Find companies:
Urban Outfitters Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
241 reviews

Urban Outfitters Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that truly under appreciates their employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, OnApril 2, 2014
Pros: discount can be used online, coworkers all around the same age
Cons: no hours, short breaks, they don't care about you
I worked for this company as a sales associate for almost a year. For an extremely long time they only gave me on-calls and said it was because their were no hours to give. They were lying, the store employed over 40 sales associates, and only about 10 of them were consistently getting hours; people who have worked there for over a year would literally – more... get one on-call a week, and this would go on for months. How did they decide to solve this? By having open group interviews and hiring more people. They do not care about their employees and will show you no appreciation until you decide to quit, and they will hire 5 people to take your place (and these 5 people will take hours away from everybody else who have been working there for a year). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters Dix30
Womens Department Manager (Current Employee), Brossard, QCNovember 9, 2013
Cons: un paid overtime
- working in a slow pace store allows more time to get projects done. however, I would much rather work somewhere fast pace

- managers are often on the same page, but occasionally there is conflict brought upon us by the store manager

- hardest part of the job is assuring things get done on their deadline

- most enjoyable part is working with clothes – more... and being able to style and merchandise how we want – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, high turnover
Team Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2013
fun and fast driven environment to work in
not much room for growth if working from the bottom
customer service wasn't at the forefront of priorities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Visual Merchandiser and Display (Former Employee), Dublin, DMay 20, 2013
Pros: met loads of great people
Cons: long hours and low wages
Typical day in work was see the morning targets. Walk around shop floor. Do a floor grid of were to put new merchandise. Merchandise clothes. Create new Displays and style customers.

I learned alot in Urban Outfitters. To be out there with creativity. Thinking outside the box.

Management could have been nicer. But at the end of the day they had a – more... job to do.

Co-workers were great. Lovely bunch of people. All them were different. Different personalities.

The hardest part of the job was when you had so much merchandise and you had to make it work. You would try everything and move everything around and finally keep calm and sorted it. Also the wages were so low. Not right when you work so hard.

Most enjoyable part is seeing people appreciate your displays n styling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
assisting clients (Former Employee), edmonton, abApril 26, 2013
It was an enjoyable place to work as a student. The managment were great and made real connections with the employees, which was nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed environment
Sales associate (Current Employee), kingstonMarch 31, 2013
Easy going - mostly involves folding/running clothes onto the floor. Little push for customer involvement. Fun management and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 26, 2012
Pros: good product and flexible scheduling
Cons: bad scheduling and no real room nor incentive for advancement
Overall, it would be a much better place to work if they had better organizational skills and more constant opportunity for feedback.

. From the moment you start, there's really not much you've been told on and there's honestly not much to do; you either greet, go in fitting rooms, shoes, the men's section or sale.

. I've only really learnt how to – more... fold clothes; full-fold, board-folding and quarter folding. That's the only memorable moment for me.

. The one thing that's been a constant bother for me since the start of 2011 though is the bad scheduling; from the holidays onward, very few people are given consistent hours and that influx greatly influenced my private life.

. My co-workers are fun and easy to work with and relatable and fun; some managers are a bit antsy but overall comfortable and perky at times.

