attention from corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Energetic environment
Stock Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON1 February 2016
Best Job ive ever had more than what I expected from a retail company. They treat the employees so well I loved it.
Learned so much from all the different types of customers from all walks of life. Best part of the job is genuinely getting to know your customer as a friend.
Pros
Promotions
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail
vendeuse (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 November 2015
Je travail à Montréal downtown, il y a toujours du monde, on ai jamais seul. J'ai plusieurs client qui viennent de partout, alors je met en pratique mon anglais et espagnol. J'adore servir les client, créé un liens avec eux, savoir pourquoi ils viennent nous voir. Les aspects les plus difficiles, je dirais que desfois on ai vraiment déborder mais on s'en sort vraiment bien, on a une belle esprit d'équipe. L'aspect agréable, c'est toujours agréable de travail au Vans, c'est un endroit qui me ressemble beaucoup alors je suis vraiment alaise a vendre mon produit.
Pros
En ville
Cons
pas beaucoup d'heure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun workplace
Sales Associate/Cashier (seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 October 2015
Everybody at the company is super friendly and very easy to get along with. The benefits are amazing and everybody is very understanding.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice staff
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC25 September 2015
staff is amazing, it's really fun but we don't have enough hours. sometimes only 5h but right now it's a dead time, it'll be better at the end of november
Pros
50% off on everything
Cons
not a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very welcoming environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON28 July 2014
Vans outlet consisted of an amazing staff and an even better management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, and Diverse Workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 December 2012
The managers and fellow co-workers are extremely friendly and approachable, the hours are flexible, and there's always something to do in regards to on-shift duties
Pros
discounted products
Cons
oddly distributed hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report

See more VANS reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at VANS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 661 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.3