University of Toronto Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with many tasks to be completed
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON10 September 2017
There was many tasks to complete during the shift that i worked their. This was a learning oppurtunity that gave me experience and let me look at what university would be like. It was not a job necessarily but we learned many things in the lab like inputing data and working in a tream setting with others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best university in Canada
Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2017
University of Toronto lives up to its reputation. The networking opportunities are great. The culture varies depending on the program you are in. Hardest part is keeping up good grades.
Pros
The reputation
Cons
No life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON27 August 2017
Very good work, life balance. There is much scope for learning and growth. Excellent work environment. Staff are friendly, approachable and very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start to gain experience as a student
Marketing and Communications Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 August 2017
I worked for work-study for UofT and student Union. Overall, it was good experience, very flexible and understanding with scheduling and hours required since we were students. Really gain important soft skills that could be applied for future career options.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research experience really rounded out my resume
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2017
Gaining experience as a research assistant and data analyst provided me with the foundational work experience to balance out my educational credentials.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent university
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 August 2017
A typical day includes performing laboratory experiments, maintaining the mouse colony in the vivarium, making stock solutions, and teaching undergraduate laboratories and tutorials
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Toronto
Course Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 August 2017
It's a great place to work as long as you are not a graduate student. The benefits are decent and the environment is safe and gives you opportunities for further learning and advancement.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Too much bureacracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, and very organized team
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2017
- Arrive at work, travel to intervieew
- Interviews are organized
- Equipment is ready
- Research lead is organized, accommodating and focused on work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Loss Prevention Clerk- Retail (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2017
this was my first job, i was working as a loss preventions employee. I worked for a minimum of 2 weeks. It was a great environment to work. The bookstore manager at the time was amazing to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work alongside students
Alumni Relations and Telefund Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 August 2017
A typical shift was 3 hours and each student had to work a minimum of 2 times a week. the management was run by upper year students and the culture was good.
Pros
free food, short hours
Cons
boring work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I did
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2017
I got my MASc. It was fine. My profs were great, very supportive. I had a lot of autonomy and creativity in my work. I still wish I had graduated sooner, though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work at!
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON24 July 2017
The managers and supervisors are such adorable and respectful that you will never feel bored of your job! Everyone who works at this place will definitely miss when they leave.
Cons
very fast paced and busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prestigious Academic Institution
Post-Doctoral Fellow, Rotman School of Management (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 July 2017
Your experience will vary immensely depending on where in the university you are working. Post-docs in the humanities generally have an abysmal time, but things are much better in the sciences.
Pros
Extremely flexible working hours.
Cons
Asocial workplace culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2017
The University of Toronto is a great place to work. There are always opportunities to expand and grow and to learn new things. The salary is competitive and the work life balance is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
five stars
student-professor assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
Amazing work environment. Great people and easy access around building. A great place to work and study for students looking for on campus jobs. My supervisors have also been very great and inspiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great On-campus workplace
Student Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2017
A great place to work and study for students looking for on campus jobs. My supervisors have also been very great and inspiring.I wish I could still work at the architecture library even after I graduated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, dynamic workplace with lots of room to grow
Independent Researcher (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 July 2017
Lots of connections can be made; hardest part is adjusting to politics, but the rest is great. All staff are friendly and genuinely willing to help with student success, thereby making this a desirable place of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab assistant
Research Assistant (Student Placement) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 July 2017
Interesting, you learn a lot if you volunteer at a lab.

Other employees, volunteers are interesting and intelligent people to work with. People are professional.
Pros
Professional, interesting, intellectually stimulating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place - nice people
Public Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 July 2017
It is a nice place to work at with a very helpful team and great individuals. You are allowed to work at your own pace as long as you meet your timelines, and you also get amazing free food at the free seminars and talks you get to attend!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  toronto, ontario5 July 2017
Opportunity to improve your teaching and research skills
good professors/supervisors
good location
values diversity
strengthen the theoretical fundamentals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Toronto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 522 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3