University of Toronto Scarborough Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University is a good place to work
Manager, Application Development (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 1, 2016
The UofT has interesting projects to work on and great people. Good benefits and growing salary. Ia addition to vacation - 2 weeks Christmas break.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I start to be a TA in my second year and I love this
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 6, 2016
High hour rate but with low hours assigned.
It is a super ideal part time job for undergraduate students and all the coworkers are polite and responsible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work as a student
test-takers' question and assisting (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONJanuary 21, 2016
overall, my experience was great with UTSC, they usually are able to accommodate if you're a student and doing work study.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience to work with professors and students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONApril 17, 2015
A great way to apply what I have leaned at university to facilitate students. Meanwhile, as I am a co-op student, my work term experience allowed me to relate the study material to real world scenarios.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student balancing a part-time job and school
Events Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONMarch 15, 2015
Learned a lot about Microsoft and Internet applications
Participated in panels to review upcoming student-based projects
Assisted in the plan and execution of events
Other duties as required
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and have fun
Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 25, 2014
-Usually work in lab from 9 AM-6PM,
-Setting up reactions for di, tri or tetra peptide synthesis, using column chromatography to separate compounds, IR spectroscopy and HNMR to confirm the purity and structure of the compounds. Electrochemistry , cleaning up the electrodes, and setting up electrochemical reactions.Learning about reactions
-The supervisor is very supporting and accommodating
-Most of co-workers are PHD and Graduate students.
-The hardest part is laying the outline of the project, requires a lots of communication with the supervisor.
-The fun part is using separation techniques
Pros
a lots of hands on experiences
Cons
long experimental set ups
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Laboratory/Bioinformatics Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONMarch 5, 2015
Hours vary, varied type of work, most of my co-workers were great to work with, managed well except when the PI is busy, and with the most enjoyable during internal lab meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Career
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONAugust 9, 2014
People are great to work with and the Company offers great benefits and pension.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply Excellent.
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONJuly 9, 2012
Amazing place for a career. But Teaching Assistant position are not permanent. Overall, a great place to work. Good work environment, amazing colleagues. Very respectable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make of it
Anthropology Department Student Representative (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONApril 3, 2013
Generally the position is what you make of it. It all depends on your passion and how active you are! Enjoy it and run free with it, but it does come with responsibilities such and mentoring, even organization, and maintaining faculty relations.
Pros
free food from events ;)
Cons
a lot of responsibility and time that is not expected by students generally with heavy course loads.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LIVE Connection
LIVE Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONOctober 2, 2012
I enjoy everything i do and have improve my public speaking confident. Very nice to join LIVE Ambassador team to promote competition and awareness.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 9, 2014
Good people, good working environment, great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture