Find companies:
Vanguard
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
302 reviews

Vanguard Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Controlling job with great benefits and a positive workplace
Client Service Specialist (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 25, 2015
Pros: Great benefits, Low pressure, work stays at work, and great product.
Cons: Micro managed, limited opportunity on campus, and management rolls out unfinished initiatives
Have to be at work exactly 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM not a second early or late. Management generally cares about you. Benefits are outstanding but the pay is something you give up for job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and retire from
Customer Service Operation Analyst (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 16, 2015
Pros: promotions
Cons: have to pass your 6 series and 7 and have a brokage if not you out the door
A typical day when you go into work have to log on to systems always came in 15 min early to get focused. Once you log on to the system have to have a smile on your face although the client cant see you but they can hear the smile on your face. I learned a great deal working there. from investments to how to determined what's a good fund to invest in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to learn the industry
Beneficiary Administrator (Former Employee), Malvern, PA 19355May 14, 2015
Vanguard is typical of a company heavy in middle management. There is little to no decision making or risk taking is highly frowned upon by management. Any attempt do stretch outside of the day to day role is not offered, it is a company very slowly moving away from the past and only when it is forced to,

Great place to learn the business since they put a lot of effort into helping cadidtates passing licensing, then to move on to another irm which encourages taking risks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to work for a Company with such a good product
High Net Worth Retail Inheritance Specialist (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 11, 2015
Pros: Good benefits
Cons: Short breaks
In the seven years that I have worked at Vanguard I have been trained on Vanguard products, the financial industry, Vanguard web site, IRAs, trust and SEC regulations by completing Series 7,6 and 63.
The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the constant change going on in the company and adapting your work to make sure the client is serviced.
Management is supportive and encouraging.
The best part of my job are the clients.
I have been very fortunate to work with high level of intelligent people who support each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Systems Engineer, Tier 3 (Current Employee), Valley Forge, PAMay 11, 2015
Fast pace, yet enjoyable place to work. Great people and top notch technology. There are a large number of people who have worked there for 15 years or more and are still very happy to be working for Vanguard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vanguard
High Net Worth Investment Representative (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 28, 2015
Vanguard is an amazing company and the job culture matches their investment strategy, diversified and reserved. The Job Work/Life balance is unmatchable and they take amazing care of their employees with everything to an abundance of paid vacation, amazing benefits, and even on site health and training facilities. The job training is the best that I have ever experienced or even ever heard of. The company provided paid training for all licenses including the Series 6, 63, and even the 7, which is not common in the investment world.

The one downfall for the company is the job advancement portion, at least out of the Charlotte, NC location. With it being the smallest of the companies 3 major locations, there is a definite ceiling that you will reach. The job security will always be there however the limitation of advancement creates a limitation on compensation as well. Rival companies surpass Vanguard in compensation for the same type of positions, however the other companies my not have the same job culture, work/life balance, job security, or training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, positive, and fun
Mentor Program (Former Employee), Matteson, ILApril 24, 2015
Fun place to be. You get to know so many different people and you all create a bond with each other. From time to time they schedule trips and set up activities like basketball and football games.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but strong culture.
Sales Analyst (Current Employee), Malvern, PAApril 23, 2015
I learned to work smart not hard. The hardest part of the job are the mundane tasks that do not challenge you or get you out of your comfort zone in order to stretch you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vanguard
Client Relationship Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 14, 2015
Pros: Long term Career Growth
Cons: Location is not downtown Charlotte
A great place to work. I learned about asset allocation and the importance of low cost in your investing. The work environment is great and very friendly. The most enjoyable part of the day was working in the team environment since everyone had different skill sets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and to know all
UI DEVELOPER (Current Employee), Malvern, PAApril 10, 2015
Vanguard is the world's largest mutual fund company, with about $2.4 trillion invested in the U.S. in more than 170 index, active, and exchange-traded funds. Currently working as a UI Developer for an internal application. Responsible for application development to access JSON & XML from RESTful Web Service from consumer side using JavaScript and AngularJS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company to work for
Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 10, 2015
Gained investment industry knowledge with no background in finance/investments. There's little room for growth, but the knowledge gain while on assignment was invaluable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Custodian (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CAApril 2, 2015
Pros: paid lunches....
Easy going boss very understanding but determined to keep the clients happy and satisfied with our commitment to make things happen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Communication Administrator (Former Employee), Malvern, PAApril 2, 2015
I had a great experience working at Vanguard. I learned a lot and was able to advance in my career. The culture is great and the training program is excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating
Client Relationship Associate (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 30, 2015
Overall working at Vanguard was a pain. People there took to the Vanguard's philosophy and couldn't think for themselves. They acted like robots. If a client called and asked about something that wasn't 'per the books' other collegues automatically rerouted to someone else instead of trying to think for themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies to work for
Email Designer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 23, 2015
Pros: amazing benefit package
The people are very nice and love their jobs. The benefits for full-time employees is above average. Overall a happy environment to work in. Company really takes care of its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Bad
Registered Financial Representative (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 23, 2015
Good hours, lower stress and great benefits.

Advancement was very difficult. People that were extremely qualified wondered why they were never given promotions. Figuring out how your yearly raise was given required a calculus degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is a temporary agency
Various Positions (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMarch 23, 2015
You are interviewed and sent to various companies. You have choice or obtaining a temporary position or a temp to perm position. It is enjoyable and you have to follow all rules as with any company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VANGUARD
LEAD GENERATION Cabinet Refacing (Former Employee), GEORGIAMarch 21, 2015
LEADS GENERATION

There are no sales involved, simply inform the customer about the services we offer and schedule an in home appointment with them. We will do the rest!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and modern and clean kitchen
Sous Chef/Line Cook (Current Employee), Malvern, PAMarch 12, 2015
Pros: learning from experienced chefs; great commute
Cons: had to be self starter; timeclock out of order so hours not correctly compensated
I love the location and the customers are great at Vanguard, however, I'm looking for an opportunity to showcase my experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Retirement Specialist (Current Employee), Malvern, PAMarch 11, 2015
It is an 9-5 shift where I am speaking with clients and speaking about their investments. I learned the foundations of the financial world and they have a great training i.e Vanguard University.

About Vanguard

About Vanguard Vanguard is the client-owned investment company that is reducing cost and complexity for all investors. Since – Read more