Valard Construction LP Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Electrical Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 January 2018
Great place to work very good environment. always a positive culture. everyone works together very well. management and field team coordinate very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be white
Heavy Duty Mechanic ( Red Seal) (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB28 December 2017
Having worked with the service manager previously,, when he was a contract welder. I had been called a Indian. With himself calling himself the the boss now I would not recommend any one of anything other than white apply. Some of these bosses have to pay the price for being preajjust sooner rather than later. Can see him treating anyone other than white skinned with respect.beware as he or they allow this behaviour in this company
Pros
Being white and from Nova Scotia
Cons
Being anything but from the East
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No long term opportunities
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador27 December 2017
This company used to be a great family oriented company to work for that actually cared about their employees.
Now that the company has enjoyed growth over the years they originally used to manage themselves however they are owned by an American company-Quanta Services and it is now becoming more and more evident in terms of laying off long term employees.

Obviously something has changed and not for the betterment of loyal long term employees. Now they lay off long term loyal employees and bring in new employees at much lower wages. That tells me its all about the numbers-$ and total disregard to their long term employees. Employees that have worked for the company 5 years and longer obviously would be paid at a hire rate than bringing someone new in for a much less wage.
Valard claims to give long term growth opportunities which is false.

They made sure to lay off a huge amount of employees before the Christmas holidays which was towards the end of a project in Newfoundland. By being terminated that meant they could not be bothered to pay out the usual profit share in December for that said project saving them loads of dollars. Nice for the company not so nice for the employees that stayed on loyally to project completion.They brag in their news letter about job completion and thank everyone that worked on the project then you get laid off and of course no profit sure. If that is how they now do business then why give them your hard work and loyalty.

Time sure changes the way a company conducts itself. I for one used to love working for the company and I
  more... expected to work for them into retirement. Instead the thanks I got lay off notice along with an ROE. Thanks Valard.  less
Cons
no proper training, no job security, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low moral and poor teem building mind set.
Journeyman Powerline Technician (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB19 December 2017
If you have any other options take them. They couldn't organize an oxxx at a 5766 house. It is not worth getting out of bed for. Fortis work is good but Valard.work is terrible.
Pros
sometimes you get paid
Cons
not very often its on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL8 December 2017
Great company, great people to work with. Valard Construction takes care of all of their workers with the upmost respect for all of the workers needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and efficient
Journeyman Lineman (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 November 2017
Very great company to work for have gained a ton of experience working with a lot of team members very good company to work for very high pace and very safe company
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Pine Falls, MB25 September 2017
Good place to work bush clearing wasn't to bad after we clean we burn the twigs logs and whatever else needed to be done other than that I'd go back and do it anytime it's really good job
Pros
Provided gear
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Apprentice Lineman (Current Employee) –  Newfoundland2 September 2017
Valard construction is a great company to work for, well managed , great on the job experience , great employees that help one another out, safety is there number one concern
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met a lot of great people
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Alberta4 August 2017
Met a lot of great people willing to help me grow also met a lot of people that were only out for themselves. They need to upgrade and repair all of their equipment as it is beginning to cause loss of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only worried about office staff and giving family promotions
Worker (Former Employee) –  Nisku. Ab14 July 2017
This company doesn't care about guys in field . If family can do what ever you want to and get and get promotions and any other benefit never give the working guy anything. Managers treat field guys like garbage don't really care about us if you get hurt you'll get fired. Also known for hiring people for projects and as soon as the project is finished they let them go rather than give them a chance to do anything else in the company because you're not family.
Pros
Money
Cons
Management and mechanics that don't know what they're doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Powerline Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 February 2017
Lay off due to shortage of work.
Best company I've ever worked for.
Excellent hands on training, I highly recommend Valard construction to anyone in the powerline field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company to work for.-great opportunities for growth
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  L'anse Au Loup, NL18 September 2016
I have worked for Valard since 2010 starting out in their head-office for 3 years then ventured out to the field where the real work takes place. I have learned a lot and the company always has opportunities for growth or to move around in various depts and always allows you to learn new skills. Although its a large company you feel appreciated and it feels a lot like you are a part of a large family. They compensate you with great wages + benefits and give awards as recognition pertaining to your length of time with the company as well as bonuses at Christmas time.
I look forward to continued long-term employment and personal growth for years to come.
Pros
Lots of opportunites for growth
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fair company
truck driver (Former Employee) –  Alberta4 March 2016
To many family members are given jobs and have no idea what they are doing they do not care about safety and are two faced never again would I work for Valard
Pros
good money
Cons
If your not from manitoba you are nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Truck Driver/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 January 2016
I enjoyed working for this company . They were doing the power line in Ab. I am hoping to go back to work for them when things change in Ab.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, Great Learning
Corporate Control Assistant (Intern) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 January 2016
I worked at Valard Construction LP as an intern.
It's an amazing company with amazing people. The management and co-workers were all really helpful which provided a great opportunity to learn a lot in my short time at Valard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company needs a better safety culture
Health and Safety Advisor /machine operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 August 2015
this company has no respect for seniority and very little job security there is to much nepotism taking place here. working at valard you never know where you stand you have a job one day but not the next that is no way to treat employees.
Pros
good chance to learn equipment
Cons
training programs leave a lot to be desired
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  terrace bc9 January 2015
electric power line , was a great learning process for me , very busy , but I learnt a whole new field of work,was great, if given the chance I would relocate with them if they needed me
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great outfit and still growing
Journeyman Power Line Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 January 2015
great guys ,,, paid travel time.... good work days ,,,,, lots of room for advancement
Cons
companys getting big ..easy to get lost
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Site Quality Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2014
Challenging work. Company takes care of you in terms of salary,accomodations,and professional growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Valard Construction LP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5