University of Waterloo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and provided a leadership role
Laboratory Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON7 March 2017
- set up experiments, taught lab to 30 students
- learned how to think on my feet
- hardest part was communication with foreign students
-most enjoyable was management
Pros
Leadership role
Cons
Marking lab reports outside work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment for students
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 March 2017
Working in the food services section has been great overall, great staff, decently laid back atmosphere, and great hours. Definitely better for part time casual employees like students than anything else.
Pros
2.75 for meals each shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runner are Open House
FALL OPEN HOUSE RUNNER WATERLOO RESIDENCES (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 March 2017
Greeted Open House visitors.
Asked which residence they would like to visit.
Talked about life at UW residence.
Promoted living in residence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time teaching assistant
Math Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 March 2017
- Helped more than 200 students acquire a better understanding of linear algebra
- Revised students’ mathematical solutions by providing constructive feedbacks
- Improved communication skills by solving students questions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Career Development (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 February 2017
Enjoy my work at UW, always interested in seeing that is going on elsewhere in the career development field. Interested also in the community college approach to career development and student success. Always open to discussions revolving around student success, further education, career planning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON16 February 2017
I worked nights as a custodian. It was a wonderful for those who can work nights. Great supervisor! Great pay! Hardest part of the job for me was working nights. Most enjoyable was my coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained independent working experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON15 February 2017
My recent co-op as a research assistant has showed me the significance of always being ready to learn and to be able to adapt to dynamic environments. When I was put up to the challenge to synthesize a type of electro-catalyst using biomass precursors, the lack of prior experience did not deter me from this opportunity to learn. I investigated various publications/online-resources and sought aid from professionals, which, as a side-effect, enhanced my research skills and ability to learn new material quickly. As a result, I was able to delineate my findings for a suitable bio-mass precursor for the synthesis of electro-catalysts, later used for supercapacitor and other novel battery applications.This also afforded me many opportunities to heighten my research and analytical skills. As a research assistant for a professor at the University of Waterloo, I perused through many research papers and other literary sources to erect my foundations. I then summarized the information and presented my findings via MS PowerPoint to my supervisor. I also conducted a series of electrochemical tests on electro-catalysts for fuel cell applications followed by data analysis/organization, which was eventually used in my supervisor’s manuscript.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good University
Doctoral Researcher (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 February 2017
You Waterloo is a young and expanding University with very bright future. Within a very short period of time university has achieved a lot of remarkable goals and is continuously growing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
PERSONAL TRAINER (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON12 February 2017
Good to work part time as a student there. Depending what job you work, you may have flexible hours and good management. Great way to get involved during school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON28 January 2017
A typical day at work is like random workers, from 8AM to 5PM from Monday to Friday. They not required me to be at my office, though. I have learned some working knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends on which instructor you are working with.
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 January 2017
Very good facilities.

Some professors are really nice.

Competitive salary.

Working hours are flexible term by term.

Love the place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 January 2017
The University of Waterloo is a productive environment with a stellar reputation. I recommend the University to anyone who is looking to upgrade their resume and have an eye-catching workplace.
Pros
job security
Cons
open on holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship experience and high level of autonomy
PHP and SQL Web Application Developer (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON22 January 2017
Working for the University of Waterloo in a software development position is one of the fastest learning curves with the least amount of pressure. Employers allow students to think and learn for themselves, and have their say in what could be added to and improved in the system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Kitchen Porter (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON12 January 2017
For people who are willing to work hard and put a good day into your job this is the place to work. Being able to make a difference and have a little fun at the same time. Great environment to work in as well.
Pros
Great food
Cons
None at this time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Acting (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 January 2017
great people really nice helpfull and easy going, provide exellent training and understanding and helped me gain the skills i need aswell as they gave me subway lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON30 December 2016
Since joining the University of Waterloo, It has only been pleasant experiences. The work environment is great. The staff are very helpful and friendly too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with great food
Porter (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON18 December 2016
-easygoing coworkers
- Learned to prepare side dishes
- Management changed frequently but seemed to remain consistent
- most enjoyable part of job was the 5 star cuisine
- hardest part of the job was cleaning the floors for long hours
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op
Video Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON27 November 2016
Was a last minute co-op placement. No clear guide-lines or rules set in place. Was a good learning experience, provided an opportunity for acquiring new skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work!
Research Assistant (Co-op) (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 November 2016
I've learnt a lot and been given a lot of responsibilities. The pay is good and the timing is flexible, which helps balance work and personal life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Amazing Workers
Bartender/Server (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON13 October 2016
A typical day at work is like any other day, you are constantly working with nice people who enjoy the job and what you get from it. The hardest part of the job would be the lulls in the days where there is no customers and there is no chores to do, so to pass the time I find other tasks to work on like stocking and inventory.
Pros
Lunch is paid for
Cons
None that I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Waterloo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 249 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4