Find companies:
Urban Outfitters Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
226 reviews

Urban Outfitters Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters Dix30
Womens Department Manager (Current Employee), Brossard, QCNovember 9, 2013
Cons: un paid overtime
- working in a slow pace store allows more time to get projects done. however, I would much rather work somewhere fast pace

- managers are often on the same page, but occasionally there is conflict brought upon us by the store manager

- hardest part of the job is assuring things get done on their deadline

- most enjoyable part is working with clothes – more... and being able to style and merchandise how we want – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employee perks, fun working environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: fun working environment
Cons: little staff amenities
Great employee benefits, Great sales floor environment, Room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, high turnover
Team Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2013
fun and fast driven environment to work in
not much room for growth if working from the bottom
customer service wasn't at the forefront of priorities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Visual Merchandiser and Display (Former Employee), Dublin, DMay 20, 2013
Pros: met loads of great people
Cons: long hours and low wages
Typical day in work was see the morning targets. Walk around shop floor. Do a floor grid of were to put new merchandise. Merchandise clothes. Create new Displays and style customers.

I learned alot in Urban Outfitters. To be out there with creativity. Thinking outside the box.

Management could have been nicer. But at the end of the day they had a – more... job to do.

Co-workers were great. Lovely bunch of people. All them were different. Different personalities.

The hardest part of the job was when you had so much merchandise and you had to make it work. You would try everything and move everything around and finally keep calm and sorted it. Also the wages were so low. Not right when you work so hard.

Most enjoyable part is seeing people appreciate your displays n styling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
assisting clients (Former Employee), edmonton, abApril 26, 2013
It was an enjoyable place to work as a student. The managment were great and made real connections with the employees, which was nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed environment
Sales associate (Current Employee), kingstonMarch 31, 2013
Easy going - mostly involves folding/running clothes onto the floor. Little push for customer involvement. Fun management and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 26, 2012
Pros: good product and flexible scheduling
Cons: bad scheduling and no real room nor incentive for advancement
Overall, it would be a much better place to work if they had better organizational skills and more constant opportunity for feedback.

. From the moment you start, there's really not much you've been told on and there's honestly not much to do; you either greet, go in fitting rooms, shoes, the men's section or sale.

. I've only really learnt how to – more... fold clothes; full-fold, board-folding and quarter folding. That's the only memorable moment for me.

. The one thing that's been a constant bother for me since the start of 2011 though is the bad scheduling; from the holidays onward, very few people are given consistent hours and that influx greatly influenced my private life.

. My co-workers are fun and easy to work with and relatable and fun; some managers are a bit antsy but overall comfortable and perky at times.

. Also, when on the floor, while you will work, you will be probably often times with various managers, but you're only reviewed only once a year and you're never sure by whom. Otherwise, you're rarely given an update on how you've progressed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, unprofessional management,
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 20, 2014
Typical days included enhanced customer service and running around trying to help everyone get through the day as smoothly as possible. Leaned how to delegate work to coworkers and lead my fellow associates to a productive day. Management was OK, some were very good, others were very unprofessional. Great interactions and relationships with all of my – more... coworkers. I would say the hardest part about the job was rationalizing management decisions that hindered the success of the store. The most enjoyable part would absolutely be the relationships i built with my fellow co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professsional zone
Team Lead (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: exposure of the urban page online and perks monthly
Cons: short breaks
Honestly loved being a part of the team of UOF. I was able to excel into other positions and gain strengths and be apart of the management and making our store run more smoothly and perform great customer service to our guest by being prompt working together and making new concepts as a group,small projects in and around the store. Working along other – more... employees to learn or help enhance a certain task to simplify the store or a product at that time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters is a Productive, engaging environment to work in.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Paramus, NJJuly 7, 2014
Cons: short breaks also not enough work hours [sometimes]
Urban Outfitters is one company that i have worked for, that takes respect really serious. The companies employees and managers, I would say are all on the same level. A typical day at Urban consist of Intensive Customer Service and maintaining the store's merchandise. I would say the hardest part of the work day is putting all the stores merchandise – more... back in place, being that its a big store finding and placing things could be a bit challenging. The most enjoyable part of the work day is shipment. Receiving new merchandise and being able to have an opinion on where the merchandise is being placed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive workplace but bad management
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), London, ENGJune 23, 2014
Pros: discounts on clothing etc
The management were terrible, they never listened to me about timing and would be very unprofessional towards staff on the shop floor.

A typical day would involve clearing, fitting room in and outs, working on tills, ordering clothing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real Laid back
SEASONAL SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 8, 2014
Pros: no dress code, employee discount, flexible hours
Cons: management can be petty, moving up is pretty hard
It's a real laid back place to work. You basically wear whatever you want, just don't come in naked. There is always something to do, whether it's runs or customer service or keeping things neat. Co- workers are great. Management is ok. of course you have the manager that everyone likes, and you have the manager that no one likes. just like at any place, – more... so things can get a bit petty. Hardest part of the job is closing, but only if it is a perfect close, or u have the manager that always wants to do a perfect close even if it's xmas season and things get trashed. most enjoyable part is just working with co-workers and the 40% discount – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a fun place to work and forever friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 4, 2014
Pros: easy advancement, fun work environment
Cons: low pay, short breaks, possibly long hours, possibly shallow hours
Coworkers are always friendly and open to meeting new people.

Pay is unfortunately tends to be quite low compared to competitors.

Hours can get long and associates are expected to deal with it.

Great opportunities for advancement within the company, especially in larger cities. Easy to advance quickly into management positions.

The Urban Team became – more... like a second family.

There wasn't a great raise when advancing, but way more responsibilities. The responsibilities I feel were too much for what the pay rate was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun upbeat
gift carder (Former Employee), edgefiled scMay 28, 2014
Pros: free lunches and overtime
Cons: sitting all day doing same thing
easy job great pay catered lunches overtime offered manger laid back easy to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Active Enivorment
Picker/Shipping Lead (Former Employee), North Augusta, SCMay 10, 2014
Pros: experice
Cons: working everyweek
I enjoyed working at Urban Outfitters. I worked as a picker until I was hired on permanent. I was promoted to Shipping Lead and scheduled for every weekend. I've learned much from working at Urban . Picking, packing, receiving, shipping, induction, wsi software, writing BOLs, etc. I think Urban for the type of experience they have provided me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun environment to work in.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 8, 2014
Pros: lunch hours were reasonable, breaks were good, discount amazing, and always a great environment
Cons: hours weren't always given to you, and on call shifts were never used
Urban Outfitters was a very fun job to work where I was always busy and had something to do. I enjoyed helping customers with selections. The people were fun to work with and management always guided you in the right direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible with school
IT Support Technician (Former Employee), Trenton, SCMay 6, 2014
rotating competitive shifts. great job for part time students and for furthering knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviorment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 5, 2014
great fashion and very cool urban place to work. Lots of cultural people with many different styles and uniqueness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Men's Sales Associate (Former Employee), Garden City, NYMay 5, 2014
Fun place to work. Management is very relaxed and outgoing. Most enjoyable part of the job was seeing different styles in the same place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and layed back
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Elmhurst, NYMay 5, 2014
This job environment was a very relaxed one...the managers were cool, but the employees were subject to favoritism and a certain type of style was required...

1 2 3 4 5

About Urban Outfitters Inc.

Urban Outfitters, Inc. is a lifestyle specialty retail company that operates under the Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, Free People – Read more

Urban Outfitters Inc. Photos