usg Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It pays well
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Danville, PAJune 21, 2016
It pays very well but you work swing shift. All about safety there are no accidents that is what they say. Great job and you have to be ready to move fast and think on your feet when something happens. Overall a great place to work.
Pros
They have a lot of incentives to keep people modivated
Cons
Swing shift for some dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to wrok
Tableau Developer/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 14, 2016
Its well reputed organization with well managed, atmosphere balanced work enjoyable work style with all.

Coworkers are very nice will help in all the aspects, management is very friendly...
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company, but a little dated
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 24, 2016
Flexible work hours, but outdated systems and budget cuts. Business is heavily tied to housing industry which creates some volatility.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of Overtime!
Quality Lab Technician/Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Gypsum, OHApril 21, 2016
At first USG was the ideal place to work for. Until you start sticking up for yourself about being treated unfair. A lot of overtime, the pay and benefits are great! If you are someone that can keep your mouth shut even though there is a lot of favoritism going on and miscommunication then you are the ideal candidate. They have fired a lot of good hard workers that spent over a decade there, fired them like it was nothing without even being disciplined first. Gotta keep nagging them about learning more jobs for a pay increase also. It's different if they push you to learn a job but it's another story if you want to learn and ask!
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
They will lie on you just to get you fired!
Was this review helpful?Yes25No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Customer Service Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 12, 2016
The company as a whole is okay. People are treated pretty fairly. Compensation is so-so. Micromanagement was a problem.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Warehousemen (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLApril 10, 2016
Usg is a great company but i will never ever work for l and w especially the boca branch
They say they promised to give a raise after 6 months they never did then they say after a year you will get a raise after a year still nothing they kept on lying
And on top of that they dont treat the warehouse employees with any respect and get treated like horrible

1 little mess up and you never hear the end of it.
They make everyday a living terrible for you

And also dont expect to have just one boss becuase everyone wants to be boss there so pretty much everyone who is in the office is your "technically" your boss but not really
Pros
Leaving to go home at the end of the day
Cons
Not so great pay, get treated so terrible, too many bosses, not worth working at
Was this review helpful?Yes15No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Senior Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 22, 2016
A very good company to work for with excellent benefits. Provides opportunities and professional growth. Willingness to train and instruct on multiple levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dubai
OH & Safety and Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Abu Dhabi,June 9, 2015
Am a hardworking person with maximum potential , experience , knowledge , Ethical and who can stand all working conditions at al times .
My hardest part of the job is when we are not provided enough equipment to enable us work or carry out a specific task.

The most enjoyable part of ma job is when we do the job perfectly to our best and to a level of Zero accidents.

I learn new ideas and methods from different angles such as specialized Engineers, supervisors and fellow workers

The management performs well its duties and takes care whenever consulted or help is needed.

Co- Workers are are very good even though some times i find it hard to communicate due to language barriers
Cons
16 HRS
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY EXPERIENCE
Java J2EE Technical Lead (Current Employee) –  Weehawken, NJApril 6, 2015
Its my honor to be a part of this company,i feel like i am working with my family,its really an honor and my pleasure to be a part of such an awesome company.
Was this review helpful?Yes83No37
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst ever.
driver (Former Employee) –  little rockApril 6, 2015
DontDont ever work here, TRUST ME!! This job is not a good job, if this was the last job on earth i would jump off any bridge.
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes72No26
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USG Otsego Paper is an employer people are proud to call theirs.
Team member. (Current Employee) –  Otsego, MI.January 18, 2015
USG Otsego Paper offers Superior wages, Superior benefits, and you have the opportunity to work with people who actually care about the success of the company as a whole.

Of course every job has it's good and bad days, but at USG Otsego Paper, you have 99% good days. Employees from management on down to the newest hire are respected as people and treated well. This paper mill is the epitome of teamwork and collaboration.

Obviously you will start at an entry level position and it will usually take you a while to advance, but you will get raises as you learn, attendance bonuses, production bonuses, floating holidays off the bat, a weeks vacation after 6 months, and a lot of perks of working for a multi billion dollar worldwide company.

