University of Waterloo

University of Waterloo Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 134 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and cooperative co-workers
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONAugust 26, 2014
A typical day at the job starts with a fresh cup coffee. The working environment is so friendly and refreshing. what I have learnt from this job is how to handle stress and be productive through out the day. I have learnt to take challenges and handle every situation no matter how hard it maybe. The management team and the co-workers were extremely cooperative and helpful. the hardest part of the job was, off course, the long hours but anyhow I have managed it very well at my own. The most enjoyable part was the co-workers and the professor I was working under, they made my days at work go by so quick and easy.
Pros
easy going, less hectic
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RaffaloCody
Alumni Affairs (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONAugust 15, 2014
I have nothing bad to really say, i work for my university and overall i think they did a great job of accommodating their employees. the only problem I found was that they should have more flexible/openness to employees having more hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONAugust 9, 2014
I come to university at 9:30 and start my work by answering questions from students about the course. Every week, I set up an office hour specifically for answering students' questions. As well, I give them tutorial weekly. I used to prepare some relevant materials such as summarizing the concepts and making up corresponding questions before the tutorials.My colleges are masters and phd students. Sometimes, I will face with a lot of tasks at one time and have to management them wisely. However, when I get compliments from professors and students, I feel extremely happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research and design of Smart Grid
Graduate RA & TA (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJuly 11, 2014
I have worked as a Graduate Research Assistant (RA) and Teaching Assistant (TA) in this University. I have conducted research on Smart Grid design for two years with the collaboration of NSERC Smart Migrogrid Network (NSMG-NET). I have successfully concluded my research work with a new approach of real-time control of large load (Residential, Commercial & Industrial) modeling from Smart grid perspective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work enviroment.
Post Doctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Waterloo ONTARIOJune 23, 2014
knowlegable and helpfull colleagues. Great Infrastructure for electrical engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a healthy environment
Faculty (Former Employee) –  AHSJune 13, 2014
I worked in a health field yet the work-life balance was anything but healthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversified working environment with great potential professional opportunity
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 27, 2014
Great place to work, especially when financial aid is needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and innovative
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 15, 2014
University of Waterloo famous for its co-educational program. It has very high reputation in Science and Engineering. There are nearly 26,000 undergraduate and over 4,000 post-graduate students. Alumni and former students of the university can be found across Canada and in over 140 countries.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
student (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 8, 2014
friendly environment, lots of opportunities along with good working environment and kind people
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 5, 2014
• Proctored exams, organized markers to mark exam papers and recorded the marks
• Responded the web task and created answers for quizzes and assignments
• Organized tutorial lectures and helped students in the tutorial center
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Stress free work environment
Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 29, 2014
• Built and maintained server side and client side software programs
• Designed web pages, web Interfaces, graphics, images
• Developed builds, scripts, installation procedures, and systems including source code control and issue tracking
• Database schema design and administration
Pros
felexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience
Supported Learning Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 19, 2014
The work I did with the Student Success Office and the department of Economics at UW was based on providing ECON 101 students with a safe and inviting learning environment that promoted self learning and good studying habits as well as reinstating the lecture content through biweekly supported learning group sessions. It was a great experience helping students not only understand lecture material but also help them in understanding university life, school dynamics and opportunities available academically and socially on campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PhD Gradudated School
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 10, 2014
Graduated school in University of Waterloo. Heavily depends on your supervisor and project.
Pros
flexible
Cons
time constrained(need to graduate), low wage(stipend for student is limited)
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teaching Assitant (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ONApril 5, 2014
Competitive salary as a student, and its a great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 29, 2014
Considerate and perceptive managers. Excellent work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience.
Fire Safety Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 25, 2014
Mostly involved theoretical research with some forms of practical research.management was very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted the Residences at UWaterloo
Residence Marketer and Promoter (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 17, 2014
- Helped set up various promotions and events (such as University-wide events like We Day)
- Most enjoyable part of the job was working with a team of three others; we got to work together to come up with media content for marketing (such as contests and video blogs)
- My management was great; they met weekly with us and we discussed ideas and went about or work on our own time.
Pros
great networking
Cons
less larger event planning
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Animal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 4, 2014
This coop experience taught me about various laboratory skills and animal care skills.
Pros
great people and workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm positive environment
CONSULTANT, RESEARCH (Current Employee) –  Milton, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Positive environment which fosters both growth team work and critical thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly place to work at
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Fun, interactive, enlightening and progressive work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 149 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

University of Waterloo Reviews by Location