Urban Planet Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we had no time for fun it was always busy
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON17 September 2017
i used to work as full time, over time and anytime morning or night shift.
i used to work with stock, visual, sale associate and cashier and they offer me to be a part of management but i quit because i was looking for a better job and i would like to work in the airport
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON17 September 2017
This place was very hard to work in a sense because you are working with all young adults and teenagers who have no sense of urgency and will to do their job willingly. I was fighting for my human rights for lunch breaks and I was told that I was not allowed due to lack of coverage. But you are not allowed to work more than 5 hours straight without a 30 minute break and I was working 6 and half almost 7 hours without a break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Starter Job
Store Front (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC11 September 2017
This was an ok starter student job. They offered good hours, and the job wasn't too strenuous. I was treated with respect, and I was able to get a lot of work done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transfer
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 September 2017
I was working in Mississauga for a few years then we opened a store downtown Toronto which was way easier for me. My old boss's girlfriend ended up being my boss, she started treating me disrespectfully. Kept changing job title without telling me, my hours and my job itself.
Pros
Location
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place
Sales Employee (Current Employee) –  Ottawa5 September 2017
I've worked at Urban Planet for about a year now. I have had a wonderful experience. Management is great and the work environment was always enjoyable.
Pros
Flexible to your schedule
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Store Managers
Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver Island, BC25 August 2017
Fast paced fashion Stores, excellent Store managers that work very hard for the company. Good break schedules when on shift. Some great customer experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but unproductive
Admin (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON14 August 2017
As much as I love working retail, I find a lot of people slack in this job field. With so many tasks to accomplish I find people are to irresponsible to take on certain tasks without being asked to do so. Working with the staff is great though, its always busy and a great store to shop.
Pros
Eat snacks
Cons
Terrible staff discount, work every holiday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 August 2017
good company with nice management and employees. Every one are nice to me and willing to help me at the beginning. I learn how to do my job as efficient as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work area
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC8 August 2017
A typical at work is to fold clothing, assist customers and clean
Ive learned to be more open and take on more responsibilities its much easier to approach customers
The management definitely needs to change up their attitude towards their employees and be more nicer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 August 2017
Urban planet was not a fun place to work, a lot of people that showed no respect, and didn't care about productivity. I would not recommend, you will not enjoy it.
Pros
nice customers
Cons
Bad work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The location is efficient to me.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC24 July 2017
Urban Planet is a easy going and fun place of work. The availability they receive is what they work with and most times not very well, retail is a tough one
Pros
The discount on clothing
Cons
Too little hours, not much vacation breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Retail Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON23 July 2017
A great way to be ahead of the trends in fashion and be one of the first to own with the great employee discount. Long hours on your feet and heavy lifting included. It is better to work shorter shifts, as during the longer ones (7-8 hrs) sometimes you would only have 15-30 minutes for a break, rather than the standard hour. If you had a 9 hour shift you could have an hour long break.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun and comfortable workplace
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC22 July 2017
I worked around the dressing rooms, bringing/sorting new stock
i learned many new communication skills
very inviting and comforting work place
i loved meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place
Store Co- Manager (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK19 July 2017
Amazing work place. Management an.d head office are always willing to assist with everything. Benefits, vacation pay and sick days. Support from all departments
Pros
percs
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 July 2017
Urban Planet is a fun easy going retail store that provides excellent customer service. They're a fantastic company to work for and their employees are super friendly and so are the managers.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Don't get a lot of hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Around Clothes
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC12 July 2017
Loved working here, because of a love for clothes. Customers are friendly and always greeted back. Managment was a little slow but still did pretty well,
Pros
discounts
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly and flexable
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC10 July 2017
I started off as a customer sales rep and then moved up to cashier. I diffused customer to employee problem situations, and/or customer complaint, actively involved in meetings and discussions of programs and new policies. Management was great; easy to talk to and friendly. the most enjoyable part of working in retail was being around up-to-date fashion and the customer cliental.
Pros
discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a nice facility
Worker (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK1 July 2017
Urban Planet is a really wonderful place to work at because the work area is clean and attractive which makes you want to work there. It is always fun times there even when you are working because the people are so outgoing there
Pros
Fun environmetn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers bad management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC27 June 2017
Got along great with my coworkers and they created a great work environment but management and CEO's were awful and left me looking for a new job after 2 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a flexible schedule
Salesperson (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON18 June 2017
Was able to complete a full-time diploma with complete freedom and flexibility. Management will work with you to develop a schedule for you. Typical day is tasking, cleaning, and aiding customer with all clothing needs.
Pros
Discount on clothing
Cons
No chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Urban Planet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 242 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5