Find companies:
Urban Planet
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

Urban Planet Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized
Sales associate (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONApril 7, 2014
Pros: promoted
Cons: unorganized
The mangers were all very young and didnt care what anybody did. The daily task was just to keep your area clean. I learned if the mangment is unorganized everything becomes a mess. My co-workers were all very young so there was alot of drama in the work place. The hardest job was to maintain the store alot of my co-workers took extra long breaks or – more... were very late for their shifts I mostly took care of every section that was empty. The most enjoyable was when I got recognized for my hard work and got the chance to be key holder. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun work enviroment
Sales associate, Cashier, Stock, Customer service (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great break room, positive co-workers
Cons: confusion within management team
Urban Planet is one of the busiest clothing stores I've ever seen. The fast paced environment was fun and kept me on my toes. I learnt a lot about time management and how to make suggestions to co-workers in a way that motivates them and helps them see the importance they have in the company. The hardest part of the job would be keeping to the high – more... standards required by the company, as well as being time efficient, and helping customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with customers, and customer service, as well as loss prevention. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Sales excutive (Former Employee), Fairvew mallMarch 20, 2014
A typical day at work would be stacking shelves helping customers
i learned how to properly fold and it uplifted my customer service skills
My co-workers were nice and very helpful
The hardest part of my job was helping the picky customer but still managed to make them as happy
The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing i've helped someone put something – more... together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, enegetic
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Renfrew, ONMarch 11, 2014
It was great working in an environment with various ages of customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 6, 2014
I had a great time working at urban planet , learned a lot in my time being there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job experience
Cashier / Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 5, 2014
I first started out as a sales associate, assisting customers, cleaning the store, and making sure my section was clean and perfect at the end of the night.
Urban Planet had a shortage of employees for brief amount of time and they decided to train every employee on cash, including me. I had to greet customers, make sure my till was not short, and all – more... in all i had the experience to handle cash.
I learned to be punctual and very respectable, I learned how to remain calm in a fast paced environment. I also learned responsibility, i gained a lot of knowledge on being a sales associate and cashier as i was an employee for 2 years.
I quit because I felt that it was time for me to move on and i wanted to expand my knowledge in a field of work that i really enjoy to do. i also felt like i just needed more of a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: interacting with people and getting to know them
Cons: long hours
It taught me how to communicate and how to problem solve with the customers and getting to know them very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and very customer oriented
Department Manager (Current Employee), Mississauga, OnFebruary 13, 2014
I have learned a lot through the many years i have been with the company. Working here has helped me to improve on my time management skills, and also my team work skills. I have learned how to deal with difficult customers and work through tough situations. Its a very upbeat, fast paced environment, always looking to make the customers happy in any – more... way possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun learning experience
Supervisor & Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: was able to move up to being a supervisor
Cons: not getting enough hours
fast or slow, varied for work pace
i learned how to open and close the store
my managers and supervisors were great
my coworkers were fun
the hardest part was cleaning the store
I was able to interact with many customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), London, ONJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: being able to help those who needed it
Cons: not feeling welcomed or appreciated
Go in, do my daily tasks that are given, never knowing if I am doing it wrong or right because I had no proper training. I learned a lot about customer service and daily routines for retail stores. Management was a pretty big issue because they took out their personal life stress on their employees. Personally, they would be really rude to me when all – more... I had was respect. There wasn't really much hard work to be done but just more than 3 tasks for an hour got a little complicating, depending on the tasks. Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with customers to satisfy their needs and wants with an being really energetic and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good selection of positions
Retail Sales Associate/Head Cashier (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCDecember 11, 2013
Decent place to work, nice people, pretty reliable. Decent incentives and advancement to move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Occupation Ever.
Shift Leader, Managment (Former Employee), Leader, SKDecember 11, 2013
Pros: management knowledge.
Cons: everything else.
There were minor to no benefits of working for this company. Management was a joke and the job required little to no efforts. In all it was a giant disappointment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An warm, enjoyable work place.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), oakville, ONNovember 15, 2013
Urban Planet was a great first job, especially for me. It was relaxed, yet very challenging at times. The staff was incredible, I made a lot of friends their. I learned so much over the time that I was there and I was very comfortable with management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and worthwhile job experience
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 31, 2013
-conversed with customers every time
-met and worked with wonderful co-workers
-rules and obligations were met consistently
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance department
Administrator/Head Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 24, 2013
Assisting the controller and CFO
Small company - lots of interdepartmental assistance
Friendly staff
Great location
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communicative and Efficient workplace
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 7, 2013
-worked with clothes
-worked with people of all ages
-rules and expectations to follow
-communicative and social co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier/Clerk/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 1, 2013
Great atmosphere
Friendly environment
Clean
Discounts
Great management and staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Socially interactive workplace
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: discount card
Cons: not enough hours
Working in Urban Planet has been a pleasure for me since I was always able to communicate with customers freely and assist them with their needs. I learned to treasure my customers and learned to accommodate to their needs and wants, yet also set a certain boundary between their wants and the possibility of their wants in question. I worked with many – more... different kinds of co-workers, all with a unique character. The rules and regulations that were to be followed were consistent and I was able to follow them. But what I found hard about working in that store was no matter how many employees there were, it was always not enough because we have a surplus amount of workers that the manager at the time did not want to put shifts for them, including me. The pay was also very hard, seeing that the manager only gave me two days a week or even one day a week per shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part of the YM Inc. Company
Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: up to the minute fashion trends
Cons: product feedback feel through the cracks
Refer to my Review for Bluenote's as this banner along with 5 others are under the same company YM Inc. and The company mission statement philosophy and vision are all in the same
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Sales associate & Cashier (Former Employee), Burnaby BCJuly 29, 2013
Pros: 20% off clothes
Cons: dealing with mean customers
typical day:
cashier, check out customers

what i learned:
cash handling, cashing out

management:
very professional, young and friendly

coworkers:
mostly young, friendly

hardest part of the job:
As cashier it's not that fun since it feels like factory work, helping costumer after costumer since the store is frequently busy

most enjoyable part of – more... the job:
talking to customers and them telling you about their day – less

1 2 3