University of Western Ontario Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 65 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive laboratory
PhD Candidate (Former Employee) –  London, ONJuly 18, 2016
Come to work, chat with coworkers over coffee, go to my seat and run simulations, finish work at around 5:00PM, go home and cook dinner with my partner, I enjoy working in my lab independently, but I get cold easily because of the air conditioning.
Pros
Free lunche
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very relaxed and high quality environment to work in
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONJuly 14, 2016
As a teaching assistant, I loved my job. Both its benefits and my responsibilities were inline with my situation and interests. Although I am now graduating and looking for a non-academic job, I recommend this place for all prospective graduate students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  LondonJune 19, 2016
Professional environment with good benefits and worker support. Highly recommended.
Gave great teaching experience including course and project creation.
Pros
Great people and environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually Stimulating and Fun
Laboratory Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ONMay 10, 2016
Extremely intellectually engaging.
Ideal learning environment.
Friendly and open minded school climate.
Professors and teaching assistants provide sufficient help and aid as needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed and encouraging
Print Monitor (Former Employee) –  London, ONMay 8, 2016
The print monitor position was very enjoyable. Helping students with their projects and maintaining the printshop itself was rewarding. Time conflicts with school limited how often I could work but it was still enough income for where I was at the time. Great management and co-workers.
Pros
Access to the studio
Cons
Late night messes prolonged shift/overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONApril 27, 2016
Graduate research is exciting and polishes skills of problem solving.

Working for UWO was a good experience and people were friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Western is a research oriented school. I love it.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ONApril 24, 2016
Independent at work
How to start a research. The standard operating procedure to conduct an experiment.
Excellent
Very cordial
Deadline
No time barrier
Pros
Very good
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Student (Current Employee) –  London, ONApril 24, 2016
This is a great learning institution that had help foster my development into a strong and indipendent worker. Due to my education here I know that I have the ability to thrive in any placement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Faculty of LawMarch 29, 2016
Perform legal research
Search academic articles
Report to professor
Track hours worked
Worked with another student
Wrote proposals and summarized research documents
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 23, 2016
Excellent People, very good work environment. Good pay and benefits package and seasonal work if wanted.
Staff are excellent and love what they do
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you can learn when you work
Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 22, 2016
I graduated from UWO and after my graduation I had worked there until 2010. I felt it was a good experience of life and work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
SOUS CHEF (Former Employee) –  London, ONMarch 10, 2016
It was fun but it was a long time ago that I worked for the University of Western Ontario and I would suggest people to apply and work for a great group of individulas
Pros
Free Meals
Cons
Worked on Weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very friendly workplace
Accounting assistant & Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  London Ontario CanadaMarch 7, 2016
I am so lucky because everyone is giving me new opportunities to learn. The workplace is so friendly and my manager pushes me to go an extra mile, learning things that I can improve on my skills.
Pros
Very friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ONFebruary 20, 2016
This is very dynamic and fun place to work at. Good pay and good communications. Decently manageable with some flexibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive study environment for students
Researcher, Educator (Current Employee) –  London, ONFebruary 4, 2016
Overall a supportive study environment for students with good resources in the libraries and student support centre.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful place and environment of work.
Teaching and Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ONDecember 19, 2015
The work was promising with a good margin of profit till the revolution there began. After that I forced to leave and the plant was closed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Wish My Contract Was a LOT longer... Excellent Job!
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONDecember 17, 2015
Working as a research assistant is an excellent gig should you get the opportunity to do so. The pay was nice at $15/hour at about 10-15 hours a week... too bad the contract was only a month long.

Learned all kinds of important research and analysis skills that will go a long way in professional employment. I can't recommend working for Western enough! :)
Pros
Learn Skills and Feel Valued
Cons
Contract too Short
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience as a TA
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ONDecember 3, 2015
Teaching a graduate class is one of the most valuable experiences I have had. The pressures of maintaining class averages are gone, and the level of intellect from the students and the questions asked in class are much higher compared to undergrad. The graduate teaching programs at UWO are one of the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment to work and build a career
Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ONNovember 19, 2015
I enjoyed my time working here. The workload can be high, but the team around you is very supportive and makes that less of an issue. Lots of chances for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience
Choir Assistant/Section Leader (Former Employee) –  London, ONSeptember 30, 2015
Western University was very kind in providing work-study for students who need more wage on top of their part-time jobs to make an living for themselves. I was very grateful that the Don Wright Faculty of Music employs Music Vocal Professors to conduct music services for churches within the London Community. Rehearsal was every Thursday night and Sunday morning before mass, which was a commitment I kept and enjoyed attending. I loved that I could use my talents for the benefit of the community. Providing musical services over the past three years made me feel of purpose and for that I am very honoured and privileged.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.4
Culture
4.4

University of Western Ontario Reviews by Location