Find companies:
University of Waterloo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

University of Waterloo Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and innovative
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 15, 2014
University of Waterloo famous for its co-educational program. It has very high reputation in Science and Engineering. There are nearly 26,000 undergraduate and over 4,000 post-graduate students. Alumni and former students of the university can be found across Canada and in over 140 countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
student (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 8, 2014
friendly environment, lots of opportunities along with good working environment and kind people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 5, 2014
• Proctored exams, organized markers to mark exam papers and recorded the marks
• Responded the web task and created answers for quizzes and assignments
• Organized tutorial lectures and helped students in the tutorial center
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Stress free work environment
Web Developer (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONApril 29, 2014
Pros: felexible hours
• Built and maintained server side and client side software programs
• Designed web pages, web Interfaces, graphics, images
• Developed builds, scripts, installation procedures, and systems including source code control and issue tracking
• Database schema design and administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience
Supported Learning Group Leader (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONApril 19, 2014
The work I did with the Student Success Office and the department of Economics at UW was based on providing ECON 101 students with a safe and inviting learning environment that promoted self learning and good studying habits as well as reinstating the lecture content through biweekly supported learning group sessions. It was a great experience helping students not only understand lecture material but also help them in understanding university life, school dynamics and opportunities available academically and socially on campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PhD Gradudated School
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONApril 10, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: time constrained(need to graduate), low wage(stipend for student is limited)
Graduated school in University of Waterloo. Heavily depends on your supervisor and project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teaching Assitant (Former Employee), Stratford, ONApril 5, 2014
Competitive salary as a student, and its a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 29, 2014
Considerate and perceptive managers. Excellent work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience.
Fire Safety Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 25, 2014
Mostly involved theoretical research with some forms of practical research.management was very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted the Residences at UWaterloo
Residence Marketer and Promoter (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great networking
Cons: less larger event planning
- Helped set up various promotions and events (such as University-wide events like We Day)
- Most enjoyable part of the job was working with a team of three others; we got to work together to come up with media content for marketing (such as contests and video blogs)
- My management was great; they met weekly with us and we discussed ideas and went about or work on our own time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative Job
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 13, 2014
I look forward to work in such an environment always. Learning in such an environment is always fun. The management and co-workers are always friendly and I just loved my project. The hardest part of the job is night shift. The most enjoyable part is everything related to this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Animal Care Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONMarch 4, 2014
Pros: great people and workplace.
This coop experience taught me about various laboratory skills and animal care skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm positive environment
CONSULTANT, RESEARCH (Current Employee), Milton, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Positive environment which fosters both growth team work and critical thinking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly place to work at
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Fun, interactive, enlightening and progressive work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-moving, creative workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 14, 2014
As a teaching assistant, I made my own lesson plans out of teaching outlines provided by the course professor. The environment was quick moving and marking required submission by a deadline. I utilized communication skills daily through presenting material to my class and improved on my editing stills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and promising company
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Great environment to work in. Flexible time schedules. Great work/life balance. Amazing management. Strict, yet friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating courses with the incredible coop program
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Its been only 8 months for me in University of Waterloo and it has taught me so much. I am so grateful for the knowledge that I have gained in these months and for the diverse group of people I had the chance to meet. I have seen that it is an innovative, world-class institution. Academically, I experienced the fascinating management sciences courses offered by Waterloo’s Faculty of Engineering. I learned how interesting and broad the field of management sciences truly is. I learned about how organizations achieve business success and about how the economy functions. Overall, the first semester of my program was academically rigorous and extremely rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 2, 2014
As a graduate student at both Master and PhD levels, I have true, hands-on experience of working in a lab in general and basic techniques in biology field in particular. Also, I am used to operating state-of-the-art equipment and monitoring maintenance schedules in lab. I have taken part in planning experiments as well as evaluating test results. In addition, I was responsible for maintaining biohazard and radiation safety standards, and ensuring proper handling of potentially hazardous chemical and biological agents.
In addition to the lab work, I have recorded, calculated, and analyzed data, and prepared reports. I work closely with a team of researchers and learned the value of good lab practice. I work well as a team member, am very reliable and organized, and willing to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 15, 2014
Very nice place to work with a lot of accomodations.
The hardest part of the jobs are the hours but it is very enjoyable to be part of a high technology laboratory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Good University
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 6, 2014
University of Waterloo is a great place to work. Both as a student and staff, I had great time there.

About University of Waterloo

The University of Waterloo is a comprehensive public university in the city of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. The school was founded – Read more

University of Waterloo Photos