University of Western Ontario Employee Reviews for Research Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University with many resources and an encouraging atmosphere
Research Assistant, Physiology (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 February 2017
Using excellent research facilities, we were able to use various tests (critical power, Maximum VO2, etc.) to examine variables accurately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are friendly and willing to assist you with job related problems
Research/Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON26 December 2016
Very busy. The best only comes by working hard and asking pertinent questions that are related to the problem you are solving. Co-workers are very friendly as well as hard working. The hardest part of the job is meeting strict deadlines. The job is very flexible- you can work by following your own schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 April 2016
Graduate research is exciting and polishes skills of problem solving.

Working for UWO was a good experience and people were friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Western is a research oriented school. I love it.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 April 2016
Independent at work
How to start a research. The standard operating procedure to conduct an experiment.
Excellent
Very cordial
Deadline
No time barrier
Pros
Very good
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Faculty of Law29 March 2016
Perform legal research
Search academic articles
Report to professor
Track hours worked
Worked with another student
Wrote proposals and summarized research documents
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful place and environment of work.
Teaching and Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON19 December 2015
The work was promising with a good margin of profit till the revolution there began. After that I forced to leave and the plant was closed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Wish My Contract Was a LOT longer... Excellent Job!
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 December 2015
Working as a research assistant is an excellent gig should you get the opportunity to do so. The pay was nice at $15/hour at about 10-15 hours a week... too bad the contract was only a month long.

Learned all kinds of important research and analysis skills that will go a long way in professional employment. I can't recommend working for Western enough! :)
Pros
Learn Skills and Feel Valued
Cons
Contract too Short
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Functional place having very professional people.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON20 April 2015
Pay for assistants in every field is low though. One can not blame the university, because all universities have the similar salary range.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 March 2015
University of Western Ontario offers academic positions to students that allow them to learn and earn money at the same time. In my position I learned how to do social health research.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London,On11 January 2015
a typical day starts with sunshine
very nice campus, very beautiful
prof staff and colleagues are nice
mixed historical and modern buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun teaching experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON18 August 2014
Good experience with teaching lectures and working with university students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fullfilling
Teaching and Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON31 July 2014
Being able to tutor younger students and shape their minds and see their scientific minds grow, is the best experience ever. Being able to contribute to someone scientific growth is quite rewarding.
Pros
Rewarding
Cons
May become overwhelming and time consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Research Assistant/Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON4 July 2014
Western is a wonderful school, the campus is beautiful no matter the season and even though it's a big campus, it doesn't always feel that way. The campus is super well maintained and there are many precautions taken for the safety of students.
I have a great team who are always willing to help. My project focuses on the study of plant and spider mite genomics to develop strategies to reduce spider mite damage and increase crop yield.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good way to put knowledge into practice and improve communication skills.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 November 2013
I have done a project for two hospitals in Canada with my supervisor's help. Many statistics methods and theory learned in class were used in this project. At the end, I went to the hospitals and gave a presentation about our findings and optimization strategies. It's really a meaningful experience for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON9 July 2013
The research assistant job gave me the opportunity to acquire my in time management and leadership skills by taking part in group projects and and performing my duties in a timely and efficient manner.

As a research assistant, my daily activities at work would differ, some days doing only research and reviewing the literature and other times I would spend hours writing computer programs. In the meanwhile I had the chance to collaborate with my nice colleagues whom I had nice chat over lunch hours or had series discussions on my research.

The most exciting part of my job was doing something new everyday. Keeping up with the latest research that is going on worldwide.

The most difficult part of the research is the uncertainty in the resolved solution and the ambiguity along with that.
Pros
Everyday learning new research
Cons
work extensively sometimes over nights
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Research Intensive University
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON7 November 2012
Considered Canada’s most beautiful university, Western’s main campus spans 400 acres of Gothic-style buildings mixed with modern, LEED-certified structures provide an idyllic environment for our community of scholars.
Very friendly work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Western Ontario is a good place for starters.
Research Assistant / Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Ont15 May 2012
University of Western Ontario, in a big university with a good reputation in bushiness, Astronomy, and Medical researches.
I have been there since 2011, and I am studying Astronomy as a master student.
Being Teacher Assistant and Research Assistant, I found a way to earn money, and found a valuable time to experience working in a real life.
After these years now I can say that I have these skills:

Easily supervise 35_45 students
With no problem work with lab instruments and set them up
Have a good skill to solve problems
Good at time management
Work under pressure
Have strong analytical thinking
Work with large Data
Programming skills like Python
Pros
enough money to survive, nice enviroment
Cons
being in small city like london
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Western Ontario. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 91 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

University of Western Ontario Reviews by Location