UOIT Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but too much red tape
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON29 September 2017
Good work environment and convenient campus. Your experience will depend on your supervisor as there are not a lot of regulations protecting/helping researchers. This can work in your favour or against you depending your relationship with your supervisor. Getting anything done through administration is a nightmare so unless you have connections your not going to have a good time.
Pros
New Campus, and lots of events going on.
Cons
Administration is ridiculously slow and understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At my discretion
Physics Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON21 September 2017
This job was great because everything was to be done at my own paste. I did have deadlines but I could get it all done and out of my way. I learned about physics applications to things in the real world and how they are modeled in labs. it is a quiet and lonely atmosphere which is something I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Office of the Vice President (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON7 September 2017
Enjoyed working here. It was awesome. Made friends with colleagues and had frequent get-togethers off the job. Everybody is focused and gets the job done.
Pros
Awesome place to work!
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment for students
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON28 August 2017
Great place to work if you are a student especially part time. It was great teaching other students and growing from that as well. They really appreciate and learn from you.
Pros
pick your own hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going, productive place to work
CRWC GYM REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON5 April 2017
There was always something to do so when at work. If I wasn't speaking to clients and selling memberships, there was always something to do in athletic facilities.
Pros
hours were very flexible
Cons
Sometimes I had to work till 1am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Software Development (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON19 April 2016
UOIT offers students many job opportunities to further enhance skills and to build their resume. The professors occasionally have private projects engage students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
Hardware Preparation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON11 April 2016
It was an excellent place to work and the staff was very cooperative. They were very kind and enjoyable. I learned alot about programming and teamwork. I would work there again.
Pros
Teamwork and Staff
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work, just not a good fit for my skills
Front Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON12 March 2015
I had a lot of trouble with the requirements at the front desk at the location I was assigned to. I'm not a multitasking specialist, and I had an "overload" scenario with my expectations.

This job is in the past, and hopefully I can move up from here.
Pros
None
Cons
The User
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and fast paced workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON21 August 2014
Great supervisor, flexible hours. Pace of work changed on a project-to-project basis.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
contract work without benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, Friendly Enviroment with a work-life balance
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa ON4 July 2014
As a teaching assistant for "Business Math II" (Calculus for Business) I was responsible for a portion of the students enrolled in the course. Which was about approximately 80 students. I was responsible for marking the weekly assignments for these students and I had a set deadline each week which I was required to meet. During exam time I would be responsible for marking the mid-term and final exams as well.
I would also be required to hold weekly office hours which allowed the students to drop in for extra help with the course content.
On a few occasions I also conducted the technical portion of the lecture (tutorial). In the tutorial we would review the weeks content by applying the mathematical concepts to real life business scenarios.
Pros
Flexibity, Positive work atmosphere, Work from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean professional environment
full-time mobile technician (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON21 March 2014
• Imaging of hundredsof laptops for students.
• Troubleshoot software issue and account permission related programs.
• Solve printer and print server related issues.
• Determine hardware problems with laptops,
• Configuring proper AD student information
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant / teacher Assistant
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oshawa28 October 2012
Plant Simulation by AspenHysys
 Implemented energy lost in building by FluentFluent
 Studied on safety issues and possible hazards on refineries and chemical industries
 Studied deterministic and probabilistic real time hazard and risk analysis in process industries
 Studied computer based automated HAZOP analysis
 Designed safety performance indicators and risk reduction factors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment allowing multiple interactions with people daily
Campus Safe Walk (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON22 June 2012
A typical day at work would be to set-up the table necessary for the job. Then take walks on tour around the university campus asking anyone if they need a walk or provide them with any questions they may have. Each shift must be worked in pairs and cooperation between each other is a must for a successful shift.
Pros
proactive environment
Cons
not an actively work prone job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UOIT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

UOIT Reviews by Location