University of Waterloo

University of Waterloo Employee Reviews

Found 137 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 3, 2016
Generally good working environment
Good location next to coffee and food stores
Good transportation accessibility
Ability to prioritize your own time for tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prime work place for a student
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 24, 2016
This work place provided me (a student at the University of Waterloo), to manage my work life and my student life with ease. Working in the same location where I lived (student dorms), was a good transition for me into the work place in an unfamiliar University environment. Overall, it was a great experience.
Pros
Free food during breaks
Cons
Managing student and work life
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great funding and experience opportunity for students
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 23, 2016
Better when your able to work with students and do more than marking. Easy to balance course work with this job, hours are fair and it has been a great learning opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Full time Master's student ECE (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 9, 2016
fun in working there. Good managers,good ethics,good rules and regulations,good working environments,good administration,good every thing.
Pros
good salary
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to have your PhD
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 7, 2016
Multi-cultural place to study, with people from different background.
Very nice atmosphere and a very competitive, yet collaborative environment
Pros
Great professors, friendly staff, and very smart students
Cons
PhD at UW takes a lot of your life, and work-life balance is far from ideal
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Marketing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJanuary 29, 2016
You're basically around people like yourself all the time. Everybody usually gets along and are always determined to fulfill their responsibilities rather quickly. Everyone is usually willing to help out and management is flexible with your schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Profs and Peers
Assisting a professor. (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJanuary 9, 2016
Canada's best university in engineering. Profs have industry connections that can help launch your career. Profs understand students in a very personalized way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi culture work and study place with a lot for learning
1- Supervisor of academic research projects (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJanuary 1, 2016
I learn a lot every day at UW.
I am studying Non-destructive testing.
Mu co-workers are students from all over the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Workplace
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONDecember 28, 2015
Great staff, exciting atmosphere, always changing. Working at the university was very rewarding and positive. Was able to meet many individuals and was constantly reevaluated to ensure safety.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Poor choices of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Physics Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONDecember 11, 2015
Good research experience with my professor. Sometimes little or no help was given on a programming problem and need a lot of individual, unsupported work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Student (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONDecember 6, 2015
Learn a lot of technical Skills from my school and grow my computer knowledge there. A good place for networking with professionals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Uw
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONNovember 18, 2015
Fun place to work with some what supportive management. It wasn't always about the numbers but about how the customers and staff felt. I most enjoyed about working there was how you could learn new things from the other staff and how they learned things from you.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for research
Graduate Research Student (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONNovember 11, 2015
time flexible
Supportive
Computational resource
The most enjoyable prat of the job was working along my colleagues and learning from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work to gain experience for my future in a career in policing.
PARKING CONTROL OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, NOctober 12, 2015
This position allowed me to gain experience in ticket writing, note taking, etc. which will be beneficial for a career in policing. I enjoyed my co-workers and the duties in which I was assigned.
Pros
The fact that I had multiple duties and not the same thing all the time.
Cons
Contract position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at
Casual Library Clerk (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONOctober 9, 2015
The Geospatial Centre has a very supportive environment, everyone who takes interest in learning GIS or seeking advice in their projects involving GIS applications will find their answers here. Occasionally there are internal projects that aims to provide convenience to other people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to enhance your academic and professional skills
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON, CanadaOctober 6, 2015
Best School in Canada for innovation and research. In the fast growing research in nano technology and quantum mechanics, UW is ahead of many other universities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marking assignment and proctor exams
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONOctober 5, 2015
I enjoy woking in the University of Waterloo. The average work load is 5 hour / week. They gave us extra $1,000 as an award each term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Fieldwork Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONOctober 2, 2015
This work allowed me to get hands on experience to work with nature. This work also allowed me to get some valuable work experience while being enrolled at the University.
Pros
Hands on experience
Cons
Short term position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work/study place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  waterloo, ONSeptember 15, 2015
very very good school to study and learn new things and explore new technologies, good research environments to nurture new R&D
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best working environment
Research Assistant, (Full Time Graduate student) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONSeptember 9, 2015
University of Waterloo provided the best work environment, Working there as a research and teaching assistant made me learn lot of stuff and was really challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 152 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

University of Waterloo Reviews by Location