Find companies:
Vale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
475 reviews

Vale Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good hours of work
Central Control Room Operator / Spare Supervisor (Former Employee), LabradorDecember 15, 2014
12 hour shifts I learned to train personell in various positions management was good very helpful when needed co workers were natives which I got along with very good I trained all of them in mineral processing hardest part of the job was leaving home for 2 weeks but I have been doing that for 16 years never gets easier but I lov love to work most enjoyable – more... was getting to know the ore and what to do to get better recoveries – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large mining company
Engineer (Former Employee), Thompson, MBNovember 14, 2014
Vale is a large mining company with assets within Canada in the canadian-shield. These assets are in mining towns which is what anyone should expect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine fine fine fine fine
Administrator & Document Control (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONNovember 8, 2014
Fine fine fine fine fineFine fine fine fine fine
Fine fine fine fine fine
Fine fine fine fine fine
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A one year Contract
Mine Labourer (Former Employee), Levack, ONOctober 16, 2014
Pros: learned safe working practices
Cons: contract
I worked underground at the 3070 level of the mine, in the mobile department. I assembled and organized the new parts department, and made barcodes for each part and inputted them into the database. This new system helped Vale know exactly how many parts were in inventory, and ensured there was no overstock and understock and when an order would have – more... to be made. The number one objective was to reduce the down time between jobs. I worked Monday to Thursday ten and half hours a day. The best part about my job at Vale was the attention to safety, working safe is the upmost important aspect to any job that will ensure you come home to your family after each shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety concsious, lots of training, plenty of room for advancement
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Thompson, MBAugust 20, 2014
Pros: good wages and benefits, high safety standards
Cons: generally negative workforce, take much for granted and complain alot
Excellent benefits and pay, very safe environment and industry leading safety programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project and Program Manager (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJune 16, 2014
Pros: work balance
Cons: slowly to change something
- Management level with good knowledge
- Excellent environment
- Big company, so things change slowly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was my first electrical company
Co-op Electrical Apprentice - Vale (Former Employee), Copper Cliff, ONApril 17, 2014
Pros: great start for career
Cons: no work
worked with very informed electricians taught a lot about safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Workterm Student (Current Employee), Long Harbour, NLFebruary 12, 2014
a typical day at work consists of going into the office and doing some computer work. Also, going out onto site and doing inspections of some of the buildings on site. It isn't intense work, but it keeps me busy. Th co-workers are great, and approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Receptive to Change
Operations Technician - Commissioning Team (Current Employee), Long Harbour, NLAugust 12, 2013
Pros: potentially equal time on and off when plant is operational
Cons: poor salary structure
Plant is in the comissioning stage, therefore going through though changes with scope of work, which is dependant on construction completion.

A typical day will inclue reviewing and updating procedures, walking flow paths and reading and modifying P&ID's

Managment is dealing with changing deadlines pertaining to construction completion.

Good Crew – more... Selected for the first hire of techs, based on attitude and apptitude test.

The potential for advancment and salary increase is the most discouraging with this company, and not being fully utilized to my potential.

The most enjoyable part is learning what it takes to commission a plant and the attention to detail that it requires. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Workplace, Volatile Business
Chemical Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga ONJuly 16, 2013
Vale Base Metals Technology Division in Mississauga WAS a fantastic place to work with wonderful people and a great atmosphere. Unfortunately, due to the ups and downs of the mining industry it is currently on a down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Apprentice Pay
INDUSTRIAL ELECTRICIAN APPRENTICE (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 20, 2013
Good Apprentice Pay, Good Benefits, Good Co-workers, Industrial Environment, Dirty, Hazardous Locations, Good Mix of Work Assignments, Physically Demanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Forklift operator (Former Employee), Port Colborne,OntFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: had great co-workers
Cons: being on contract
Was in research department so we were always doing different projects. Had the opputunity to learn new things. Worked with different chemicals. Mixed,weighed and labelled for shipping. Management was great and all friendly.Co-workers were all helpfull and friendly. The hardest part of the job was saying good-bye. We were all on contract and all got – more... laid off at the same time as we had no more funding for projects for the 2013 year. Was the best job i ever had learning and given the chance with really no experience at all working in a chemical refinery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good to work for 30 years
Underground Miner (Former Employee), Thompson, MBFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: excellent co-workers
Cons: long hours
Excellent to work for
Good co-workers
Learned lots
Good Safety rules
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good company to work for and treated me well and I gave them my best in return
firstline supervisor (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONOctober 30, 2012
Pros: excellent people to work with
Cons: i had no dislikes to my job. when the days got long and hectic it brought out the best in me
As a supervisor I was responsible to ensure taht all people were gainfully employed and that they were giving all imformation relevent to thger daily tasks that would allow them to safely perform their job. I was responsible to do daily audits to ensure that each person was working to standard and not putting his/hers or others safety at risk.Being – more... a supervisor for so long has given me an excellent level of people and communication skills. I get along well with all levels of people and enjoy working hands on with them. This is probably why I remained a firstline supervisor for so long. I have an excellent ability to assess situations and react accordingly. The hardest part of my job was issuing discipline.When I had to I tried to always make it constructive and educational. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad managment
Apprenticeship Electrical co-op (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONSeptember 10, 2012
no organization for new employies, nothings organized

the co-workers were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If You Like The Far North this is it
millwright (Former Employee), Thompson, MBApril 4, 2012
Pros: fishing
Cons: far away from the world
Had My best Millwrighting Job there working in the Pump Shop. Rebuilding and installing pumps in the Refinery. Was there 9 mons. and wish I could have stayed, but had to return to Ontario at the time. Guys were great to work with but management had some issues that they should work on. I focused on my job stayed out of that but it was sometimes a pain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging conditions and rewarding achievements.
Shift Manager / ERZ Controller (Former Employee), Coppabella, QLDOctober 16, 2014
Pros: even time roster + bibo from mackay
Cons: long shift hours + challenging underground conditions
Enjoyed managing production shifts.
Enjoyed managing production crews.
Gained experience with Cut and Flit mining.
Gained further experience in Longwall mining.
Gained further experience in Roadway Development mining.
Further developed a high level of team participation with both upper Management and the Production workforce.
Enjoyed working with a – more... good Management and the Production workforce.
Left due to retrenchment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
development panel work (Former Employee), coppabellaOctober 12, 2014
good people to work for,good work culture and inforstructure,food and accomadation supplied
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambitious but Not Talented
Instructional Designer (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MISeptember 15, 2014
Pros: espresso machine, location
Cons: baffling management decisions
A group of relatively bright and well-meaning people started this company with a good idea but quickly got lost and in over their heads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer with experience in managing large assets
Predictive Supervisor and Reliability Engineering (Former Employee), São Luís, MaranhãoAugust 12, 2014
Pros: complex projects and autonomy
Cons: bad geographic location for management training and too great team
Engineer with experience in managing large assets in units of industrial and logistics business that had spent 4 years in leadership positions;

• Manager of predictive inspection of the largest iron ore port of Vale, leading the implementation of on-li monitoring having a estimate budget of R$ 14 million until 2017;
• Technical Manager of site reliability – more... engineering, having experience with analytical tools like lean manufacturing, TPM, six sigma, system reliability, life and data analysis, and FMEA/FMECA;
• Coordinator for implementation board of SAP (One Vale Project) having a corporative cost of US$ 2 billion;
• Coordinator of maintenance management system, VPS (Vale Production System) at maintenance dimension with 8 awards of maintenance practices at loss treatment and failure prevention blocks in last 4 years;
• Experience on the development of maps of maintenance preventive stops , management of great maintenance stops with PMI methodology;
• Industrial development engineer responsible for the coordination all manufacturing process changings using CEP, FMEA and TRY OUT;
• Experience at releasing of new products acting like layout inspection engineer and manufacturing process optimization, clients and providers support. Consolidated experience using APQP, PPAP e MSA;
• Lead auditor of manufacturing process as coordinator of maintenance and accreditation auditioning for automotive industry specific regulations; – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Vale

Vale S.A. is a Brazilian diversified mining multinational corporation and one of the largest logistics operators in Brazil.In – Read more