. Also, when on the floor, while you will work, you will be probably often times with various managers, but you're only reviewed only once a year and you're never sure by whom. Otherwise, you're rarely given an update on how you've progressed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 7, 2014
Nothing bad to say about Urban Outfitters. Always felt like I was hanging out with friends and not just working. Sadly, hours and money weren't the greatest but the friendships and work environment made up for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment but needs work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CAAugust 6, 2014
I enjoyed working at UO however due to the location it was not the best experience. There is tiers of importance in the company and because our location was not ideal we were on the bottom tier with new management monthly. There was not a set system because of this. Being a collegiate athlete it was also hard for them to work around my schedule because – more... of the constant change in management and employees. I did enjoy working there and the company was a good fit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 5, 2014
At this job everyday was something to merchandising and reviewing customers shopping patterns and resetting the floor to appeal to their shopping needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company Overall, Minor Flaws
SALES ASSOSCIATE (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 3, 2014
It was a generally good company to work for, it was fast paced, had a fun environment, and there has always been a lot of diversity in who they hired and their different styles which was awesome and everyone meshed together really well. There were three main shifts that you could have: opening, closing, or mid. A typical opening shift began with cleaning – more... the sales floor, straightening up the tables, processing online orders, and begin to tag new shipment. That's just in the first couple of hours. once the store is actually open, then it's just maintaining a fun customer service oriented environment, maintaining the merchandise and the fitting rooms, and pay attention to loss prevention. Mid shifts revolve around maintaining a clean environment and helping out customers as well as paying attention to loss prevention. Closing shifts begin with maintaining the store and at the end of the night, once the store is close, all of the "go-backs" are ran to the floor, the floor is "recovered so it looks as if it hasn't yet been shopped, and the break room is cleaned. The only downside is that management does play favorites, and that was evident in both of the two locations I worked at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Store Merchandising Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 3, 2014
great schedule, wonderful place to learn about the basics of visual merchandising and customer service. awesome products and employee engagement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGAugust 2, 2014
Pros: the fashion/clothing
Enjoyed working in a fast paced enviromnent and diverse sections of the public, I learned how to manage my time appropriately when distributing clothes to correct floors in-between managing customers requests. Developed warm relationships with coworkers, harder aspects of the job were during busy hours dealing with queue's in changing rooms. The most – more... enjoyable parts or the job were seeing the new items of fashion/clothing which is a personal interest of mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eclectic and exciting work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Savannah, GAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: relaxed and fun environment and people
Cons: high turnover of employees and staff
The days were always busy and productive with the right balance of fun. I learned about buying being able to participate in the process in a very hands on manner. I had a lot of responsibility which was great seeing as though i was only and intern. Most of the people in the office were very friendly and inviting. The hardest part of the job was keeping – more... up with everyone in the office seeing as though it is a very fast paced environment and process. I loved being able to meet with vendors and help choose product that went to stores and online. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Material Processer (Former Employee), Trenton, SCJuly 29, 2014
I really enjoyed working with my coworkers. The hardest part of my job was the peak season and the extra hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Newark, DEJuly 28, 2014
Pros: self expression, no dress code
UO is a great company to start in. Even in a sale associates position there is room for growth and experience. Because of my background in graphic design I am able to help in managing the stores Tumblr page as well as take part in setting up displays. There is also plenty of opportunity for advancement within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 27, 2014
Pros: good lunch breaks, great hours
Cons: long distance
I actually loved working with Urban Outfitters, We would always have themed meetings where employees would come dressed up in characters. I loved the upbeat environment of the store! The only reason for my leaving, was at the time the distance from my home to the store was too far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun environment to work in.
Floor Salesman (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: the environment
Cons: seaonsal
The job really wasn't that hard. All I would have to do is manage the mens floor of the store. That would consist of helping with sales and making sure the shelves were neat. All of my co workers were awesome. In urban outfitters it is a different type of environment where you can really be yourself, which I really enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fun workplace
customer service and retail (Current Employee), GlasgowJuly 22, 2014
Pros: very laid back about shift swapping
Cons: loads of staff and very few customers at times
a typical day at Urban Outfitters includes being given a zone within the store that you are then in charge of for the day. Within this zone it's my job to make sure it's tidy and that i'm approaching every customer that enters this zone and give them the best customer service that i can and help meet their needs. I have learned how to take responsibility – more... of my zone each day and work with all different kind of customers. The management and co-workers at Urban Outfitters are nothing short of amazing, the most friendly, helpful and hardworking team of people i've came across yet! The hardest part of my job is dealing with difficult customers who just cannot accept that you are trying your best to help but at the end of the day this is all part of a learning curve. The most enjoyable part is the satisfaction of knowing a customer has left the store completely satisfied with their visit because of my customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, unprofessional management,
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 20, 2014
Typical days included enhanced customer service and running around trying to help everyone get through the day as smoothly as possible. Leaned how to delegate work to coworkers and lead my fellow associates to a productive day. Management was OK, some were very good, others were very unprofessional. Great interactions and relationships with all of my – more... coworkers. I would say the hardest part about the job was rationalizing management decisions that hindered the success of the store. The most enjoyable part would absolutely be the relationships i built with my fellow co workers. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Urban Outfitters Inc.

Urban Outfitters, Inc. is a lifestyle specialty retail company that operates under the Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, Free People – Read more

Urban Outfitters Inc. Photos