Vancouver Film School Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my Final Project at Vancouver Film School
Level Designer, Programmer, and Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 April 2017
Final Project for my time at Vancouver Film School at the Game Design Program. I was the Project Manager, Level Designer, and assisted with the Programming on the Game.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I could be more confidence when I am performing in the future.
Performer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 February 2016
I could have had more acting experience, and accumulated after a certain degree until I can perfect their own show in front of everybody, I could bring everyone my joy and relaxation.
Pros
Performance experience
Cons
long hours to train
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Faculty
Vocal Teacher/ Accompanist (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC13 October 2015
My years at VFS were life-changing, and provided me with the opportunity to impart my passion of music, to many students.
I was allowed the gift of personal growth, and guidance to re-shape my teaching style, and create with so many talented professionals.
I had the very best co-workers, all of whom remain friends, and would return in a heartbeat.
Pros
Excellent
Cons
a lower staff morale due to some curriculum changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fun place to work
International Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver17 March 2015
Being a sales representative on a salary, we were often asked to put in 100+ hour work weeks, work from home etc. It made providing a balanced life for my family quite difficult. The job itself was very fun, the atmosphere was great.
Pros
bonus plans, incentive structures
Cons
Incredibly long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Exciting, New Challenge Every Day
Administrative Assistant - Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 October 2014
There is no 'typical' day at VFS. Every day provided new challenges in how to improve the student experience. Every staff contribution helps to keep VFS the "premier post-secondary entertainment arts institution and one of the most distinguished in the world."
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suckage
Operations (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 July 2014
Management has no clue. No communication. No job security. Courses are overpriced. Instructors are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much camaraderie, a lot of talk with no follow through. They hire and fire based on personality as apposed to professionalism and work ethics.
Operations (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 July 2013
No support from colleagues. You are expected to learn new things on your own.
Upper management are elitist.
If you don't have the same social standing (or, in this case an alternative life style) as the rest of the staff you will be looked down on and ostracized.
Pros
If you fit the social criteria, it can be fun.
Cons
Bad training. Untrustworthy management.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working enviroment with little stress
Principal Driver; Campus Mail Courier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 February 2013
Full time 40 hour a week job with an excellent salary and friendly co-workers.

I was the principal delivery driver and mail courier for the school.
Every day was different as my responsibilities changed.
One day would be picking up camera's from richmond, another, i would be helping transporting people between campus locations.
Pros
excellent wage, friendly co-workers, sense of importance in company
Cons
occasional monotonous moments
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the go with the capable students of VFS.
"The Sphinx" - Pilot Series (Former Employee) –  Vancouver BC2 October 2012
Lots of networking
Very friendly environment.
Always prepared and flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Vancouver Film School reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Vancouver Film School. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

Vancouver Film School Reviews by Location