University of Toronto Employee Reviews

Found 489 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, and very organized team
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2017
- Arrive at work, travel to intervieew
- Interviews are organized
- Equipment is ready
- Research lead is organized, accommodating and focused on work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Loss Prevention Clerk- Retail (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2017
this was my first job, i was working as a loss preventions employee. I worked for a minimum of 2 weeks. It was a great environment to work. The bookstore manager at the time was amazing to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work alongside students
Alumni Relations and Telefund Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 August 2017
A typical shift was 3 hours and each student had to work a minimum of 2 times a week. the management was run by upper year students and the culture was good.
Pros
free food, short hours
Cons
boring work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I did
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2017
I got my MASc. It was fine. My profs were great, very supportive. I had a lot of autonomy and creativity in my work. I still wish I had graduated sooner, though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work at!
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON24 July 2017
The managers and supervisors are such adorable and respectful that you will never feel bored of your job! Everyone who works at this place will definitely miss when they leave.
Cons
very fast paced and busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prestigious Academic Institution
Post-Doctoral Fellow, Rotman School of Management (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 July 2017
Your experience will vary immensely depending on where in the university you are working. Post-docs in the humanities generally have an abysmal time, but things are much better in the sciences.
Pros
Extremely flexible working hours.
Cons
Asocial workplace culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2017
The University of Toronto is a great place to work. There are always opportunities to expand and grow and to learn new things. The salary is competitive and the work life balance is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
five stars
student-professor assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
Amazing work environment. Great people and easy access around building. A great place to work and study for students looking for on campus jobs. My supervisors have also been very great and inspiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great On-campus workplace
Student Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2017
A great place to work and study for students looking for on campus jobs. My supervisors have also been very great and inspiring.I wish I could still work at the architecture library even after I graduated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, dynamic workplace with lots of room to grow
Independent Researcher (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 July 2017
Lots of connections can be made; hardest part is adjusting to politics, but the rest is great. All staff are friendly and genuinely willing to help with student success, thereby making this a desirable place of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about University of Toronto?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab assistant
Research Assistant (Student Placement) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 July 2017
Interesting, you learn a lot if you volunteer at a lab.

Other employees, volunteers are interesting and intelligent people to work with. People are professional.
Pros
Professional, interesting, intellectually stimulating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place - nice people
Public Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 July 2017
It is a nice place to work at with a very helpful team and great individuals. You are allowed to work at your own pace as long as you meet your timelines, and you also get amazing free food at the free seminars and talks you get to attend!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  toronto, ontario5 July 2017
Opportunity to improve your teaching and research skills
good professors/supervisors
good location
values diversity
strengthen the theoretical fundamentals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Photographer (Former Employee) –  Union, ON5 July 2017
It was great. Conducted many activities such as photographing and outreaching. Got to participate in many events and got to meet different kinds of people.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UFT Employment Experience
Learning Skills Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 July 2017
Working at UfT was amazing, but the job security for work-study position is precarious. While, the employment experience is enriching the benefits and security is poor.
Pros
Employment Experience
Cons
No Job Security or Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 June 2017
very good place to work at, interesting, interaction with students and staff. very academic. The salary could have been better. obviously it's a very safe place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2017
I started there as a researcher the opportunity to work on new aspect is very inspiring.

quiet and peaceful environment helps to focus on your work.

friendly staffs are always very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent summer job, not enough hours
Summer Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 June 2017
This was a work-study position. It's great for students who want meaningful work on campus but does not provide nearly enough hours. You can work maximum 12 hours per week but there's a cap on how many hours you can work in total (under 100). Pay is minimum wage + 4% in lieu of vacation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
PhD Candidate, Researcher (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 June 2017
I have worked at the University of Toronto for almost 10 years, granted opportunities to work as a Teaching Assistant, Research Assistant and Sessional Lecturer. I have always had a pleasant experience with this employer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U of T undergrad RA
Yeast genetics research assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 June 2017
Efficient employer; hard-working people; inspirational environment. Working as an undergraduate research assistant was an outstanding opportunity, and I learned a ton.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Toronto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 493 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3