University of Waterloo

University of Waterloo Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 126 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours, studies-first mentality
Intramural Referee (off for summer) (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 4, 2016
Myself and the other referees would arrange our own hours based on our school schedules/related commitments. Management is very accommodating. The hardest part of the job is dealing with conflicts between players and referees (in hockey especially, things can get heated fast, and it's my job to control the situation). However, I enjoyed the job because it put me around sports that I not only enjoy watching, but playing as well.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMay 2, 2016
Productive and fun work place
very friendly working environment
professional education
beautiful environment
I learned a lot from my supervisors and colleague.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intriguing research
Nanotechnology Researcher (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 29, 2016
Very friendly working group and encourages self-learning. Good for students who want to pursue higher education or interested in research.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment, constantly learning and travelling with the team during school term
Student Trainer (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 25, 2016
During the school term, I'm one of the fortunate selected few that gets to be a student therapist for the university of waterloo varsity hockey team.I love the close team environment and the unpredictable situations I get put in, whether it's massaging team members or treating a new injury, Every day is fun and enjoyable and I'm constantly learning more from my mentor (athletic therapist)
Pros
Never stop learning, being part of a team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and fun experience working with various people throughout the campus.
Residence Advisor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 19, 2016
It was a few hours during the day and I had the opportunity of communicating with people and answering their questions to university life and academic balance. My coworkers were fun people to be around and work and we had a great team of people working to provide parents and students with the right information. The most difficult part of the job would be not getting paid. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting a variety of people and helping others out.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to earn money as a student
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 12, 2016
I worked as a research assistant in a lab on campus. It was as many hours a week as I wanted and it was a great way to get involved. I was able to make a bit of money at school as well as build up a network of professionals. I wish I would have started earlier.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment, changing on a day-to-day basis
Science Outreach Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 5, 2016
As I was a volunteer at the university, I was not paid. Nonetheless, this experience allowed me to learn greatly. I was constantly exposed to different individuals whom I was able to share with the interest of science. On a typical day at work, I was visiting an elementary school and was prepared to show several scientific demonstrations to children.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONApril 4, 2016
I am a teaching assistant there. Co-worker is my professor. I hold office hours and tutorials for undergrad students. I also prepare study materials and upload them online.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience as employee depends strongly on situation
IT Director, Faculty of Arts (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 29, 2016
Inconsistent leadership, fledgling ethical behaviour and management/leadership training supports, and poorly understood policies leave employees at the mercy of their direct supervisor's level of competence and engagement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONMarch 3, 2016
Generally good working environment
Good location next to coffee and food stores
Good transportation accessibility
Ability to prioritize your own time for tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prime work place for a student
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 24, 2016
This work place provided me (a student at the University of Waterloo), to manage my work life and my student life with ease. Working in the same location where I lived (student dorms), was a good transition for me into the work place in an unfamiliar University environment. Overall, it was a great experience.
Pros
Free food during breaks
Cons
Managing student and work life
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great funding and experience opportunity for students
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 23, 2016
Better when your able to work with students and do more than marking. Easy to balance course work with this job, hours are fair and it has been a great learning opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Full time Master's student ECE (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 9, 2016
fun in working there. Good managers,good ethics,good rules and regulations,good working environments,good administration,good every thing.
Pros
good salary
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to have your PhD
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 7, 2016
Multi-cultural place to study, with people from different background.
Very nice atmosphere and a very competitive, yet collaborative environment
Pros
Great professors, friendly staff, and very smart students
Cons
PhD at UW takes a lot of your life, and work-life balance is far from ideal
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Marketing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJanuary 29, 2016
You're basically around people like yourself all the time. Everybody usually gets along and are always determined to fulfill their responsibilities rather quickly. Everyone is usually willing to help out and management is flexible with your schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Profs and Peers
Assisting a professor. (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJanuary 9, 2016
Canada's best university in engineering. Profs have industry connections that can help launch your career. Profs understand students in a very personalized way.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi culture work and study place with a lot for learning
1- Supervisor of academic research projects (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJanuary 1, 2016
I learn a lot every day at UW.
I am studying Non-destructive testing.
Mu co-workers are students from all over the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Workplace
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONDecember 28, 2015
Great staff, exciting atmosphere, always changing. Working at the university was very rewarding and positive. Was able to meet many individuals and was constantly reevaluated to ensure safety.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Poor choices of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Physics Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONDecember 11, 2015
Good research experience with my professor. Sometimes little or no help was given on a programming problem and need a lot of individual, unsupported work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Student (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONDecember 6, 2015
Learn a lot of technical Skills from my school and grow my computer knowledge there. A good place for networking with professionals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 140 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture