Find companies:
Urban Outfitters Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
206 reviews

Urban Outfitters Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters Dix30
Womens Department Manager (Current Employee), Brossard, QCNovember 9, 2013
Cons: un paid overtime
- working in a slow pace store allows more time to get projects done. however, I would much rather work somewhere fast pace

- managers are often on the same page, but occasionally there is conflict brought upon us by the store manager

- hardest part of the job is assuring things get done on their deadline

- most enjoyable part is working with clothes – more... and being able to style and merchandise how we want – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employee perks, fun working environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: fun working environment
Cons: little staff amenities
Great employee benefits, Great sales floor environment, Room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, high turnover
Team Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2013
fun and fast driven environment to work in
not much room for growth if working from the bottom
customer service wasn't at the forefront of priorities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Visual Merchandiser and Display (Former Employee), Dublin, DMay 20, 2013
Pros: met loads of great people
Cons: long hours and low wages
Typical day in work was see the morning targets. Walk around shop floor. Do a floor grid of were to put new merchandise. Merchandise clothes. Create new Displays and style customers.

I learned alot in Urban Outfitters. To be out there with creativity. Thinking outside the box.

Management could have been nicer. But at the end of the day they had a – more... job to do.

Co-workers were great. Lovely bunch of people. All them were different. Different personalities.

The hardest part of the job was when you had so much merchandise and you had to make it work. You would try everything and move everything around and finally keep calm and sorted it. Also the wages were so low. Not right when you work so hard.

Most enjoyable part is seeing people appreciate your displays n styling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
assisting clients (Former Employee), edmonton, abApril 26, 2013
It was an enjoyable place to work as a student. The managment were great and made real connections with the employees, which was nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed environment
Sales associate (Current Employee), kingstonMarch 31, 2013
Easy going - mostly involves folding/running clothes onto the floor. Little push for customer involvement. Fun management and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 26, 2012
Pros: good product and flexible scheduling
Cons: bad scheduling and no real room nor incentive for advancement
Overall, it would be a much better place to work if they had better organizational skills and more constant opportunity for feedback.

. From the moment you start, there's really not much you've been told on and there's honestly not much to do; you either greet, go in fitting rooms, shoes, the men's section or sale.

. I've only really learnt how to – more... fold clothes; full-fold, board-folding and quarter folding. That's the only memorable moment for me.

. The one thing that's been a constant bother for me since the start of 2011 though is the bad scheduling; from the holidays onward, very few people are given consistent hours and that influx greatly influenced my private life.

. My co-workers are fun and easy to work with and relatable and fun; some managers are a bit antsy but overall comfortable and perky at times.

