Find companies:
University of Waterloo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
85 reviews

University of Waterloo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm positive environment
CONSULTANT, RESEARCH (Current Employee), Milton, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Positive environment which fosters both growth team work and critical thinking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly place to work at
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Fun, interactive, enlightening and progressive work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-moving, creative workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 14, 2014
As a teaching assistant, I made my own lesson plans out of teaching outlines provided by the course professor. The environment was quick moving and marking required submission by a deadline. I utilized communication skills daily through presenting material to my class and improved on my editing stills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and promising company
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Great environment to work in. Flexible time schedules. Great work/life balance. Amazing management. Strict, yet friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating courses with the incredible coop program
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Its been only 8 months for me in University of Waterloo and it has taught me so much. I am so grateful for the knowledge that I have gained in these months and for the diverse group of people I had the chance to meet. I have seen that it is an innovative, world-class institution. Academically, I experienced the fascinating management sciences courses – more... offered by Waterloo’s Faculty of Engineering. I learned how interesting and broad the field of management sciences truly is. I learned about how organizations achieve business success and about how the economy functions. Overall, the first semester of my program was academically rigorous and extremely rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 2, 2014
As a graduate student at both Master and PhD levels, I have true, hands-on experience of working in a lab in general and basic techniques in biology field in particular. Also, I am used to operating state-of-the-art equipment and monitoring maintenance schedules in lab. I have taken part in planning experiments as well as evaluating test results. In – more... addition, I was responsible for maintaining biohazard and radiation safety standards, and ensuring proper handling of potentially hazardous chemical and biological agents.
In addition to the lab work, I have recorded, calculated, and analyzed data, and prepared reports. I work closely with a team of researchers and learned the value of good lab practice. I work well as a team member, am very reliable and organized, and willing to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 15, 2014
Very nice place to work with a lot of accomodations.
The hardest part of the jobs are the hours but it is very enjoyable to be part of a high technology laboratory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Good University
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 6, 2014
University of Waterloo is a great place to work. Both as a student and staff, I had great time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proctoring for the Economics department of the University of Waterloo is serious and a good learning experience.
Proctor (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 4, 2014
20 minutes before every exam, the economics class professor, the other proctors and I carried the examination materials from the professor's office to the examination location. Together with the other proctors, I placed the exam papers in every two desks, so there is enough space between students. The room was fixed accordingly into an exam-writing – more... environment. Once students arrived, the exam rules and guidelines were explained to them, they were told to leave their things in the front of the class, their identification were checked, and they were asked to turn off their cellphones. During the exam, if students had any concerns, which did not give them an unfair advantage over others, I would help them. We would offer students any extra pencils or pens in case theirs were misplaced or nonfunctional. I walked by the students around the room to make sure they were following the rules and not cheating. When students finished their exam, they would raise their hand for approval, raise from their seat, and hand in their exam paper. By the end of the examination period, all exams were collected and the rooms were left as they were before. We would walk back to the professors office to leave the exams and the examination materials.

I learned about discipline, organization leadership, conflict resolution, and better speech skills when managing a large audience.

We were managed by the class professor. It was a fair and relaxed treatment.

My co-workers were very supporting and willing to cooperate, for everything to flow. Everyone played a different role.

My hardest part of the job might have been knowing when to successfully identify students who tried to cheat.

The most enjoyable part was being able to manage such a huge group of students successfully, and knowing that I could have such organizational leadership skills based on my effective communication skills. I enjoyed knowing I helped keep a fair examination environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place and better people
Engineering Science Quest Volunteer (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONDecember 25, 2013
University of Waterloo is amazing in every aspect. When I volunteered there for the Engineering Science Quest summer camp, you could feel the amazing atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great first Coop placement
Computer Systems Assistant Sr. (Coop) (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONDecember 15, 2013
Working for the University of Waterloo coop workplace has many advantages for students. With the flexibility and option to have a side load of courses on campus is a great perk. A typical day at work as a Computer Systems Assistant will include, providing support for the staff, professors and students, backing up computer data and maintaining a database – more... of all computers in the department, and working with the the network in the wiring closet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Student
Graduate Student - Research Assistant (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 23, 2013
Pros: good common space for students
Cons: you're a student
Labs are new and open in the new Engineering building (E6), and openly customizable. Management depends on individual supervisors, but the atmosphere is professional around the building, and there are classes and meetings taking place within the building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time school job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 5, 2013
Assist professor to mark assignments and provided feedbacks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching is fun
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 1, 2013
working parttime as teaching assistant. Enjoy the flexibility in working hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace
Front Desk Assistant - Housing Department (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 23, 2013
Customer service environment with lots of interaction from university faculty members and the students who were living in the respective residences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great way to learn personally and help others learn
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 18, 2013
I gained and appreciation for teaching in this job. It was not enough to simply pass on information or grade a student's work.
As such I took the opportunity to appreciate what each student did well and then help them in areas where they were having trouble.
It was very rewarding overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First official Job
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: flexible timing, not stressful
I loved this job since the professor I worked with was truly amazing. He understood that our education comes first and that we have a lot of things to balance in our life. He gave a chance for First-year students to help him research, and luckily I was one of the few chosen. I had to sort out through many articles and try to filter them out according – more... to the categories that were provided by my prof. It was a good experience but interrupted by unfortunate incidences like my laptop being stolen when I was not in the country, I had to repeat the entire research I've worked on for 4 months within a week or so and sent it in as soon as possible. It was hard but I did it. Again, I didn't really work for money, but I worked for experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional working environment with opportunities to advance
Research assistant and Data entry clerk (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONSeptember 12, 2013
A typical day involved working with no supervision in order to execute a variety of tasks; contacting future and present participants, tracking results of the Developmental Psychology lab's studies, entering the data, and discussing the results. There is a strong community at the University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school specially for undergrads...
Research Associate (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONAugust 24, 2013
Great academic environment for learning, gaining experience, conducting challenging researches, multi-cultural and friendly society,...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad school
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waterloo, Ontario, CanadaAugust 22, 2013
I completed my grad studies here. As good an environment as any

About University of Waterloo

The University of Waterloo is a comprehensive public university in the city of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. The school was founded – Read more

University of Waterloo Photos