If you care about yourself and your family, this company is for you. You can come to work and know your co workers are interested in your success. This is a place that hires and expects the best.
Pros
tustworthy co workers. superior pay and benefits.
Cons
production rotates shifts which may be difficult for some.
Was this review helpful?Yes107No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jobs within the department are challenging, depending on what job it is.
Production operator (Current Employee) –  Gypsum, OhioOctober 7, 2014
USG is a good company to work for. When looking into a place of employment individuals applying for a job ask themselves what is the pay? How about the hours? And do they have good benefits? In my current experience with the company those questions are all met. The pay is actually very good. The hours are decent but that's always a give and take depending on business. As for the benefits, USG has a pretty good setup as in insurance, incentive bonuses, and just all around appreciation for its employees. Not always is the job rainbows and sunshine but I think financially and security wise USG can give you that. The company has been around for over 100 yrs and hasn't went belly up. That's something to be looked at when applying here. Sure certain departments got downsized but that's just how things work with businesses and the economy. I would encourage individuals to think about emolument here. I currently work in the Gypsum Fiber Products department in Gypsum, Ohio.
Pros
great pay, incentive bonuses, and great people
Cons
scheduling and a little bit of a family work life issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes155No27
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All companies
anonymous (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 7, 2014
All companies have their rules, regulations and standards. All companies have strengths and weaknesses.
Pros
great relationships with great people, work from home 1 day a week, some departments get summer hours
Cons
all companies have both.
Was this review helpful?Yes58No40
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
security officer (Former Employee) –  Abu Dhabi, AZAugust 7, 2014
work at the hotel under united security group has helped me expand my work ethics and dealing with guests of all walks of life,e,g Rude, hostile, polite and humble. Co-workers are a great supportive time, but communication is a big problem< long working hours with little pay. above all team work is a great experience
Pros
free lunch and dinner
Cons
long working hours, no laundary
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS COMPANY WILL BREAK YOU DOWN
HELPER (Former Employee) –  LITTLE ROCK ARJuly 28, 2014
I WORK FOR THE L&W YARD IN LITTLE AS A HELPER AND IT WAS ONE OF THE BADDEST JOB I HAD...
U ONLY MAKE 9 DOLLARS WITHOUT A RISE AND THE MANGER OVER THERE SUCK HE TRY TO WORK U LIKE A SLAVE FOR THAT 9 DOLLARS AND WANT U TO BE HAPPY ABOUT IT
I WOULD SENDED NO ONE U LIKE TO WORK FOR THEM
Was this review helpful?Yes103No73
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a productive work place where I had oportunity to work with PLC's
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  El Centro, CAMarch 25, 2014
USG was a good place to work because I learned a lot but the only problem was a lack of team work from my coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes88No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive room for growth work area
Senior Accounts Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  East Orange, NJMarch 20, 2014
Good place to work. Caring environment and people are friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes57No30
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Branch Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2014
Good benefits, challenging. Long commute. The typical day may include just about anything. Very busy at various intervals. Good workers, good management.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes52No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and culture, business is cyclical
Project Manager LinX (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 18, 2013
USG is a great company but unfortunately it is tied to the cyclical housing market.
Pros
Large company with small company feel
Cons
cyclical business
Was this review helpful?Yes66No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USG is a great place to work because of the trainning, safety classes and bonuses at the end of each quarter.
Lift operator/maintenance technician (Former Employee) –  Greenville, MSJanuary 13, 2013
USG is a great place to work. It has a very productive and energetic atmosphere for a career and upper advancement. It is at the fore front of new age technology when it comes to how fiberglass and sheetrock are made, produced, shipped and used throughout the world. USG operates in 11 states and 27 different countries with each one having its own potiential flare for production and most of all safety. USG as a whole has been operating safely wit no OSHA recordable since April 30, 2001 and remains one of the top rate safest places to work in the world.
Pros
great compensation and co-workers
Cons
not enough health benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes84No23

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0