Upper Canada District School Board Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable working environment
Educational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON28 June 2017
Enjoyable workign with children on a regular basis within classroom setting. Difficulty with job cuts during and after school year due to cuts in government funding.
Pros
working with children
Cons
job instability due to funding cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be flexible
Occasional Teacher (Current Employee) –  Brockville, ON18 January 2017
While being an OT is rewarding, it can also be frustrating when you do not receive many calls during a week.
Most principals are GREAT, however, dealing with the board office can be extremely frustrating and challenging.
Cons
Unreliability of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Secondary Office Administrator, CCVS (Current Employee) –  Cornwall, ON1 April 2016
I enjoy going to work every day. My admin team are great people to work for and my co-workers. We are a close team and we work together.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent atmosphere conducive to student learning
Elementary Classroom Teacher (Current Employee) –  Arklan Community Public School19 July 2015
The board and school provide learning atmospheres that support student learning and staff development. There is good communication between the school and the community making it a supportive place for learning. The board is progressive with regards to the use of technology and is usually supportive of staff demands.
Pros
learning is evident among students
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brockville, ON3 February 2015
This is a temporary position; I am working as part of a team to implement a new program called "My Family Room". My responsibilty is to register all interested parents to the program.
Pros
Pioneering a new program
Cons
no cons, very enjoyable workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Assistant
Educational Assistant (Current Employee) –  ON28 October 2014
Working with children with Autism, behavioural challenges, poverty
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great Atmosphere and excellent employees
Summer Intern - Communications Dpmt (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON14 April 2014
Overall, this position was very rewarding, mostly because it was related to the field I wanted to pursue and also the atmosphere around me was very uplifting. A typical was editing at my desk or logging footage which I enjoyed. The hardest was trying to interpret what some employees wanted to see, but that was also the most enjoyable.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Not enough time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Casual Courier (Current Employee) –  Brockville Ontario23 February 2014
long days , productive days , very rewardind to see the kids on a daily basis
Pros
free pizza on Fridays
Cons
winter driving
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Rewarding place
ISM/Education Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON14 May 2013
The most enjoyable part was working with the special needs kids. They provided a challenge on a regular basis, kept me on my toes but the work was always rewarding, a sense of humor was a necessity!

I learned more patience, and how to keep a step ahead at all times.

The staff were always great to work with, there was always a sense of family within the school.

Those days when no amount of coaxing or convincing would work.
Pros
Smiles and laughter in abundance
Cons
Lack of job security and full time work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very enjoyable and rewarding career
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Brockville, ON19 November 2012
I enjoy teaching but am only a supply teacher so I depend on being called each day. I need a more stable position.
Pros
working with people
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Upper Canada District School Board. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.7
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Upper Canada District School Board Reviews by Location