Find companies:
Urban Outfitters Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
234 reviews

Urban Outfitters Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters Dix30
Womens Department Manager (Current Employee), Brossard, QCNovember 9, 2013
Cons: un paid overtime
- working in a slow pace store allows more time to get projects done. however, I would much rather work somewhere fast pace

- managers are often on the same page, but occasionally there is conflict brought upon us by the store manager

- hardest part of the job is assuring things get done on their deadline

- most enjoyable part is working with clothes – more... and being able to style and merchandise how we want – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employee perks, fun working environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: fun working environment
Cons: little staff amenities
Great employee benefits, Great sales floor environment, Room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, high turnover
Team Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2013
fun and fast driven environment to work in
not much room for growth if working from the bottom
customer service wasn't at the forefront of priorities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Visual Merchandiser and Display (Former Employee), Dublin, DMay 20, 2013
Pros: met loads of great people
Cons: long hours and low wages
Typical day in work was see the morning targets. Walk around shop floor. Do a floor grid of were to put new merchandise. Merchandise clothes. Create new Displays and style customers.

I learned alot in Urban Outfitters. To be out there with creativity. Thinking outside the box.

Management could have been nicer. But at the end of the day they had a – more... job to do.

Co-workers were great. Lovely bunch of people. All them were different. Different personalities.

The hardest part of the job was when you had so much merchandise and you had to make it work. You would try everything and move everything around and finally keep calm and sorted it. Also the wages were so low. Not right when you work so hard.

Most enjoyable part is seeing people appreciate your displays n styling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
assisting clients (Former Employee), edmonton, abApril 26, 2013
It was an enjoyable place to work as a student. The managment were great and made real connections with the employees, which was nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed environment
Sales associate (Current Employee), kingstonMarch 31, 2013
Easy going - mostly involves folding/running clothes onto the floor. Little push for customer involvement. Fun management and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters
Sales associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 26, 2012
Pros: good product and flexible scheduling
Cons: bad scheduling and no real room nor incentive for advancement
Overall, it would be a much better place to work if they had better organizational skills and more constant opportunity for feedback.

. From the moment you start, there's really not much you've been told on and there's honestly not much to do; you either greet, go in fitting rooms, shoes, the men's section or sale.

. I've only really learnt how to – more... fold clothes; full-fold, board-folding and quarter folding. That's the only memorable moment for me.

. The one thing that's been a constant bother for me since the start of 2011 though is the bad scheduling; from the holidays onward, very few people are given consistent hours and that influx greatly influenced my private life.

. My co-workers are fun and easy to work with and relatable and fun; some managers are a bit antsy but overall comfortable and perky at times.

. Also, when on the floor, while you will work, you will be probably often times with various managers, but you're only reviewed only once a year and you're never sure by whom. Otherwise, you're rarely given an update on how you've progressed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Material Processer (Former Employee), Trenton, SCJuly 29, 2014
I really enjoyed working with my coworkers. The hardest part of my job was the peak season and the extra hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Newark, DEJuly 28, 2014
Pros: self expression, no dress code
UO is a great company to start in. Even in a sale associates position there is room for growth and experience. Because of my background in graphic design I am able to help in managing the stores Tumblr page as well as take part in setting up displays. There is also plenty of opportunity for advancement within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 27, 2014
Pros: good lunch breaks, great hours
Cons: long distance
I actually loved working with Urban Outfitters, We would always have themed meetings where employees would come dressed up in characters. I loved the upbeat environment of the store! The only reason for my leaving, was at the time the distance from my home to the store was too far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun environment to work in.
Floor Salesman (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: the environment
Cons: seaonsal
The job really wasn't that hard. All I would have to do is manage the mens floor of the store. That would consist of helping with sales and making sure the shelves were neat. All of my co workers were awesome. In urban outfitters it is a different type of environment where you can really be yourself, which I really enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fun workplace
customer service and retail (Current Employee), GlasgowJuly 22, 2014
Pros: very laid back about shift swapping
Cons: loads of staff and very few customers at times
a typical day at Urban Outfitters includes being given a zone within the store that you are then in charge of for the day. Within this zone it's my job to make sure it's tidy and that i'm approaching every customer that enters this zone and give them the best customer service that i can and help meet their needs. I have learned how to take responsibility – more... of my zone each day and work with all different kind of customers. The management and co-workers at Urban Outfitters are nothing short of amazing, the most friendly, helpful and hardworking team of people i've came across yet! The hardest part of my job is dealing with difficult customers who just cannot accept that you are trying your best to help but at the end of the day this is all part of a learning curve. The most enjoyable part is the satisfaction of knowing a customer has left the store completely satisfied with their visit because of my customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, unprofessional management,
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 20, 2014
Typical days included enhanced customer service and running around trying to help everyone get through the day as smoothly as possible. Leaned how to delegate work to coworkers and lead my fellow associates to a productive day. Management was OK, some were very good, others were very unprofessional. Great interactions and relationships with all of my – more... coworkers. I would say the hardest part about the job was rationalizing management decisions that hindered the success of the store. The most enjoyable part would absolutely be the relationships i built with my fellow co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Materials Handler 2-Forklift Driver (Current Employee), Trenton SCJuly 20, 2014
Pros: great overtime
Cons: management
You have former Gamestop managers as supervisors at Urban.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees! Nice discount!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), NYC, NyJuly 18, 2014
Pros: great staff.
Cons: low pay, no hours.
A typical day would be attending the fitting room, or maintaining the large sales section or attending the shoe & accessories department.

