University of Winnipeg Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not quit sure yet, has not much experience with them
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 June 2017
The classes are a bit smaller than the U of Manitoba. However the students might be a bit weaker than those of U of Manitoba. However, the students of U of Winnipeg might be more appreciating towards the instructors. I have worked with the U of Manitoba Math Department and the U of Winnipeg Math Department, but I think the U of Winnipeg Math Department better treats the sessional instructors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adaptable and high paced work experience
Coach/Camp Instructor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 February 2017
I enjoyed working in this placement mainly because I love teaching skills about volleyball to young individuals who want to experience the game as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interning in the Anthropology Department
Intern (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 January 2017
I would say my time interning at the University in the Department of Anthropology was one of the best opportunities I have had. I learned a lot about the field and got a first hand glimpse at what it is like to be a curator for artifacts. I had a lot of fun in the short time I was there, I learned a lot social and organization skills there that have proven to be very beneficial for me in both my professional and personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Winnipeg Bookstore Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 January 2017
Moving textbooks
Helping customers
Finding work to do without being told

Overall, I really enjoyed working at this job
Pros
independent and relaxed
Cons
not always enough work to be done
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 October 2016
It was a good experience. Pay was not fantastic but fair enough for a student position. Work atmosphere was warm and welcoming and much was learned.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Language helper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 July 2016
fun and comfortable place to lean about different culture and meet new people around the world. its a wide working place where students from different country come to learn English and Canada culture. I'm so glad to share my experience with them, and at the same time learn about their culture and where there are from.
Pros
being able to attend to free events
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fascinating and fast paced work environment
Transcriber (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 April 2016
There are many different jobs on the campus of U of Wpg, but they all share a fast-pace and intensely social environment full of students and staff. It's a great place to work if you are someone committed to lifelong learning and enjoy opportunities to become engaged in special interest groups and the community.
Pros
Progressive, liberal workplace
Cons
Many jobs dry up and disappear over the summer break
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culturally welcoming
Research Participant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 February 2016
A great place to work or get your education! The environment is very culturally and environmentally friendly. I would recommend this university to anyone~
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 February 2016
I am graduate research assistant at University of Winnipeg. My supervisor was very helpful. I do recommend others to proceed with their master's.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and very productive.
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 January 2016
The students were very enthusiastic, studios, friendly and overall goal oriented. I had a very good time and enjoyed the occasional staff- students get together.
Pros
Amiable co-workers
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic job with unlimited learning possibilities
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 December 2015
I personally enjoy my flexible yet challenging job as a Research Assistant, and always love to try new tasks and get involved.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great learning experience
Aerial and Remote Sensing Lab Monitor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 July 2015
During my time working as a lab monitor I learnt that having a creative way of illustrating technical ideas was important to teaching other students. My Professor was very amazing and a source of information. Creating connections with students was a great experience to help them out in the lab class and talk to them out of class in other courses we shared.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely a place where you can advance and grow
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 April 2015
A fairly hierarchical organization, but one that values education and advancement opportunities for faculty and staff.
A typical day is dependent on the needs of the department. The hardest part of the job is that because it's so hierarchical, lower positions aren't given the same respect as higher positions, regardless of how much they contribute. The most enjoyable part of the job is access to a variety of different people.
Pros
Free lectures and seminars - sometimes even free courses
Cons
Strict hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Private Tutor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 February 2015
I learned a lot there as a student and they were a great company to work for. I believe it is a great school to attend and work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to learn
Teacher's Assistant/Marker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 January 2015
It's a great learning opportunity as you mark paper you learn new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Research Assistant
Senior Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 September 2014
Completed Algorithm design, programming, tests in different cycles for DND Database Pattern Search within environment of Java, Web interface, Apache, Tomcat, IIS, PHP, JSP, Java, SQL Server 2000, MS Access
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place is productive, educative and full of creativity and space to relax
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 July 2014
A typical day at work is you have to be fully prepared and to know the subject and the topic to treat for the day very well, by constant reading, studying and searching for updated information before presenting it to students.

I have learned how to present a seminar through power point presentation, how to communicate to students by so doing I am improving my communication skills.

The management are so friendly ready to answer any questions and provide relevant assistance, I may require.

We work as a team, collaborators and learn from each other.

The hardest part of the job is every day you have to research and update your information to students, do a lot of demonstrations in a simple term for students to understand you better.

The most enjoyable part of the job, it makes you always committed to your job, gathering new information, learning more skills, socializing with different personality and more productive.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
moderate
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work
Office Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 July 2014
-To hit the target of auditing and entering 2500 used airline tickets
-Learned how to do auditing and financial reporting
-Management is not 100% supportive to the needs of the employees
-Co-workers lacks of professionalism
-Working with very unprofessional co-workers
-To work with a very supportive Admin Manager and always see the positive side of you.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience gained
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 April 2014
Wonderful environment that encourages research building and learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 April 2014
good professor
good students
great working environment
learned a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Winnipeg. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

University of Winnipeg Reviews by Location