University of Waterloo Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 131 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research and design of Smart Grid
Graduate RA & TA (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJuly 11, 2014
I have worked as a Graduate Research Assistant (RA) and Teaching Assistant (TA) in this University. I have conducted research on Smart Grid design for two years with the collaboration of NSERC Smart Migrogrid Network (NSMG-NET). I have successfully concluded my research work with a new approach of real-time control of large load (Residential, Commercial & Industrial) modeling from Smart grid perspective.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work enviroment.
Post Doctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Waterloo ONTARIOJune 23, 2014
knowlegable and helpfull colleagues. Great Infrastructure for electrical engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a healthy environment
Faculty (Former Employee) –  AHSJune 13, 2014
I worked in a health field yet the work-life balance was anything but healthy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversified working environment with great potential professional opportunity
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 27, 2014
Great place to work, especially when financial aid is needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and innovative
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 15, 2014
University of Waterloo famous for its co-educational program. It has very high reputation in Science and Engineering. There are nearly 26,000 undergraduate and over 4,000 post-graduate students. Alumni and former students of the university can be found across Canada and in over 140 countries.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
student (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 8, 2014
friendly environment, lots of opportunities along with good working environment and kind people
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 5, 2014
• Proctored exams, organized markers to mark exam papers and recorded the marks
• Responded the web task and created answers for quizzes and assignments
• Organized tutorial lectures and helped students in the tutorial center
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Stress free work environment
Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 29, 2014
• Built and maintained server side and client side software programs
• Designed web pages, web Interfaces, graphics, images
• Developed builds, scripts, installation procedures, and systems including source code control and issue tracking
• Database schema design and administration
Pros
felexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience
Supported Learning Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 19, 2014
The work I did with the Student Success Office and the department of Economics at UW was based on providing ECON 101 students with a safe and inviting learning environment that promoted self learning and good studying habits as well as reinstating the lecture content through biweekly supported learning group sessions. It was a great experience helping students not only understand lecture material but also help them in understanding university life, school dynamics and opportunities available academically and socially on campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PhD Gradudated School
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 10, 2014
Graduated school in University of Waterloo. Heavily depends on your supervisor and project.
Pros
flexible
Cons
time constrained(need to graduate), low wage(stipend for student is limited)
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teaching Assitant (Former Employee) –  Stratford, ONApril 5, 2014
Competitive salary as a student, and its a great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 29, 2014
Considerate and perceptive managers. Excellent work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience.
Fire Safety Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 25, 2014
Mostly involved theoretical research with some forms of practical research.management was very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted the Residences at UWaterloo
Residence Marketer and Promoter (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 17, 2014
- Helped set up various promotions and events (such as University-wide events like We Day)
- Most enjoyable part of the job was working with a team of three others; we got to work together to come up with media content for marketing (such as contests and video blogs)
- My management was great; they met weekly with us and we discussed ideas and went about or work on our own time.
Pros
great networking
Cons
less larger event planning
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Animal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 4, 2014
This coop experience taught me about various laboratory skills and animal care skills.
Pros
great people and workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm positive environment
CONSULTANT, RESEARCH (Current Employee) –  Milton, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Positive environment which fosters both growth team work and critical thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly place to work at
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Fun, interactive, enlightening and progressive work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-moving, creative workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 14, 2014
As a teaching assistant, I made my own lesson plans out of teaching outlines provided by the course professor. The environment was quick moving and marking required submission by a deadline. I utilized communication skills daily through presenting material to my class and improved on my editing stills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and promising company
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Great environment to work in. Flexible time schedules. Great work/life balance. Amazing management. Strict, yet friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating courses with the incredible coop program
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Its been only 8 months for me in University of Waterloo and it has taught me so much. I am so grateful for the knowledge that I have gained in these months and for the diverse group of people I had the chance to meet. I have seen that it is an innovative, world-class institution. Academically, I experienced the fascinating management sciences courses offered by Waterloo’s Faculty of Engineering. I learned how interesting and broad the field of management sciences truly is. I learned about how organizations achieve business success and about how the economy functions. Overall, the first semester of my program was academically rigorous and extremely rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 146 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

University of Waterloo Reviews by Location