University of Toronto Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 203 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
User Experience Designer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 17, 2015
Learned a lot about multimedia editing skills and design. Solo UX design project allows me to start a project from scratch, it is challenging and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet exciting
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 17, 2015
It's a place to grow, learn and be part of a bigger family of researchers, and students. It can be hard to keep up sometimes, but the experience is worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Research Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 15, 2015
I was always kept busy. I have learned at lot from working at kfc. It was a great place to start your working experience. I would recommend kfc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well equipped lab
Lab manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2015
I train new student or employees on devices such as Confocal and Live Imaging Microscope. I check the incubators, safety cabinets if there is any inspections needed. I write protocols and optimize them.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
cannot predict the future of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Employee
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONAugust 21, 2015
Although I am just a temporary employee for the rush hour I will certainly work again for this company. It was an on campus job so it was really convenient.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study Position is great as a Student
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 14, 2015
Great position to apply and to work as a student. The department is very nice and the supervisors are always there to help you out with exam time schedule and other activities.
Pros
good hours, lenient boss
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff!
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2015
- great culture to learn and grow
- Great team to be working with
- Provides continuous opportunities
- Gives employees empowerment ability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2015
Study load in U of T is pretty heavy and every one is working very hard. Overall it is very good. Professors are very knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the school where I earn my Master Degree
Researcher (Former Employee) –  TorontoJuly 14, 2015
I encountered many talent people, from whom I learnt a lot of technical skills. Also, my supervisor was knowledgable and patient.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If I like a job, it will be more enjoyable
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 5, 2015
I am a hard worker student at school. I also like to do social activities such as gym, running, travelling, etc. Thanks to my master studying, I am learning comprehensive knowledge about distribution system and grid-connected voltage source converter controlling and simulation. If I like a project and have a good team, I can overcome the hardest problems. designing and simulation parts of project is the most enjoyable section of my study.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Friendly and flexible
E-mentor, ISC, Department (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 25, 2015
Ability to develop new skill
All employees are really nice
Working time is petty flexible
work on campus
good experience
members are supportive
Pros
work on campus
Cons
minimum wages
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 22, 2015
A typical day begins with scanning the days mail and filing away completed documents. Then, we process loan applications for incoming students. The procedures are constantly changing due to new ministry regulations so the position requires flexibility and adaptability. Co workers are very nice. Management is also understanding. Very little opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UofT is very research based, educational and diverse
LABORATORY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 18, 2015
In my opinion University of Toronto at Mississauga is a very friendly, vibrant, dynamic and educational environment both for students and employees.
During the time I worked at University of Toronto I set up the Neuropsychology research lab with the guidance of our professor from scratch, kept everything organized and ordered equipment. Also I assisted conducting research on Rat's Brains and their life style and took notes along with our students and recorded results.
Pros
If you love research this is the place to be
Cons
Many Long hours Spending in the basement with no natural light
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University but less payment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 8, 2015
The research environment was good.
Professor and colleague are nice and hard working
Payment was not good
After working life was not rich
Research culture was rigorous
Pros
The research environment was good. Professor and colleague are nice and hard working
Cons
Payment was not good
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Financial Aid Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 29, 2015
the people are amazing, the management can be better, but the work environment is fun

Undoubtedly there are negatives that I have been fortunate enough to not to run into, but I can only speak to my experiences so far.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with friendly staff
UC Registrar's office (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 13, 2015
Typical day at work involved three rounds of premises per 8 hour shift, ensuring the float is maintained, assisting residents with any issues they may have with their rooms, distributing mail and depending on the kind of emergencies, i would call engineers to come and fix something or campus police or even ambulances.Above all, keep record of all events of the shift.
Pros
can study too if it isn't too busy
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Technical Production Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 5, 2015
It was nice to work for U of T while completing my studies. I enjoyed the opportunity to make money while completing my degree.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 19, 2015
great pay, great benefits. Alot of flexibility and great opportunity to learn and develop into a strong teacher. Learned alot of technical knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
essentially a part time job
Ue-yu Pen, Graduate student (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 17, 2015
I did a work study program at the University of Toronto twice, Once during the summer and once during my fourth year. The way the program works is students can work with graduate students and professors but only for 12 hours a week, it is similiar to a part time job, and the experience will depend on each department and the employer. The Graduate students that I worked with are all very helpful and easy to talk to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity to develop intrapersonal skills
Basketball League Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 11, 2015
Gave me the opportunity to see development in terms of self growth. Learnt to deal with several scenarios that helped me develop my skills in dealing with clients. Helped me understand the concepts of time management and managing peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 205 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

University of Toronto Reviews by Location