Maintaining the overall look of the sales floor
Assisting visual merchandisers with mannequin displays.

There was nothing too difficult that I couldn't handle.

Most enjoyable part was working with a great team – more... and witnessing great fashion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Sales
Department Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: learn a lot about retail
Cons: inconsiderate upper management.
I learned to manage a team in a high stress no sleep- scheduled environment. I learned a lot about management, about team work, and about helping to develop people to be at their best potential at a daily basis. I also learned to juggle the requirements of fulfilling duties while helping customers and providing the best possible service. The hardest – more... part of the job was the unforgiving way managers are scheduled in this line of work. I lived 1 hour away y driving and often had close-open schedules. It was physically draining. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urban Outfitters is a Productive, engaging environment to work in.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Paramus, NJJuly 7, 2014
Cons: short breaks also not enough work hours [sometimes]
Urban Outfitters is one company that i have worked for, that takes respect really serious. The companies employees and managers, I would say are all on the same level. A typical day at Urban consist of Intensive Customer Service and maintaining the store's merchandise. I would say the hardest part of the work day is putting all the stores merchandise – more... back in place, being that its a big store finding and placing things could be a bit challenging. The most enjoyable part of the work day is shipment. Receiving new merchandise and being able to have an opinion on where the merchandise is being placed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive workplace but bad management
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), London, ENGJune 23, 2014
Pros: discounts on clothing etc
The management were terrible, they never listened to me about timing and would be very unprofessional towards staff on the shop floor.

A typical day would involve clearing, fitting room in and outs, working on tills, ordering clothing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real Laid back
SEASONAL SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 8, 2014
Pros: no dress code, employee discount, flexible hours
Cons: management can be petty, moving up is pretty hard
It's a real laid back place to work. You basically wear whatever you want, just don't come in naked. There is always something to do, whether it's runs or customer service or keeping things neat. Co- workers are great. Management is ok. of course you have the manager that everyone likes, and you have the manager that no one likes. just like at any place, – more... so things can get a bit petty. Hardest part of the job is closing, but only if it is a perfect close, or u have the manager that always wants to do a perfect close even if it's xmas season and things get trashed. most enjoyable part is just working with co-workers and the 40% discount – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a fun place to work and forever friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 4, 2014
Pros: easy advancement, fun work environment
Cons: low pay, short breaks, possibly long hours, possibly shallow hours
Coworkers are always friendly and open to meeting new people.

Pay is unfortunately tends to be quite low compared to competitors.

Hours can get long and associates are expected to deal with it.

Great opportunities for advancement within the company, especially in larger cities. Easy to advance quickly into management positions.

The Urban Team became – more... like a second family.

There wasn't a great raise when advancing, but way more responsibilities. The responsibilities I feel were too much for what the pay rate was. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Urban Outfitters Inc.

Urban Outfitters, Inc. is a lifestyle specialty retail company that operates under the Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, Free People – Read more

Urban Outfitters Inc. Photos