University of Toronto Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong higher learning
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 November 2017
The university of Toronto is a great place to study with valuable opportunities. Whether it be extracurricular or a possible internship, the tertiary opportunities to your program of study enrich the experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work experience
Financial Assistant (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 November 2017
I enjoyed working at U of T Scarborough campus as Financial assistant , I learned a lot in short time. Attended 9 training sessions using SAP system . Workplace culture very friendly , unfortunately it was only for 6 months . I would love to work there again.
Pros
Close to home and, and enjoyed working there
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work, but fun
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON4 November 2017
Typical work day is that you go in, check voicemails (usually over 10 from overnight), send a lot of emails, many being to international students, pick up calls asking for program admin information
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not ment for culinary professionals
Cook (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 October 2017
Not at all suitable for anyone willing to learn. Filled with diner cooks and mixed with over 30 unions, room for growth is next to none.
There company is decade behind helping students and there pockets. The food quality is next to none.
Pros
5$ meals
Cons
everything needs to be professional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 October 2017
-Good learning and teaching environment
-Good facilities and management
-Co-workers were encouraging and helpful
-Workload was acceptable and fair
-Professors were knowledgeable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challanging and rewarding work environment
Junior Programmer (co-op) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2017
Management and staff are all very welcoming and kind people. Typical work days include daily scrum meetings then being left alone to do your work with very little interruptions. Help was thoroughly provided when ever requested.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful volunteer work
Peer Tutor, Management Department (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2017
Volunteer tutored mentees in first year macro-economics and calculus courses. also, provided counselling support for students that struggle with transitioning to university life including major choosing, house searching, co-op placement seeking. It not only helped others, but also benefits myself, such as improving communication skills and enriching my experience. It is a fantastic job!
Pros
flexible work time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
Cannonball Director (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 October 2017
It was a fun learning experience at University of Toronto, I took part in many activities and served as a Cannonball Director as a volunteer;
The place provides plenty of opportunity to learn new skills that are useful in real world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organization and very fulfilling role.
Peer Career Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 October 2017
The role I performed was very fulfilling, I was an advisor to many students at the undergraduate and graduate level. Doing workshops was a lot of fun and helped to really refine my communication skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOod
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 September 2017
U of T is a good starting point for recent grads. many professors hire students in research roles which is a good gateway for further study and work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Environment
Lab Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2017
The coworkers are nice and helpful.
Typical day to day lab work.
sometime you have to work independently and sometimes as a team.
I have learned how to use properly different lab equipments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 September 2017
I love University of Toronto, and I had a great time to work here. I have to leave here because as a postdoctoral fellow my salary is low and I decided to leave here to find a higher salary job in industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and balanced work environment
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2017
Very professional and balanced work environment. Challenging and enjoyable responsibilities. Great team environment. Working in an institution of higher learning, you were always learning and developing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
academic and professional place
Research laboratory engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 September 2017
it was a great opportunity to do research during my M.Eng .I learned to work with all the devices in the lab such as TGA,DSC,SEM,FTIR. All grad students were very helpful and helped me a lot during my research .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2017
University of Toronto is a good university. I got a lot while studying. The professors are enthusiastic about what they do and are willing to help in times of need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
data science
Data Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2017
In this class, you can learn plenty of knowledge about data science. such as R, Python, SQL. In that project, you can find the statistical modeling is very interesting because it can let you see something that you can not it before.
Pros
you can learn plenty of knowledge about data science
Cons
farm from my condo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research environment and great student life
PhD Researcher (Current Employee) –  Toronto19 September 2017
It's a great place to do research, with many opportunities to work on exciting projects. The work culture is very serious though. If you are willing to get out of the office, there are plenty of facilities for exercising, or just having fun
Pros
Great facilities
Cons
Serious work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is pretty good
IT Support (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 September 2017
Good Culture. Free monthly lunches. Staff are amazing to work with. Everyone can contribute and give suggestions/feedback which in my opinion is very important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communications, Education, Mentorship
Communications Specialist/Program Liaison (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2017
One of the best companies to work for. Management is always there for their employees. A lot of support for workers. The benefits are amazing and they offer free courses for employees.
Pros
Free courses, Benefits, Vacation Pay
Cons
You obly get paid once a month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funnnnnn !
DENTAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 September 2017
meeting new student dentist, everyone was really nice, did placement for dental assistant course, dentist were willing to teach new things to me, very patient
Pros
meeting student dentist
Cons
leaving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Toronto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 528 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3