University of Victoria

University of Victoria Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful city to live in, to work and study
Research Assistant, Political Science Department (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 November 2016
As R.A I had the opportunity to work in an excellent academic environment with admirable professors and the experience of working for up-to-date research topics was completely satisfying.
Pros
Expansion of the academic network
Cons
It can be hard to work and study at the same time
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more knowalegde
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC16 October 2016
Working in Arithmatic algebra of Galois field - GF(3) which is used in many applications, including coding theory, computer algebra systems, information theory, number theory, and puplic-key cryptosystems.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a notetaker with the university
Note Taker (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC17 October 2016
Taking notes while being a part of the class really helped me improve my study habits. Over time I began to write more efficiently and effectively when I take notes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love it
Cashier, Server, Kitchen (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 October 2016
working at Uvic was awesome! everyone is so friendly and they really care about you. The work isn't too hard and the pay is great i would 100% recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright kind of job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC29 September 2016
I had to mark student assignments and examination sheets which wasn't fun because student always had problem with their marks!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
FOOD SERVICE WORKER/COOK (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC10 March 2016
Working as a team, you provide the best quality food to student residents. Management was always there to help out. I learned how to provide great customer service to students, who are not necessarily pleasant and polite. The hardest part of the job was being around some co-workers who were not pulling their weight. The most enjoyable part of the job was being busy all the time.
Pros
Free food!
Cons
Sometimes the supervising cooks were a little grouchy
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, although they do not always offer or have full-time shifts for their employees. The pay is decent so long as you work full-time
General Worker 2 (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC23 March 2016
When at it's steadiest for work you are keep quite busy. You learn how to work quickly and eficiently, without supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent university to study
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC20 April 2016
Excellent academic environment.
Very skilled faculty members.
Up-to-date research topics.
Beautiful city to live in.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prefect place to work with
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC17 March 2016
good place to work, there are lots of nice professors there and you could learn valuable things under their supervision. people are also nice there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to conduct research
MSc student (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC15 February 2016
The University of Victoria is a great place to be a student and employee. It provides a fun, engaging and professional atmosphere for conducting research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Physics Lab Instructor and Course Marking (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC28 January 2015
UVic is one of the most beautiful campuses in all of North America. Also, as a grad from UVic, I can say hands-down that the experience at UVic is much better. It is most absolutely a perfectly sized university. Its big enough that it has a wide range of programs and professors whose research is recognized world-wide, and small enough that you can feel like a human being, learning within an academic community. Also - remember, universities don't 'produce you' - you have to read and engage - UVic is the perfect place to do that, and to have an amazing West Coast experience at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Youthful atmosphere with many work/recreational options to pursue
Clerk III (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC28 November 2014
I enjoy working here because one is always learning, surrounded by motivated and enthusiastic professionals in beautiful surroundings. The campus is growing as the years go by but still feels like an intimate environment suitable for creating lasting friendships and professional associations.
Pros
Wildlife (i.e. deer)
Cons
unfriendly traffic routes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Former supervisor (Former Employee) –  University of Victoria, BC11 May 2012
People who have been there forever are not willing to accept changes.. they rather give terrible customer services than to adapt to a bette practices of services. I was schock to see how they cover their backs unfortunately not supporting the good but the bad habits. They claim not to hire people from the same family, yah right. At the department I worked, there was mother and son working, cousins and even husbad and wife. You got to be kidding me. Talking about been hipocritical.
Pros
nothing, waste of time
Cons
knowing that is not a good place to work at it
Was this review helpful?Yes23No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful work environment, approachable management
Building Service Worker - Level 2 (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC26 April 2013
Work is routine, but enjoyable. Supervisors and university managers work together and accept feedback to improve the job results and make the work environment pleasant. Multicultural work environment makes it interesting to get to know coworkers. There is a lot of independence to get the work done and time management is important due to the work load. Overall the workplace is supportive and I would recommend it to those interested in applying for positions.
Pros
Supportive environment, decent salary, excellent benefits
Cons
Routine work, large organization with typical bureaucratic red tape for every decision which has to be made.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting , got to watch basketball games, work experience
uvic basketball score keeping (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC8 August 2013
Developed great skills in focusing on my work and making sure i did not slip up l. I learned to be one minded to focused on work. Co-worker's were very nice and supportive. The hardest part was to stay focusing while their is many distractions going on. i got to watch basketball being played at high level learning more about the game
Pros
work experince
Cons
low salary, less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences in teaching
Lab Instructor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC4 August 2013
It was just a temporary job as a lab instructor as a grad student in our school, UVic. I really enjoyed to teach health care management, accounting, and economics' rules and principles to such interested students. Some of my responsibilities and accomplishments were as follows:
• Responsibilities: Conducting Lab HINF 265-Health care Delivery and Organizational Models.
• Accomplishments: Taught: Financial and Management Accounting, Cost-Volume Profit (CVP), Analysis and Activity Based Costing (ABC), Time Value of Money and Cost-Benefit Analysis (CBA), Health Performance Management: Measurements & Standards, Asset Amortization/Depreciation and Capital Budgeting Techniques, and Introduction to Inventory Management.
Pros
Lots of things to learn
Cons
A temporary job
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but only part-time
Service Worker ll (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC18 June 2013
The day is fast passed and busy
Cleaning washrooms in the residence's for the students and keeping the buildings clean and shiny.
My co-workers are amazing. We laugh and share each other's good times and bad times.
My satisfaction is usually from parents saying that when they visit, everything smells nice and fresh.
Pros
Seeing familiar faces and new stories each day
Cons
only part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly good place to work
program manager (Current Employee) –  Victoria, B22 April 2012
Basically, UVic is an okay place to work. Job security is good, but there's little room for advancement from most positions. The management and culture are different in different departments - some are great, others are terrible.
Pros
setting is nice: greenery, walking paths
Cons
it's so very political, people who are bad at their jobs aren't dealt with
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay
Sous Chef - University of Victoria - Cook IV (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC20 May 2015
This place pays very well, just don't expect respect or full time hours. Also, management is a reactive group, so anything to be proactive they will ignore your suggestions, until it's a problem and then you should have told them before.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture that caters to a healthy work/life balance
Sponsorship Officer (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC9 June 2015
The University of Victoria is a workplace environment that provides flexibility, strong work/life balance, healthy and sustainable practices and situated in a beautiful area in town.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

University of Victoria Reviews by Location