Find companies:
Vale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
387 reviews

Vale Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project and Program Manager (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJune 16, 2014
Pros: work balance
Cons: slowly to change something
- Management level with good knowledge
- Excellent environment
- Big company, so things change slowly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was my first electrical company
Co-op Electrical Apprentice - Vale (Former Employee), Copper Cliff, ONApril 17, 2014
Pros: great start for career
Cons: no work
worked with very informed electricians taught a lot about safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Workterm Student (Current Employee), Long Harbour, NLFebruary 12, 2014
a typical day at work consists of going into the office and doing some computer work. Also, going out onto site and doing inspections of some of the buildings on site. It isn't intense work, but it keeps me busy. Th co-workers are great, and approachable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the employies were great to work with
retired miner (Former Employee), Copper Cliff, ONJanuary 17, 2014
meet with crew at start of shift and discuss the days work. go over safety for previous day and present days work. See what other work was being done in other parts of the mine. The hardest part of the job was when equipment was broken and you had to wait for it to be repaired and the most enjoyable part was that you did the job safely and efficiently
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Receptive to Change
Operations Technician - Commissioning Team (Current Employee), Long Harbour, NLAugust 12, 2013
Pros: potentially equal time on and off when plant is operational
Cons: poor salary structure
Plant is in the comissioning stage, therefore going through though changes with scope of work, which is dependant on construction completion.

A typical day will inclue reviewing and updating procedures, walking flow paths and reading and modifying P&ID's

Managment is dealing with changing deadlines pertaining to construction completion.

Good Crew – more... Selected for the first hire of techs, based on attitude and apptitude test.

The potential for advancment and salary increase is the most discouraging with this company, and not being fully utilized to my potential.

The most enjoyable part is learning what it takes to commission a plant and the attention to detail that it requires. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Workplace, Volatile Business
Chemical Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga ONJuly 16, 2013
Vale Base Metals Technology Division in Mississauga WAS a fantastic place to work with wonderful people and a great atmosphere. Unfortunately, due to the ups and downs of the mining industry it is currently on a down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Apprentice Pay
INDUSTRIAL ELECTRICIAN APPRENTICE (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 20, 2013
Good Apprentice Pay, Good Benefits, Good Co-workers, Industrial Environment, Dirty, Hazardous Locations, Good Mix of Work Assignments, Physically Demanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Forklift operator (Former Employee), Port Colborne,OntFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: had great co-workers
Cons: being on contract
Was in research department so we were always doing different projects. Had the opputunity to learn new things. Worked with different chemicals. Mixed,weighed and labelled for shipping. Management was great and all friendly.Co-workers were all helpfull and friendly. The hardest part of the job was saying good-bye. We were all on contract and all got – more... laid off at the same time as we had no more funding for projects for the 2013 year. Was the best job i ever had learning and given the chance with really no experience at all working in a chemical refinery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good to work for 30 years
Underground Miner (Former Employee), Thompson, MBFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: excellent co-workers
Cons: long hours
Excellent to work for
Good co-workers
Learned lots
Good Safety rules
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good company to work for and treated me well and I gave them my best in return
firstline supervisor (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONOctober 30, 2012
Pros: excellent people to work with
Cons: i had no dislikes to my job. when the days got long and hectic it brought out the best in me
As a supervisor I was responsible to ensure taht all people were gainfully employed and that they were giving all imformation relevent to thger daily tasks that would allow them to safely perform their job. I was responsible to do daily audits to ensure that each person was working to standard and not putting his/hers or others safety at risk.Being – more... a supervisor for so long has given me an excellent level of people and communication skills. I get along well with all levels of people and enjoy working hands on with them. This is probably why I remained a firstline supervisor for so long. I have an excellent ability to assess situations and react accordingly. The hardest part of my job was issuing discipline.When I had to I tried to always make it constructive and educational. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad managment
Apprenticeship Electrical co-op (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONSeptember 10, 2012
no organization for new employies, nothings organized

the co-workers were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If You Like The Far North this is it
millwright (Former Employee), Thompson, MBApril 4, 2012
Pros: fishing
Cons: far away from the world
Had My best Millwrighting Job there working in the Pump Shop. Rebuilding and installing pumps in the Refinery. Was there 9 mons. and wish I could have stayed, but had to return to Ontario at the time. Guys were great to work with but management had some issues that they should work on. I focused on my job stayed out of that but it was sometimes a pain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiresome and achieved
IT Project Manager (Current Employee), Maputo, MozambiqueFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: flexible time
Cons: being chased and pushed by program manager to deliver
The day started with progress meetings and removing activities barriers e.g To obtain 1). Approval of proposed solution, 2). Approval of budget.

