Urban Planet Employee Reviews

Found 218 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The location is efficient to me.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC24 July 2017
Urban Planet is a easy going and fun place of work. The availability they receive is what they work with and most times not very well, retail is a tough one
Pros
The discount on clothing
Cons
Too little hours, not much vacation breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun and comfortable workplace
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC22 July 2017
I worked around the dressing rooms, bringing/sorting new stock
i learned many new communication skills
very inviting and comforting work place
i loved meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place
Store Co- Manager (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK19 July 2017
Amazing work place. Management an.d head office are always willing to assist with everything. Benefits, vacation pay and sick days. Support from all departments
Pros
percs
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 July 2017
Urban Planet is a fun easy going retail store that provides excellent customer service. They're a fantastic company to work for and their employees are super friendly and so are the managers.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Don't get a lot of hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Around Clothes
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC12 July 2017
Loved working here, because of a love for clothes. Customers are friendly and always greeted back. Managment was a little slow but still did pretty well,
Pros
discounts
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly and flexable
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC10 July 2017
I started off as a customer sales rep and then moved up to cashier. I diffused customer to employee problem situations, and/or customer complaint, actively involved in meetings and discussions of programs and new policies. Management was great; easy to talk to and friendly. the most enjoyable part of working in retail was being around up-to-date fashion and the customer cliental.
Pros
discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a nice facility
Worker (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK1 July 2017
Urban Planet is a really wonderful place to work at because the work area is clean and attractive which makes you want to work there. It is always fun times there even when you are working because the people are so outgoing there
Pros
Fun environmetn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers bad management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC27 June 2017
Got along great with my coworkers and they created a great work environment but management and CEO's were awful and left me looking for a new job after 2 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a flexible schedule
Salesperson (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON18 June 2017
Was able to complete a full-time diploma with complete freedom and flexibility. Management will work with you to develop a schedule for you. Typical day is tasking, cleaning, and aiding customer with all clothing needs.
Pros
Discount on clothing
Cons
No chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 June 2017
It is a good pace for someone new to start out. Good for building skills with customer service,l earning basic management skills, abilities etc. A typical day would be, you coming in, placing your bags and coats in the backroom. You look where you are assigned in the store, and you go in that section. You fold clothes, put away clothes, tidy the racks, pick things off the floor, return misplaced items, help customers with sizes, getting something down. The hardest part would be the overtime sale days when you stay longer, always on your feet, rude customers.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Long- hours, customers, dusty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Floor Sales Representative/Stock (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON10 June 2017
Was able to work the floor during Christmas, while doing stock and maintaining the change rooms for customers. I was able to guide customers based on genre to what they specifically liked. I performed under lots of pressure do to the season. but was able to keep a healthy and good work space.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
current and fashionable clothing
VISUAL MERCHANDISER (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON2 June 2017
A great way to be ahead of the trends in fashion and be one of the first to own with the great employee discount. Long hours on your feet and heavy lifting included.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON31 May 2017
I excelled within a month of retail sales and was promoted to the cashier position; applying the sale prices and codes for each purchase in correspondence to the weekly sales and promotions. My quickness to learn and adopt to new tasks, ensured more shifts and responsibilities. In three months, I was working in each department, able to complete any task put my way quickly and efficiently. �Key skills obtained: customer service and mulit-tasking, cash register management waki-talki communication, product knowledge
Pros
Working with fashion
Cons
Slow days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun part-time work place
Manager In Training (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 May 2017
Co-workers are great to work with. The pay is much too low for anyone with a family to survive off of. They do offer a bonus program for those that are apart of management but to me the pay is not viable as a long-term career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 May 2017
Typical day at Urban Planet is literally folding clothes and dealing with customers. I was only on cash sometimes because they had specific people for cash. Sometimes you'll get calls of customers looking for a certain product and will have to put it on hold for them. The managing at Urban Planet was okay but definitely not the best. For example, two of the managers would refer to customers as "lady" while talking to them, which is not very polite and welcoming, Although, they were still nice people and the culture of the workplace was like a family, as all workplaces should be. One thing I dislike about the job, is that once a year (like in some other retail stores), they have everyone scheduled on a specific day to count every single item in the store, which can last till 12am. However, the most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see all of the new clothing before anyone else, it gives the sensation you are going shopping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large store with minimal breaks
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 May 2017
It is better to work shorter shifts, as during the longer ones (7-8 hrs) sometimes you would only have 15-30 minutes for a break, rather than the standard hour. If you had a 9 hour shift you could have an hour long break.
Pros
flexible work scheduling, friendly staff
Cons
long hours, minimal breaks, large store, heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bien
Vendeuse (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC16 May 2017
J'ai adoré travailler là-bas, belle gang, patron super.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 May 2017
working here is fun. My coworkers made me feel very welcome from the very first day i started. Although your work flow can get busy on crazy days, working here is very thrilling,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales-associate & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 May 2017
Urban Planet was one of my first job in Canada. i loved working there and the people i have worked with were amazing! Helped each other. It was hard for us to get more shifts because it was going to close down soon but other than that it was a great place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and lively work place with amazing co workers
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON1 May 2017
My work day includes organization of the store, including folding and hanging clothes on the sales floor,and interacting with customers to meat their needs. Most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers find outfits that suit them well. Management was very friendly and proffesional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Urban Planet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 231 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

67%
92 ratings
Add your rating