. Also, when on the floor, while you will work, you will be probably often times with various managers, but you're only reviewed only once a year and you're never sure by whom. Otherwise, you're rarely given an update on how you've progressed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 20, 2014
Everyday was exciting to interact with new customers and analyze many fashion styles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment that encourages individuality
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Berkeley,CAApril 15, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: amount of hours given change due to season
Best job I've ever had. Managers are friendly and help you out whenever its needed. Sale associates work together to make our daily store goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Cashier (Former Employee), Aventura, FLApril 9, 2014
I loved working at Urban! The managers were all really awesome and helped me learn new skills such as merchandising. Also the company as a whole just really cares about their employees and it shows.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a cool experience but...
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 8, 2014
Pros: networking, discount
Cons: not too much room for advancement, retail, no hours
I think this is an awesome company to work for, ideally, but the only thing is there was NEVER any hours... at our store at least. Only "on call" shifts where you call 3 hours before to see if you're needed and have to base your entire day around whether or not they say yes or no. Management was super cool, inspirational, and friendly. They really encourage – more... you to be yourself. They're all about "loss retention" aka making us security guards who dress well. Idk. It's like any retail job. A somewhat great discount but oh yeah I'm doing slave work to barely be able to pay my bills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and challenging environment
Womenswear team leader (Current Employee), BluewaterApril 6, 2014
Pros: great team, creative environment
Cons: poor organisation, staff promotion is rare
During my time within this company I have learned a great deal about the fashion retail environment and picked up many skills including communication, team work and customer service, along with more specific skills such as analyzing and being able to react to company reports, developing management skills and merchandising skills as well as commerciality. – more... I enjoy being part of such a positive and hardworking team, and the passion of the company to promote creativity within the team. I enjoy the challenges the job provides and how it encourages me to really drive myself towards goals and to develop my skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and modern atmosphere
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Newcastle upon Tyne, ENGApril 6, 2014
Pros: 40% staff discount and young, fun co-workers
Cons: short breaks
Working as an intern at Urban Outfitters is a wonderful experience that I was lucky to have, as I was able to learn the necessary skills of the retail industry at 15, which has been an advantage amongst others as this is the career path I desire. Despite my beginning anonymity to the workings of a retail store, I was urged straight into the business, – more... which really helped me gain independence and a hard-working, self dependent attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that truly under appreciates their employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, OnApril 2, 2014
Pros: discount can be used online, coworkers all around the same age
Cons: no hours, short breaks, they don't care about you
I worked for this company as a sales associate for almost a year. For an extremely long time they only gave me on-calls and said it was because their were no hours to give. They were lying, the store employed over 40 sales associates, and only about 10 of them were consistently getting hours; people who have worked there for over a year would literally – more... get one on-call a week, and this would go on for months. How did they decide to solve this? By having open group interviews and hiring more people. They do not care about their employees and will show you no appreciation until you decide to quit, and they will hire 5 people to take your place (and these 5 people will take hours away from everybody else who have been working there for a year). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dissatisfying Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMarch 31, 2014
Management Seemed To Be Overly Obsessed W/ Meeting Sales Goals That Didn't Have The Customers To Fulfill. The Store Was Disorganized At Times & Seemed To Have A Balance Set Of Managers At All. They're Obsessed With The Idea Of Being 'Hip' and Cool' So Much It Displaces The Workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, hard to live off of such low pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great people/atmosphere
Cons: repetitive/low pay
I loved working at Urban in Nashville. It's in the gulch so it's already a great place. The atmosphere is really laid back and the coworkers are all great people to work with. When I comes to Management, they're great as well, but when it comes to being paid it's kind of rough. Around $7/hour isn't enough to make a living off of. Luckily it's pretty – more... easy to grow with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun beach atmosphere
Salesperson (Former Employee), Pacific Beach, CAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: huge discounts, great schedules
Typical day at Urban outfitters consist of first seeing wither I would be in inventory or on the floor. I have learned how to deal with upset customers, perseverance, being able to manage a busy area and keeping an eye on the store. My co-workers were always upbeat, staying on task and never had a negative thing to say about anyone. Hardest part of – more... the job was on black Friday when i was over looking 2 huge sections of the store by myself and there were tons of customers browsing through clothes. I enjoyed working there in general, it was a great welcoming environment by the beach and the employee discount was a definite plus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UO at Mall of America
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great people to work with, free food, open environment, the music, and fashion
Cons: compensation
It's a fun place to work, it keeps you busy but entertained at the same time. I love helping the customers and seeing everyone taste in fashion. It's an awesome place to be yourself and express yourself through clothing. My co-workers are all welcoming and fun to be around; yes we may have differences but at the end of the day we are all a family. The – more... managers are great and outgoing people, they try to make everyone strive to their fullest. I've learned to accept my individuality and not hide it anymore. I've also learned to just pay attention to more than one thing. The hardest part would be just be the cleaning part of the store, but it's not really hard just a lot of work. Otherwise, everything else is great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), ManchesterMarch 19, 2014
Pros: long lunch break
Whilst doing my work experience at Urban Outfitters I would usually be in the stock room sorting clothes and making sure everything had a tag, I would then go onto the shop floor and deal with customers. I learnt how to work under pressure in a retail environment and how to greet a customer and deal with them properly. I would say the store was managed – more... very well, everyday the new stock delivered would have a tag and be in the correct place, whether that would be on the shop floor or in the stock room. I didn't really struggle whilst working there but if I had to choose I would say how fast stock came into the stock room and then how fast it had to be sorted. The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be dealing with customers which was something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work just don't miss too many days
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Augusta, GAMarch 19, 2014
It's an easy job. The calls are usually pretty slow & everyone working there is nice. But if you miss a day it takes 6 moths for your occurrence to fall off. If you miss 7 days within that time frame you'll get fired. Just keep your scored up & come to work everyday!

1 2 3 4 5

About Urban Outfitters Inc.

Urban Outfitters, Inc. is a lifestyle specialty retail company that operates under the Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, Free People – Read more

Urban Outfitters Inc. Photos