Find companies:
VANS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
97 reviews

VANS Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, and Diverse Workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 31, 2012
Pros: discounted products
Cons: oddly distributed hours
The managers and fellow co-workers are extremely friendly and approachable, the hours are flexible, and there's always something to do in regards to on-shift duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with a rich culture and the employees to back it
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 18, 2014
A typical day at work is like any retail store, helping customers and completing operational tasks, but the culture behind the brand makes it even more fun and easier to sell. I started as a sales associate, worked my way up to management about two years ago and I have learned so much ever since, not only about the company but about myself. Every day – more... I go to work I have the confidence in myself and my co-workers that we will meet our goals while providing the best possible experience for all of our customers, every time. The hardest part of the job is by far the holidays, but in my opinion, working in the more fast paced environment keep everyone on track and there is always a sense of urgency to successfully make it through the day. The most enjoyable part of the job is being surrounded by co-workers that bring a positive energy to the store and the brand itself. Though I'll hate to leave them and this great company, it is simply time for me to move on to bigger and better things! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for students and first timers
Floor Supervisor, (Current Employee), Santa Rosa, CANovember 7, 2014
Vans is a very relaxed and kick back job. It is perfect for those in school looking for flexibility in scheduling and a stress free job. There isnt too much room for advancement though, and its pay is not enough to necessarily live off of. I do very much enjoy it though, and am glad to be employed there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Off the wall
Temporary Sales Associate (Former Employee), Queens, NYNovember 5, 2014
In seasonal jobs you have to learn and work quickly. Especially if it's during the holidays. I learned about promo codes, scan numbers, had an actual class on how to approach customers. The better you work, the more they'll call you in. The most enjoyable part about the job is giving the customer exactly what they wanted and them thanking me for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pool table, vending machines
Order Puller (Former Employee), Cerritos, CANovember 4, 2014
picking items; clothes, skateboard items. cool coworkers and leaders, wrapping clothing items in plastic
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day with the vanily
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Murray, UTNovember 3, 2014
Pros: fast, meet new people, good coworkers and management, and good clothes
Cons: hours accommodating school.
This is the first job i ever loved. My coworkers became my family and i cant express the love i had for them and how well we worked together. Encouragement and criticism everywhere. I loved being about to talk to everyone and meet new people everyday. The job basically consisted of talking and selling but it was more important to be friendly and make – more... a positive impact, then i to make a sale. I miss working at vans so much, and ill never forget that impact that my managers and coworkers had on me. I struggled at first with sales but the longer i worked the more i learned and grew. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great corporate leaders, but its retail.
Store Manager (Current Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 26, 2014
The duties of a store manager are extremely heavy. I love everything this brand stands for, but you have to really love working in retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 9, 2014
Pros: free shoes on first day
• Greeting customers who enter the shop.
• Involved in stock control and management.
• Keeping the store tidy and clean, this includes hovering and mopping.
• Advised customers as they made purchasing decisions
• Assisted customers with financial transactions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with career growth opportunities.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Flagstaff, AZOctober 7, 2014
5+ years with the company in the retail environment. Fun work environment, great company culture, and many growing opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this company.
Lead Cashier/ Stock (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 5, 2014
Fun
Exciting
Great workplace
Great management
Great Employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Relaxed, Fun Workplace.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 1, 2014
If I were to open the store I would most likely always make sure all the shoes were in their correct place then open the store, same with closing but at closing time I would arrange all the clothing racks and shoes. Interacting with customers was always a must because that's how you would have to sell shoes or apparel.

I learned how to improve my people – more... skills.

Management was very friendly.

Some co-workers were hard to get a long with but for the most part they all helped you out with anything you needed, and we also communicated a ton via walkie talkies.

The hardest part of my job was having to up sell a customer even after they had told me they weren't interested in whichever product I was trying to sell them.

I would have to say the most enjoyable part of was meeting customers from other countries and hearing about their travels. The store I worked in got lots of foreigners during the summer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: fun, easy-going, great environment.
Cons: pay
Every beginning of your shift they tell you your sales goals and tasks. You assists customers with their purchases all while completing your tasks. The mangers and co-workers are very easy-going and the environment is very laid-back. The hardest part of job is dealing with how busy it gets on the weekends and the holidays.
The most enjoyable part of – more... the job is the people you meet and helping fun people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they didnt have enough room to play ping pong for most co-workers
shell picker (Former Employee), Santa Fe Springs, CASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: no free lunches
Cons: short breaks
what I learned in vans is picking and labeling . My ex co-worker are awesome if they see you need help they help without asking if you need it teamwork. The hardest part of the job will be to stay on your feet's more then 9 hours a day walking up aisle and pushing 8 boxes with item in it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish My boss would have been different
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere, pleasant co-workers
Cons: emotional bosses
I know you can't choose who you are working for, however, my boss at the time was going through a horrible break up and took it out on everybody. I decided at the end of my seasonal run, that I wouldn't be applying for a full-time position due to her craziness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for a family man or woman
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: free clothing
Cons: low pay
cant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on – more... timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on timecant pay bill on time – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, laid back workplace where co-workers are like family!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cypress, TXJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good retail experience, many friendships made
Cons: internal issues with managment, very low pay
Vans was my first job and working there has been a great learning experience whether it be learning life skills or retail skills. I have learned how to be a part of a team that is working together to reach a goal and how to communicate with one another on the means of reaching the goal as well as providing excellent customer service 100% of the time. – more... I was able to learn how to prevent or control tense situations whether it be with customers or co-workers. A typical day at Vans is usually stress free and very laid back. Rules are definitely in place but the mature environment and attitude of the employees makes working there fairly easy. I love majority of my co-workers, I am closer with some than others yet there is no ill-will or bad blood between me or any of the other Vans employees. The majority of the staff is easy to get along with. The management does a good job at what they do, some management members better than others. There's been recent turmoil with the management team and associates and I strongly believe the management team could have done a better job handling the situations that came about. There is a lot of favoritism among the management towards the associates and that sometimes creates nonsense issues. Overall, I love my management team and respect each and every one of them. The hardest part of the job is approaching a displeased customer and trying to resolve the issue after they have reached a certain point of frustration. Definitely the most enjoyable part of the job is engaging with customers and helping them find exactly what they're looking for and watching them leave the store pleased and giddy as ever. It lets me know I've done a good job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with a great enviorment and managers
Sales associate (Former Employee), MantecaJuly 3, 2014
Pros: fun managers, great experiences, lovely enviorment
Cons: no sales associate were given decent hours or wages.
Typical day at work consisted of me straightening and organizing all the shoes and clothing. Then immediately jumping on the sales floor. I learned how to comfortably engage customers and how to up sale. My managers were fun and very friendly. And my co-workers were just as good. The hardest part of the job is when it got slammed, but selling and running – more... back and forth finding items was fun and thrilling as well. I loved making a customer happy with my service and making it on the sales chart was very gratifying. The only down side was the amount of hours and the pay check and wage was not worth all the effort nor were paying what i needed to pay for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace little store
Vans - Sales Floor Manager/Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee), Elmhurst, NYJuly 2, 2014
It was the highest volume vans store in the NY region, it taught me a lot about patients since I was managing high school students, and training new management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Montebello, CAJuly 2, 2014
it was my first job for about a month, wasn't getting use to it working at a young age
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Concord, CAJune 29, 2014
I learned everything I know from working at Vans. Fun and fast paced but challenging. Great management and terrific employees!

1 2 3 4 5

About VANS

The movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High put Vans sneakers on the map, but the company owes its current popularity to the fashion – Read more