University of Western Ontario Employee Reviews

Found 75 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with flexible working hours
Postgraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON19 February 2017
It is a nice place to do research with all facilities to carry out different parts of the research. I was never put in a situation that I could not do my research due to financial problems. The research group is very collaborative and supportive of all researchers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Proctor (Current Employee) –  London, ON9 February 2017
The greatest strength at Western University is its people. I have learned so much from the people that I worked with and completely enjoyed working for my coordinators and team leaders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and slow
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON26 January 2017
Some days are slow, some days are fast paced. Great and fun workplace. lot of great stuff, great people. Hardest part is theres a lot of students and not a lot of help from supervisors
Pros
summers off
Cons
summers off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student for a part-time job
Campus Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 January 2017
Typical day as a part time student worker included doing tour for prospective students for 2 hours per shift. Very organized team with great boss.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are friendly and willing to assist you with job related problems
Research/Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON26 December 2016
Very busy. The best only comes by working hard and asking pertinent questions that are related to the problem you are solving. Co-workers are very friendly as well as hard working. The hardest part of the job is meeting strict deadlines. The job is very flexible- you can work by following your own schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variable experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON23 November 2016
Working as a teaching Assistant is good, but the experience one has depends a lot on who the supervising instructor is. Also, while the hourly wage seems good on paper, one is limited to only ten hours a week. The job is a great way to develop discussion facilitation and conflict resolution skills.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Few hours, highly variable workload.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON28 October 2016
A typical day at work included arriving to the lab, doing a literature search, setting up reactions. There were also classes one had to take which didn't necessarily occur everyday. After class, one would go check on your reactions, work them up, purify the compounds, and characterize and analyze the compounds. Every day there was something new to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an enjoyable experience sharing knowledge with professors and students and learning from them as well
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON4 October 2016
My typical day involves reading the course materials, attending lectures, sometimes preparing tutorials and meeting with students to discuss anything that they may seek additional clarification. I also mark exams and invigilate/proctor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very diverse community and fun
Instructor and TA (Former Employee) –  London2 September 2016
I've had a great time studying and working at Western University. I learned a lot! There is a great sense of community at Western. Buildings are clean and the work staff are friendly. I loved blending in the mainstream population and learning from other cultures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive laboratory
PhD Candidate (Former Employee) –  London, ON18 July 2016
Come to work, chat with coworkers over coffee, go to my seat and run simulations, finish work at around 5:00PM, go home and cook dinner with my partner, I enjoy working in my lab independently, but I get cold easily because of the air conditioning.
Pros
Free lunche
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very relaxed and high quality environment to work in
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 July 2016
As a teaching assistant, I loved my job. Both its benefits and my responsibilities were inline with my situation and interests. Although I am now graduating and looking for a non-academic job, I recommend this place for all prospective graduate students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  London19 June 2016
Professional environment with good benefits and worker support. Highly recommended.
Gave great teaching experience including course and project creation.
Pros
Great people and environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually Stimulating and Fun
Laboratory Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON10 May 2016
Extremely intellectually engaging.
Ideal learning environment.
Friendly and open minded school climate.
Professors and teaching assistants provide sufficient help and aid as needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed and encouraging
Print Monitor (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 May 2016
The print monitor position was very enjoyable. Helping students with their projects and maintaining the printshop itself was rewarding. Time conflicts with school limited how often I could work but it was still enough income for where I was at the time. Great management and co-workers.
Pros
Access to the studio
Cons
Late night messes prolonged shift/overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 April 2016
Graduate research is exciting and polishes skills of problem solving.

Working for UWO was a good experience and people were friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Western is a research oriented school. I love it.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 April 2016
Independent at work
How to start a research. The standard operating procedure to conduct an experiment.
Excellent
Very cordial
Deadline
No time barrier
Pros
Very good
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Student (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 April 2016
This is a great learning institution that had help foster my development into a strong and indipendent worker. Due to my education here I know that I have the ability to thrive in any placement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Faculty of Law29 March 2016
Perform legal research
Search academic articles
Report to professor
Track hours worked
Worked with another student
Wrote proposals and summarized research documents
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 March 2016
Excellent People, very good work environment. Good pay and benefits package and seasonal work if wanted.
Staff are excellent and love what they do
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you can learn when you work
Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON22 March 2016
I graduated from UWO and after my graduation I had worked there until 2010. I felt it was a good experience of life and work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Western Ontario. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 78 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3
94%

CEO Approval

Based on 18 ratings
Add your rating

University of Western Ontario Reviews by Location