I learnt that emails to get approval doesn't work effectively. I got approvals by going to managers concern.

I managed waiting approval time by re-shuffling activities so that none dependencies activities – more... were being action while waiting for approvals.

The most hardest part was to convince team leaders the change of activites of the day because we had no approvals to proceed from client.

Unplanned activites of the day were completed and partly planned activites of the day were also completed. We were ahead of planned time. This was achievement and enjoyable part of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to operate and maintain tugboats in the best
Chief Engineer (Former Employee), Vitória, ESFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: working onboard
Cons: far from loved ones
to coordinate working day with the team
people like discuss
organization is important for having a productive day
care about people
risk
mission accomplished
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Multicultural Work Environment
Environmental Analyst (Current Employee), BlantyreNovember 13, 2013
Pros: free lunch and transport, performance based bonus, acknowledgement and praise when tasks are carried out in a timely manner
Cons: long hours, working in rough and hot terrain, company not solely open to new ideas
Employees are general close so a typical day at work is usually productive and fun, however since it is a Multicultural Environment there sometimes tends to be some office politics, though with that said it is a refreshing experience to learn different things for different cultures. I have learnt how to handle different situations as the arise. I am – more... learning to speak portuguese since the company is a Brazilian company. I have learnt and improved how to better implement Environmental management systems. Most of my co workers are great to work with and i have learnt a lot from them, however sometimes there are some unnecessary issues related to race and background but i am pleased to say as we continue to work together this situation is continously improving. The hardest part of the Job is communication breakdown, we have some employees that do not understand English so it sometimes makes implementing things a bit difficult. Another challenge sometimes taking initiative and thinking outside the box can lead you into trouble. The company is set on its procedures that sometimes new ideas are not tolerated depending on the mangement. The most enjoyable part is I get to work at my own pace and have been trused with responsibilities therefore i hardly have my supervisers and mangers breathing down my neck. Another great thing about working here is that being a part of such a huge project of railway construction. For thesake project everybody comes together to help one another despite the challenges and conflicts and i think that is absolutely awesome. I enjoy the team work the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORK PLACE
PROCESS Engineer (Current Employee), SOHAR OMANOctober 19, 2013
Pros: free transport and free lunches
Cons: nothing
VALE has very good reputation for employee welfare and safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work and Productivity
LUBE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Nouvelle CaledonieSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: benefit's and salary
Cons: culture's of other countries
Different work environment, Learned many things including cultures of different nations, their behavior at work and the climate. Hardest is coping in the attitude of my co-workers because of their different values at work and behavior. The enjoyable part is the salary is big
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn and you have a great work-life balance
Senior Procurement Analyst - Drilling Equipment (Current Employee), Rio de Janeiro, BrazilAugust 18, 2013
Pros: great bonus upto 6 salaries
Cons: some management decissions that need to be followed despite not agreeing totally
I work on getting our mining operations the equipment they need to operate. We are a small team of analysts responsible for getting the best commercial conditions for the right equipment considering also safety and quality. I start at 9 some days and 8 am three times a week, I rather start earlier because I believe I am more productive in the morning – more... and then if I finish early I have more time for sports or some other activities.

My co-workers are nice and very professional people and so is my boss.

The hardest parts of my job and the most fun too is to negotiate with vendors, mainly when we have big differences in commercial and legal issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some very good people
Shift Undermanager (Former Employee), Vale do Paraíba, SPAugust 14, 2013
Worked as a Shift Undermanager
Development Superintendent
Outbye Superintendent
Was involved in some very challenging projects, had good support from people inside the buisness
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vale
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee), SingletonApril 1, 2013
Pros: pay, lunch at end of day just prior to leaving work area & friendships
Cons: hours (sod), uncertainty of employment
Management was imbalanced, ie: good & bad.
production employees overall were good
3 days off, each week was good due to 10 hour days

1 2 3 4 5

About Vale

Vale S.A. is a Brazilian diversified mining multinational corporation and one of the largest logistics operators in Brazil.In – Read more